Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just What You Need
I needed a heart rate monitor in order to provide heart rate data during my
sessions on the Concept 2 indoor rower. As all this was completely new to me
I spent quite a while trying to decide which Polar unit to choose.

I decided upon Polar as they seemed both fairly cost effective, had a wide
range of offerings for all budgets and later I...
Published 16 months ago by S. Morris

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad apart from the single button operation
This is simple and easy to use apart from when setting heart rate zones. The device has only one button so if you wanted to change your minimum limit from 120 to 170 bpm you'd have to press the button 50 times. You'd think they might have built in a 'long press' like most watches have for setting the time, where you hold the button down to change the value quickly and let...
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by buckminsterfullerene


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and sturdy, 27 May 2014
By 
Nick. S. "Nick" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
I'd always been tempted by a Polar monitor but thought the prices were a bit high. Reviews suggested that it was paying for a name and bemoaned that the transmitter was a sealed (disposable) unit.

After going through 2 cheap monitors in about 18 months, I thought again. The cheap monitors had user replaceable batteries - which seemed to be their downfall. They'd started to drop the signal more frequently but once I'd replaced them they became very erratic before failing to pick up a signal completely.

Buoyed by £30 of Amazon vouchers, I went for it.

So, the Polar FT1 is a basic HRM that's easy to set up and use. Press once to start, you don't need to mess about with buttons while you're exercising - just hold it near the transmitter and it cycles between HR, duration and time - press once to stop. It stores your last workout (duration, ave HR, Max HR) and it doesn't store workouts less than approx 1 minute in case you accidentally press the start button.

To change between time, duration and HOUR while training, you hold it next to the transmitter and it changes automatically - no trying to find buttons with thick gloves in the winter.

It can apparently be used while swimming but you mustn't press the one big button under water.

The display is clear enough, the watch seems sturdy enough and the strap is soft/pliable at the risk of seeming a bit flimsy.

The included T31 transmitter looks generic styled and is easy to put on. It's sealed but hopefully that will mean no water getting into it......we'll see.

Polaris do offer servicing, so maybe worth it to prolong it's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polar HRM, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. Patricia Sharp "tadpole" (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
This is a great bit of kit, easy to use and really useful to get an insight into how your heart is doing in relation to how much exertion you think you are puting into the exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for occasional use, 31 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
This is a useful heart monitor for the occasional or light user by one of the big names in the monitor field. I see them in use in hospitals and on the chests of professional cyclists. The single button on this model is a wee bit strange but I eventually deciphered the instruction manual sufficiently to get things working properly.
A very good item for a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad apart from the single button operation, 18 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
This is simple and easy to use apart from when setting heart rate zones. The device has only one button so if you wanted to change your minimum limit from 120 to 170 bpm you'd have to press the button 50 times. You'd think they might have built in a 'long press' like most watches have for setting the time, where you hold the button down to change the value quickly and let go when the desired value is reached. Bit of an oversight by whoever designed the product.

Note that the product description says:

"You can set the target zone for your training as beats per minute (bpm), as a percentage of your maximum heart rate, or as a percentage of your heart rate reserve (HRR%)."

This suggested to me that you could input your max HR and then just input target zone limits as percentages. In fact you can only set target zone limits as bpm, so you have to calculate the percentages yourself and then input the actual bpm value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, but some niggles, 26 May 2011
By 
E. Brightwell (Marlow, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a great value monitor and it does the job. You don't need to spend more unless you have specific additional requirements. However, there are some minor niggles:
1. The watch strap is too stiff and too short, with an awkward buckle which is difficult to fit on.
2. The chest strap is small to medium, and not really long enough for men with chests 42" plus.
3. The automatic function change when the watch is held near the transmitter is a real nuisance if you tend to hold your arms near your chest when exercising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very rudimentary, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
OK, for the price you can't expect too many bells and whistles, but it's amazing how basic this device is, right down to the single button operation which is touted as a "feature" but actually makes operation, and especially initial setting, rather fiddly. However, there is also a feature whereby you can cycle through the displays whilst training just by bringing the watch close to the heart strap and waiting till you hear a beep, whereupon it will cycle from showing your HR, to the time, to the trip duration and back again, which is quite useful as you don't want to be hunting for the button whilst (in my case) cycling. Other than that, all the FT1 really offers is an average and max. heart rate, and duration for a given activity. To be fair, it does what it says on the box, but no more. I mountain-bike at least 5-10 hours a week and the battery in both units has lasted a year now. The connection between the strap and the watch drops out very occasionally but is generally pretty good. If all you want is to know your current and average heart rate (which is all I really need) then this will do the job. Just don't expect any frills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic HRM / Looks Good, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
Cheapest Polar on the market. This is a unit I supply my begginers to training or older people who need to keep an eye when working out. Will let you know when you go under or over a target zone by an alarm. You can also use it as an every day watch. My older clients like it because it's very flat. Good value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful but with significant drawbacks, 24 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
I used this heart rate sensor apparently for 120 hours (that's the specification for the battery in the belt). In reality it probably only lasted 50 hours and guess what? You cannot service the battery so you have to throw away the belt and buy a new one for twenty odd quid. This is completely stupid and unsustainable.

The other bug bear with this unit is the single button press operation. If you are a impatient to get on with your exercise rather than fanny about with a watch for minutes getting it it set up just right then don't bother with this device. Painfully slow to adjust heart rate zones.

I also had problems with the large and inflexible heart rate sensor. It's not compliant enough for a good fit and I ended up using ECG cream to improve the signal.

This device suited my purposes as a total novice to heart rate zone training and it served me well when it worked but note the criticisms above.

I have since switched to using a Zephyr bluetooth unit in conjunction with my phone and Endomondo which is a much better solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT1 Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Sports)
this watch s ideal for training purposes and telling the time is quite chunky for an everyday watch and no light. but if uing it just to record heart rate then its very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but great, 14 May 2011
I purchased this watch from the British Watch Company via Amazon. Ordered Thursday night, chose free delivery, and it was delivered Saturday afternoon! The watch is really simple to use. Comprises of a chest strap, which is easy to fit and then the watch itself which displays the time, duration of the work out and tracks your heart rate continuously. You can set upper and lower limits for heart rate and it beeps when you are out of that range.
Great if all you want to do is monitor heart rate and train within a certain range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews