Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed
Stone Cold never disappoints, full of action and Steve gives a good performance, ID give him a. hell Yea baby
Published 2 months ago by Joan Fry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad to say it but this is weak
Wow - just watched this - really disappointing. From the opening seconds after hitting play this looked low quality, from the way the fonts on the opening credits look, to the visual effects used in the background - it all said "cheap" to me. I couldn't believe it when the credits said this was a 2010 film, the production and effects looked like something from 10-20...
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by Andre Mountain


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad to say it but this is weak, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Andre Mountain (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wow - just watched this - really disappointing. From the opening seconds after hitting play this looked low quality, from the way the fonts on the opening credits look, to the visual effects used in the background - it all said "cheap" to me. I couldn't believe it when the credits said this was a 2010 film, the production and effects looked like something from 10-20 years back.

Look, I love Austin from his WWF/WWE days but this is a really poor use of him. The story here is that an agent is involved in an operation to uncover a mole and ends up losing his memory, but actually goes into a state where he makes up who he is, along with a backstory, and then every so often that changes, and he thinks he's someone else. This doesnt really get shown in the film though, Austin just comes across as some dumb confused meathead who can't remember what he did yesterday. There are flashback sequences tat knit together as the film goes on and come together in the end, these are not well done though, it's obvious what the end picture is much too early on - it should click into place all in the final sequence - but it's obvious much too early on and you're just waiting for the film - and Austin's character - to catch up to what you've known for at least half the film. This is a low budget, poorly made film - albeit one with a half-decent story - that Austin would have done well to avoid.

I can't think of anyone to recommend this to, even hardcore Austin fans may not be happy with this. It's like a weak, poor, low-budget Bourne Identity but with Austin as the main character. He doesnt even go properly mental in it and open a can of whoopass on anyone, he just gets a bit action-hero on occasions without that feeling of Stone Cold Steve Austin smashing someone up.

Really sad to say it but this is weak and not worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather bad actually, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Klingsor (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As many others, I wasn't expecting a good film, and I wasn't disappointed. Predictable (and often confusing) plot, stiff acting and mainly expressionless face of Steve Austin just about sums it up. Only slightly redeeming is Erica Cerra (from excellent TV series Eureka), but even she looks uninspired most of the time. Flash-back after flash-back, a bit of fighting and at least one completely pointless chase don't really help to give a lift to this 'adventure', and instead of a big finale where everything should fit into place, it falls flat like a pancake.
Unless you're Steve Austin's biggest fan and must have every bit of merchandise he produced, stay away and watch any old repeat on telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 29 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Even though I'm a WWE (and Austin fan) I can't say I had high expectations for this one. Austin and his ilk have a habit of making average action movies which usually come with a decent synopsis and trailer. As you think `this one might actually be good' you are inevitably disappointed. It takes a lot these days to make an entertaining action movie- the fact is that we have seen it all before, especially hardened fans who grew up with the classics of the 80s and 90s. It takes something groundbreaking to really catch our imaginations now, a la The Matrix. That's not to say that filmmakers should stop trying- if you have a decent plot, interesting characters, and a talented case then go for it.

The main issue here is that of the aforementioned trilogy of criteria, each one is only partly met. We have the standard `man with amnesia wants answers and revenge' plot (Bourne Trilogy), we have stock characters with little motivation or background, and we have a cast of mostly unknown actors led by a director who is best known commercials. To say there is a lack of substance would show a lack of critical analysis. So from the start we are shooting for average- anything better would be quite an achievement.

Austin can easily hold an audience when in the ring, but on camera, following a script, the problems mount up. He does his best here, but he isn't in the ranks of Arnie, Stallone, etc. The script is merely a series of words with little flourish laid out so that the plot can reach its conclusion. The only thing of interest is the way that the back story is revealed slowly throughout the movie, although it is done with a lack of skill leaving the viewer bemused or bored. The director doesn't show much flair for action here- the fight scenes are few and far between and don't show off Austin's ability, the gun battles etc are by the numbers. That is obviously the most disappointing part here- you have a man who can do things that most performers can't, but you don't give him the opportunity to do anything. Action movies can (and usually do) excel without much of a plot when the action is solid, but this looks like it was released 20 years ago by amateurs on a low budget. And Lieberman uses that horrible slowed down/sped up/blurry technique which I despise, so after the first few minutes I was already annoyed.

It does get better though, if you can let yourself into the movie's world. Austin tries out a few languages, chases and is chased around the country, and eventually comes face to face with the bad guys. Erica Serra stars as Steve's psychologist and does a good job of teaming with Austin in a subpar role, and there are some fine attempts at twists and turns involving the FBI and some of the characters who we meet along the way. Like Austin, we are not meant to know who to trust or much of what has happened in the past. With a bit more skill and clarity this could have been more entertaining. Overall this is one to catch on TV, or if you are a Rattlesnake fan- 3 stars if you are a big Austin fan, 2 if you are an action fan looking for new thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland, 29 Oct 2010
By 
I Am Tyler Durden (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Overall this was quite a dull B-movie. The acting was wooden, the plot was by the numbers, the action mediocre. Steve Austin does better villain than good guy, he was much better in the Expendables. For a rainy day only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As expected- nothing special- WHAT !, 28 Oct 2010
By 
piccolo "Kosh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What do you get when a retired 'wrestler' stars in films- not a lot ! (bar the rock)- this is the same old Stone Cold from the old wrestling days, the same facial expressions and the same attitude, sure the film is a bit of nonsense fun action film but i wouldnt put it on my wish list. Only reason why you would want to watch this is if your an old Stone Cold fan and miss his on screen presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 28 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having been a fan of wrestling, and of course stone cold steve austin, this DVD appealed to me and stood out for that reason, naturally. Steve austin, having retired from wrestling, and staring in lead roles for budget movies didnt exactly surprise me when watching this film, as a famous figure and a legend of wrestling stone cold would of course make a great actor for an action flick, and as it does work due to austin appearance, but the rest of the film does not. The film leaves alot to be desired, aside from steve austins average acting (mostly simple fight scenes and very little dialogue) the plot and the screenplay doesnt seem to work. The acting from the rest of the cast is lacklustre, austins on screen co star is probably the shining light in this film, the rest of the acting, especially towards the end isnt exactly what you would expect from a action movie, but it is what I expected from a budget movie which is basically what it is, so I rate this film 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Undemanding actioner, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
While it's not going to win any awards even from the most easygoing action fans, 2009's The Stranger gets over a bumpy start and some clumsy expositionary dialogue to turn into an efficient and undemanding action movie that does exactly what it says on the tin: allows WWF wrestler Steve Austin to hit a lot of people in plenty of fight scenes. While it's not exactly the most taxing of parts, despite looking at times like Gordon Liddy on steroids Austin's got just enough screen presence to carry the role of an undercover agent with a bad case of the flashbacks who's lost his memory and sporadically moves between false identities while Adam Beach's FBI man and Erica Cerra's psychiatrist try to bring him in, and there's just enough plot to hold the film together between scenes of him hitting people until the drawn out and unimpressive ending. The production values aren't exactly high, with some lazily lit digital photography that unintentionally loses faces in shadow, fairly low-tech action scenes and inconsistent supporting performances that could have benefited from an another take here and there, but as Bourne ripoffs go (and this thankfully doesn't have wildly over the top shakeycam going against it), despite the extremely poor ending it passes an hour-and-a-half surprisingly well if you're not expecting too much.

Anchor Bay's DVD has a reasonable widescreen transfer considering the limitations of the source but is short on extras - just a trailer and a very brief featurette where the director congratulates himself on improving the original ending - which must mean either he's excessively self-confident or that what was in the script was really bad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wish this film has stayed a stranger, 6 Sep 2010
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Very poor film. I have actually enjoyed a coupl of Steve Austin films in the past however I never made it to the end of this one before pressing the stop button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low budget and cheap looking thriller., 25 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Steve Austin stars as a man with no memory who is trying to piece together his past whilst trying to avoid being caugtht/killed by pursuing authorities. So essentially a low rent rip off of other far better movies, such as the Bourne trilogy.

The film is low budget, and the filming style and the look has an air of cheapness about it.

Most of the action is taken up by a few small scale fights, and some gun shoot outs, but that's about it, the rest of the movie is filled with clunky dialogue, and an over use of flash backs, that irritate rather than inform us as to what is going on.

It's a shame because Steve Austin is one of the better action stars to emerge from wrestling, and holds the screen well in these type of roles.

This is his worst outing yet, and whilst not as bad as some other action stars (Van Damme or Seagal for example)straight to DVD output, but this is not a well made film, and a wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stranger [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Stone Cold never disappoints, full of action and Steve gives a good performance, ID give him a. hell Yea baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stranger [DVD] [2010]
The Stranger [DVD] [2010] by Robert Lieberman (DVD - 2010)
4.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews