Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really beautiful music!
This is a beautiful introduction to Kathryn Tickell's music - and it's a real bargain; 2 CDs crammed with absolutely gorgeous tunes! The quality of the tunes and the playing are stunning throughout. Highly recommended.
Published on 17 April 2010 by D. Koritsas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Prefer folk singing
Wasn't overly impressed with this album too much instrumental material. Kathryn Tickell is obviously very talented but I prefer playing and singing together, (with the exception of the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards version of Last of the Mohicans soundtrack).
Published 7 months ago by Mr. D. Daglish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really beautiful music!, 17 April 2010
By 
D. Koritsas "Debs Koritsas" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a beautiful introduction to Kathryn Tickell's music - and it's a real bargain; 2 CDs crammed with absolutely gorgeous tunes! The quality of the tunes and the playing are stunning throughout. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars little miss tickell, 16 Feb 2010
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kathryn Tickell is towards the groovier end of traditional music; in fact, the second of these two CDs is a bit too groovy for my taste. Though it doesn't quite go the whole drum'n'bass, it's heavily pop-influenced; with the freer-form arrangements (some might say they're a little arbitrary) characteristic of the trendier neo-traditional acts.

The first disc, on the other hand, is very strong: fluent and focused. It's music which adds a touch of Irish verve to the familiar Scots-English blend of Northumberland - and which, I like to think, evokes the whole Pennine region of England as well as its home district. The only lapse of taste is Favourite Place, in which Ms Tickell spends several minutes discussing...well, you get the picture.

Overall, though, she must feel proud looking back over this body of work. She's undoubtedly one of the most accomplished English musicians of her generation, and one of the very few who can claim to be rooted in genuine tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to its title, 11 Aug 2011
Even if you have already bought all of KT's other albums, don't hesitate to buy this, Kathryn's selection of her favourite tracks - and she has good taste in music. There's a great mixture of tracks from many of her albums, with some extra tracks which are not on the other CDs. And its a generous compilation - two CDs with 35 tracks in total.

That lovely sound of the Northumbrian small pipes + her band of top-notch musicians playing both trad tunes and many of KT's own compositions, the hairs on the back o' me neck haven't gone back down yet - music to the ears indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album!, 4 May 2011
By 
Mr. Frazer R. Snowdon (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great album, something for everyone and a real showcase. It may seem obvious for a "Best Of" album, but if you only buy one Kathryn Tickell album, this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the small pipes, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what can one say this lady is not only beautifull to the eye she is also amazingly talented, her music is hauntingly beautifull ot brings back memorys of childhood, what a lady she brings a little bit of heavan to earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Anthology, 22 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having heard odd tunes on the Northumberland pipes I wanted to hear more, and who better than Kathryn Tickell to showcase what they can do? I wasn't disappointed; this collection contains a wide diversity of tracks reflecting Kathryn's evolving musical style and choices. If, like me, you just want one Northumberland pipe CD in your collection, then this is probably it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Prefer folk singing, 30 April 2014
By 
Mr. D. Daglish "D. Daglish" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't overly impressed with this album too much instrumental material. Kathryn Tickell is obviously very talented but I prefer playing and singing together, (with the exception of the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards version of Last of the Mohicans soundtrack).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 31 Jan 2013
By 
A. Sweatman (West Mids, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant compilation and can listen over and over again. Well worth the money. Look forward to more like this. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Kathryn Tickell, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Lovely to hear her playing the "old" tunes, which I already have on vinyl, but it's so much easier to listen to this way.
Have informed my piping friends of the CD, and will be playing it at our Pipers' Party on Jan. 9th.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF KATHRYN TICKELL, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Lauren Wieczor (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Enjoyed the double CD's. I especially like the track with Kathryn Tickell speaking of childhood memories. Good price for the product, enjoyable music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by Kathryn Tickell
Buy MP3 Album£15.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews