Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut album I've ever heard
I'm getting on a bit now. 36 this year. I've heard lots of music in my time - spent the last 20 years doing nothing but listening to music, going to see gigs, concerts, festivals etc. This is the best debut album I've ever heard. So assured, sounds amazin, great catchy melodies and riffs - i really can't fault it. Lazy wannabe journos describe it as a mix of pink floyd /...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by T.H.E. Rodginho

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a good album to kick back to
a good album to kick back to, and some standout tracks such as it is not meant to be, lucidity and solitude is bliss, however not as good as their second album lonerism
Published 2 days ago by Eve Brady


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut album I've ever heard, 8 Feb 2011
By 
T.H.E. Rodginho (Mapledurham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
I'm getting on a bit now. 36 this year. I've heard lots of music in my time - spent the last 20 years doing nothing but listening to music, going to see gigs, concerts, festivals etc. This is the best debut album I've ever heard. So assured, sounds amazin, great catchy melodies and riffs - i really can't fault it. Lazy wannabe journos describe it as a mix of pink floyd / cream / hendrix / beatles but its truly their own sounds - they make their music their own, every last note.
Can't recommend these guys enough!!! BUY BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new band in many, many years., 30 Oct 2010
By 
R. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
I fiirst heard these by chance a couple of months ago and they have taken over my life. They describe the music themselves better than I can. - 'Tame Impala make psychedelic hypno-groove melodic rock music. It's intended for moving one's body to, and it's intended for keeping still and observing other forms of movement. It's bombastic but it's swirling, think of the shoulder bones of a giant striding feline creature through some kind of tunnel. If Tame Impala's music reminds you of what you'd want to put on when you next visit your mind's engine room then they're happy. If not, whatever, it's just music. Put it on when the sun next shines. Basically it's all about the feeling'

If that vaguely intrigues you go out and buy this album. It is music that fills your head and takes you far, far away from the mundane underpinned with monstrous grooves. In 25 years watching bands live these 4 kids who look like they'd struggle to get served in a pub are one of the very best bands I've ever seen live.

They are psychedelic, they are heavy, they are pop, they are groovy, they are stoner, call them what you will, sometimes they are the band Kasabian would love to be but can't, they have the spirit of Lennon, Harrison, Hendrix, Morrison, Krieger, Lee, so while strictly speaking there is nothing totally new they are so good it doesn't matter.This is music that isn't made any more and they can live in any company.

The production is spot on as it harnesses the wild beast lurking and gives the great subtleties and complexities in the music space to breathe and work their way into the darkest recesses of your mind and body. There is brutal power and pop hooks perfectly combined. If they wanted to they could write hit singles, but instead they just play music that is lyrically and sonically a million miles from anything else around today.

Oh, and their self titled EP is immense as well. And they are mindmeltingly jawdropping live.

Tame Impala are simply the best new rock band in a long, long time and deserve your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 4 Aug 2010
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
Brilliant! Got introduced to this a bit early by a friend from Oz, completely blown away by this- they've somehow made 60's-Garage-Noisy-Psychedelic rock sound cool, fresh and 'new'. Which doesn't make sense, but believe me when you listen to this you will feel the same. My fav has got to be 'Solitude is Bliss'- lovely John Lennon-stylee-grunge rock that the aussies seem to be so good at right now. A definite 5 out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless Album from a Great New Band, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
Up until last Christmas I'd only heard bits of Tame Impala's music on BBC 6 Music, but what I did hear was enough to want their album, due to their superb sound. So, my girlfriend got me it as a Chrismas present.

There are a lot of new bands about, so to say Tame Impala are one of the best is no overstatement. While the sound is somewhat unique for an album released in 2010, it is very much like some of the multi-layered vibes of the 1967 psychedelic era. The guitar and bass sound often echoes, roars, and rumbles like the exhaust of a Harley-Davidson, and the vocals are somewhat Lennon-esque (in the manner of Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds) but most importantly, all of the songs are good, especially the single 'Solitude Is Bliss'. There's not one bad track on the album, hence my 5 star rating.

I certainly hope they do a UK tour this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent!, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNERSPEAKER [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This album is a great experience. For vinyl lovers like me i think it is a must-have. A psychedelic masterpiece that will make you enjoy every second of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
A great album. This and lonerism are just essential listening! Played them both for hours on end without ever gettingb bored... amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut album ever?, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
Innerspeaker is a state of mind that you'd love to experience it in its entirety. The psychedelic music is pure and mesmerizing. Definitely one of my favourite albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNERSPEAKER [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I find nothing to dislike about this record. I listen to a lot of different music and Tame Impala make albums that I keep coming back to again and again. It's dreamlike qualities, the melodies and the understated pop hooks all combine to make a mesmerising piece of art. I highly recommended it to all lovers of music, as well as the new Tame Impala record 'Lonerism' :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 20 Feb 2013
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
Good work by Tame Impala, solid album consistent throughout. Lonerism still tops it, but after all lonerism is my favourite album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big riffs Psychadelia reformed and shaped, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: InnerSpeaker (Audio CD)
A first listen provides lots of reference points to other led Zeppellin riffed ,guitar psychadelia with full on sonic workouts combined with delicate ,quiet passages emphasising specific guitar effects. Nothing new in the format, but a satisfying new take on a familiar well trodden path
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

InnerSpeaker
InnerSpeaker by Tame Impala (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
In stock on July 20, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews