Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mercury Albums Anthology: A Labour Of Love
This product is a brilliantly made collection worthy of the short lived Runaways. The sleeve is actually a cleverly made inter-folding glossy cardboard casing with all the original albums' artworks reproduced to clever effect. The booklet on the band is also very well made with numerous photographs and a backstory plus song details; this is no poorly made effort even if...
Published on 14 Feb 2011 by PepperySalt

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as their image.
It's easy to forget the sensation The Runaways caused at the time. An all girl rock band who played their instruments. Prior to this the only females in rock were usually singers such as Sonja Christina, Maggie Bell, Elkie Brooks or more famously Janis Joplin and Grace Slick. There had been the odd female instrumentalist such as Mo Tucker in the Velvet Underground and...
Published on 26 April 2010 by D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mercury Albums Anthology: A Labour Of Love, 14 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product is a brilliantly made collection worthy of the short lived Runaways. The sleeve is actually a cleverly made inter-folding glossy cardboard casing with all the original albums' artworks reproduced to clever effect. The booklet on the band is also very well made with numerous photographs and a backstory plus song details; this is no poorly made effort even if it was released to tie in with the Kristen Stewart film (although it may have been somewhat rushed: notice "You Drive Me Wild" in concert on Disc One is "Livee").

The tracklisting is simple: the first four albums across two discs: The Runaways, Queens Of Noise, Live In Japan and Waitin' For The Night. Whether you believe the music to be as important as the band itself, there is no denying the attitude, style and rock n' roll of the songs which comes across in the collection. "Cherry Bomb" alone has the best use of stuttering in music since "My Generation" by The Who.

In all, this is a fantastic product conceived by an imaginative mind. It is an economic way to obtain a quality collection of the band's original albums and puts most other modern cash-in collections to shame. Oh, and by the way, you get some uber-cool Runaways temporary tattoos in the package including a "Cherry Bomb" Cherie Currie style transfer. A truly impressive anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars don't go away, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Runaways - The Mercury Albums Anthology (MP3 Download)
Having read the reviews here, I kept my expectations low upon receiving these CDs, I thought, OK, Cherry Bomb is great and they'll probably have a few other fine rockers, but it'll mostly be filler, and I'll end up skipping a lot of tracks after the initial listens. Wrong!
While it's not all brilliant, I'd say it's all good, and bears repeated listening, in fact since there's a lot of tracks here, these discs have not left my player for a week. The music could be perhaps best described as garage/glam rock hybrid, with Lita Ford's metal-influence balanced by Joan Jett's down and dirty streetwise rhythm playing. Yes, the guitars sound great, and just when you might think that some of Lita's lead lines are almost too metal for this band, she comes up with something like Trash Can Murders, putting most of Thunders/New York Dolls-school of bands to shame.
They're clearly teenage girls singing these songs, but the vocals work well in this context, and while the bass and drums don't betray the fine guitar playing, the Runaways come across as a suprisingly strong band. They rock on relentlessly, and the final, Joan Jett-led album here retains the high energy levels, as well as the knack of writing memorable, catchy tunes.
I don't hear any watering down of their sound, and the arrangements never bog down these simple, effective songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punks before punk was invented, 23 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album on the strength of seeing a a clip of "Wasted" online.
Why didn't I get into this band years ago ?.
Recommended if you're into proto punk like The Heartbreakers, New York Dolls etc and they taught The Donnas all they know...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who said women couldn't rock, 18 Aug 2011
Probably due to their connection with their guru Kim Fowley, an oddball to be sure, The Runaways were never really taken seriously in their day, but they should have been. They really were more than a jailbait band thrown together by an entrepreneur who saw $ signs in front of his eyes, these girls could really play. Lita Ford was a great lead guitarist, The Late Sandy West was a drummer through & through, Joan Jett was, & still is,a true rocker, & in Cherie Currie they had a truly iconic lead singer.
This album is great value,seeing how it includes their first three studio albums, along with Live In Japan, on 2 cd's, all in a great package with reproductions of all the album covers & a great little booklet.

Forget what you thought about this group, buy this package & give yourself a real treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The runaways girls who did it righ., 5 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have all four mercury cds and the 1979 'and now.." and the later comps like 'flaming school girls' too. So I have it all basically. This was a great rock band that challenged the status quo and proved women could rock as well as the men, without a man around even! The band was doomed by the typical abuse problems that the girls later overcame in their own lives. However Sandy West later died of cancer.(rip) This takes some great tunes and makes a anthology of them, but I would say that this band is worth buying and owning if you love hard rock , 70's metal , and 70's punk even The radio hits are on here and the popular songs that fans loved too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'n Roll!, 3 Jan 2011
This is so straight forward, honest, in your face, balls out rock 'n roll ... Really cool first girls rock n roll band ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best band you've never heard of, 12 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album has been in my stacker on "repeat" for over a week now, and I can find exactly one mis-step, which is probably down to running out of space on 2 CDs, and not thinking that 4 tracks justified a 3rd disc. You only get 8 of the live cuts from "Live in Japan", but even so 44 tracks and a 133 minute playing time are awesome value for money.

Ok, a huge track count and playing time is no fun if the music is rubbish, but it's good. In fact it's really good, like up with Deep Purple mk2 and Black Sabbath good.

The packing is already described in other reviews, but yes I like getting the artwork for all featured albums, and a short history of the band, rather than a vanilla picture and track listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing value for money you get the first 3 studio albums plus live in Japan. And the inlay is ace to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had this on my wish list for ages. Finally got round to buying it. Two discs of girl rock. Play it loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 70's Girl Rock at it's best, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this CD. I play it in the car quite often. I hadn't heard much of the Runaways until seeing the recent biopic about them. This CD captures everything and more. Really good songs and a decent slleve with some fantastic photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews