Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for crime fans
Fans of police procedural TV - from the Bill to Prime Suspect - and the racier elements of chick-lit will love Maureen Carter's work. Imagine Bridget Jones meets Cracker. Her protagonist Sergeant Bev Morriss is instantly recognisable to anyone who has ever met serving police officers off-duty. I can't personally vouch for the authenticity of the portrayal of prostitutes...
Published on 5 Jan 2005 by G. Hudson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Character scene setting
The writing changed from one character / scene to another without any definition and so it didn't flow as well to me.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs Carol A Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for crime fans, 5 Jan 2005
By 
G. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fans of police procedural TV - from the Bill to Prime Suspect - and the racier elements of chick-lit will love Maureen Carter's work. Imagine Bridget Jones meets Cracker. Her protagonist Sergeant Bev Morriss is instantly recognisable to anyone who has ever met serving police officers off-duty. I can't personally vouch for the authenticity of the portrayal of prostitutes (the other "working girls" of the title) but there's certainly a ring of truth about the language of the Brummie underclass Ms Carter describes. In the best Agatha Christie tradition, the whodunnit element doesn't cheat the reader - all the clues are there - while the subject matter - the murder of a fifteen year old prostitute - and the contemporary treatment place the narrative firmly in a more modern tradition - gritty, pacy, realistic and, as befits a former Newsnight presenter, televisual. When's the TV adaptation going to hit our screens?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
This book was simply a great read. I was hooked very quickly into this fast paced story and found it hard to put down.

The murder of a young prostitute starts a sequence of events in the life of Bev, a no nonsense sergeant at the local Police station.

Maureen Carter writes her characters with a mixture of real grit, compassion and empathy. The story has you squirming with fear one minute and then laughing at the witty reparte between the characters the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morriss's Midlands, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Maureen Carter book I've read. I shall be back for more. Good tight writing and a pace that never let's up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start to a series, 24 Feb 2014
By 
CD (CHESHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps a bit predictable, but a good read. Hoping that Bev continues to develop as the series progresses.

The plot kept me guessing until the end, and that's as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Total page turner, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book it had me gripped from the get go . I loved the author's wring style and how she made her character's feel true in fact the whole book felt real but without being too graphic. I will be searching out some books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bev Morriss Mysteries, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Michael James Talbot (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
As a former police officer in the West Midlands Police I like the work by Maureen Carter and I am especially proud
that she had continued to put Birmingham on the literary map with her work. Long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book 1, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Book 1 in the Bev Morriss series. Half way through this book I went and bought book 2.
A really good read, good story line and cant wait to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st rate, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Rattling good yarn from start to finish. Will look for more Bev Morris books.Keep up the good wor
Could not fault.
U
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working Girls 1 ( Bev Morriss Mysteries ), 26 Oct 2013
By 
James W. Wallace (Inverness, Inverness-shire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
What a first .novel full of unsavoury characters and teenagers out for thrills and putting their.lives at risk. This is a must read book. Get the e book you will not regret it.Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working Girls: 1 (Bev Morriss Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
EXECELLENT !!!!! from the begining i was totally hooked !!! the story was great carachters believeable couldnt put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews