Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good
I quite enjoyed this. It is a pretty fun and undemanding read. It brought a smile to my face on quite a few occasions. The writing is generally decent though maybe there is a tad too much exposition.

It does sag a bit in the middle but it recovers towards the end. It is quite inventive in places and there is plenty of witty dialogue and some amusing...
Published on 1 Mar 2012 by The Emperor

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mercury Fails
Flashes of genius and laugh out loud humour are, sadly, interspersed with long sections of tedium, which spoiled this for me.
Published 14 months ago by teemac


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 1 Mar 2012
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
I quite enjoyed this. It is a pretty fun and undemanding read. It brought a smile to my face on quite a few occasions. The writing is generally decent though maybe there is a tad too much exposition.

It does sag a bit in the middle but it recovers towards the end. It is quite inventive in places and there is plenty of witty dialogue and some amusing slapstick as well. There are some great characters.

At times this book was genuinely funny and I did enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mercury Fails, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
Flashes of genius and laugh out loud humour are, sadly, interspersed with long sections of tedium, which spoiled this for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the tradition of Douglas Adams..., 14 Feb 2011
By 
P. B. Hall "Ben Hall" (West Sussex, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable religious satire about a jaded journalist who finds herself caught up in various plots and counter-plots by different factions of angels and demons to derail or subvert impending Armageddon. Kroese cheerfully depicts heaven and hell as mind-numbingly complex bureaucracies, populated by immortals who are often as clueless as to the 'grand plan' as we are. The comparison with Adams is obvious, and Kroese acknowledges this by having his main character quote 'The Hitchhiker's Guide' at one point, but his grasp of kooky religion has something distinctly American about it. Atheism does not escape ridicule either, in case you're wondering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 7 Nov 2010
By 
K. D. Harper "kaff" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book by accident on my Kindle and am glad I did. It is a funny and well written satire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
very disappointed, it was hard to follow, and far too much needless information, was very bored with this book and gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercury series, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
Very exciting books, holds me so I cannot put them down, and cannot wait for the next book to arrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
Recieved this free as at the time i had read nothing by Robert Kroese. After the first couple of chapters was wondering what to expect but really got into the book and finished it off quickly. If you enjoy quirky humour this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercury Falls, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this on a whim and so glad I did! If you are a Douglas Adams reader, you will appreciate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giggle, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining, distracting and in places confusing, but a great book. I will be purchasing the others in the series, after my brain has calmed down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Drew Mclaren (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury Falls (Book One of the Mercury Series) (Kindle Edition)
Gives a new perspective to the battle between good and evil.introduces the concept of heaven and hell as not being quite what you expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac47d510)

This product

Only search this product's reviews