Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£15.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2010
This is a beautiful introduction to Kathryn Tickell's music - and it's a real bargain; 2 CDs crammed with absolutely gorgeous tunes! The quality of the tunes and the playing are stunning throughout. Highly recommended.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
Kathryn Tickell is towards the groovier end of traditional music; in fact, the second of these two CDs is a bit too groovy for my taste. Though it doesn't quite go the whole drum'n'bass, it's heavily pop-influenced; with the freer-form arrangements (some might say they're a little arbitrary) characteristic of the trendier neo-traditional acts.

The first disc, on the other hand, is very strong: fluent and focused. It's music which adds a touch of Irish verve to the familiar Scots-English blend of Northumberland - and which, I like to think, evokes the whole Pennine region of England as well as its home district. The only lapse of taste is Favourite Place, in which Ms Tickell spends several minutes discussing...well, you get the picture.

Overall, though, she must feel proud looking back over this body of work. She's undoubtedly one of the most accomplished English musicians of her generation, and one of the very few who can claim to be rooted in genuine tradition.
1010 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Even if you have already bought all of KT's other albums, don't hesitate to buy this, Kathryn's selection of her favourite tracks - and she has good taste in music. There's a great mixture of tracks from many of her albums, with some extra tracks which are not on the other CDs. And its a generous compilation - two CDs with 35 tracks in total.

That lovely sound of the Northumbrian small pipes + her band of top-notch musicians playing both trad tunes and many of KT's own compositions, the hairs on the back o' me neck haven't gone back down yet - music to the ears indeed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
This is a great album, something for everyone and a real showcase. It may seem obvious for a "Best Of" album, but if you only buy one Kathryn Tickell album, this is the one!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
what can one say this lady is not only beautifull to the eye she is also amazingly talented, her music is hauntingly beautifull ot brings back memorys of childhood, what a lady she brings a little bit of heavan to earth
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
Having heard odd tunes on the Northumberland pipes I wanted to hear more, and who better than Kathryn Tickell to showcase what they can do? I wasn't disappointed; this collection contains a wide diversity of tracks reflecting Kathryn's evolving musical style and choices. If, like me, you just want one Northumberland pipe CD in your collection, then this is probably it.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
I first saw Kathryn Tickell at the Newcastle Playhouse in 1989! It made a real impression on me then and this has bought it all flooding back. The variety and virtuosity is incredible - haven't stopped listening to it.

Don't be put off by "it's pipes!" - highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Brilliant compilation and can listen over and over again. Well worth the money. Look forward to more like this. Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
You have to love the Northumbrian Pipes, saw Kathryn Tickell in concert enjoyed the show, bought the CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
Lovely to hear her playing the "old" tunes, which I already have on vinyl, but it's so much easier to listen to this way.
Have informed my piping friends of the CD, and will be playing it at our Pipers' Party on Jan. 9th.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.59

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)