Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars17
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2010
I was scrolling through the in-flight movies on a flight from Singapore to Melbourne when I came across Michael Jacksons "This is it" and thought "why not". Half way through "Beat it" I suddenly paid very close attention to this diminutive blonde girl laying down this absolutely stunning solo that both laid bare the intimate structure of Eddie Van Halen's famous work, and displayed an amazing level of control and feel.
All of this is to say that Orianthi can really play guitar. She has the familiarity with the instrument that tells you that she is going to be one of the worlds top guitarists.
Now to do that she has to make her name, get experience, sell records. This is a pop records with a really, really good guitarist playing on it, which lifts it up from its genre. Plus she can write pretty good songs. I bought this record, I like it and am looking forward to it being the beginning of a large collection of Orianthi's work.
Believe
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
Got to agree with James above, what a breath of fresh air, and unlike some of the so called heavy metal screams from todays so called artists, this lady can sing and more to the point I can hear and understand every word rather than the vocals being drowned out by an overdriven heavily distorted guitarist. And they are addictive. Her guitar skills were never in doubt, a well mixed album to be enjoyed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
Orianthi is talent personified and she really knows what she is doing. Michael Jackson is no fool and he had the pick of the bunch when it came to choosing his guitarist - you can certainly see why he selected Orianthi. If driving/shredding rock guitar and personable [does not have to be perfect - what is perfect?, who is perfect?] vocals are to your liking, buy BELIEVE and listen to the magic of Orianthi Panagaris.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2010
this is a very poppy album which is alright as far as it goes. There is quite alot of 'young woman angst' in many of the lyrics e.g. being let down and not understood by men! I was hoping to hear more of her exceptional guitar playing, some of her blues solos are pretty awesome. However you only get glimpses of this. Orianthi evidently was chosen by Michael Jackson to be his guitar player on the tour that never happened. Poor Orianthi talk about missing out on a mega career break. If she wants a cuddle and sympathy i am here for her!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
Imagine The Bangles, Joan Jett or Wendy & Lisa with a stellar leadguitarist who knows how to shred in an intelligent way. And you pretty much gets the idea of what to expect from this new star. Risen to stardom of course through her association with Michael Jackson.

A serious student of the guitar who has jammed with Carlos Santana and been endorsed by the likes of Steve Vai, she sparkles each song with some really interesting and varied soloing. Her vocal and songwriting skills are also considerable, although a certain lack of originality might be her weak spot. But all in all a very strong set of poprock songs dealing with....romantic troubles seen from a feminine/feministic perspective.

This album is definitely aimed more at a younger poporiented audience and not at ageing hippies like myself. Which shall not keep me from giving her my heartfelt kudos.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
I don't want to ramble on reiterating the overview of Orianthi that I left on my review of Violet Journey (10 Tracks) Aust Excl, and, if you've visited the reviews of that album before this one, you may have noticed my unreserved enthusiasm for it.

I ordered both albums at the same time, but Violet Journey arrived well before this one, giving it a two week head start into my affections. Consequently, by the time this one arrived my expectations had been well and truly lifted.

When I was trying to decide on a star rating for this album, four stars seemed too high, but in the same way, three seemed unfairly low. It is a case of trying to balance Orianthi's gargantuan talent with songs on this album, some of which cater for the commercial pop-rock market just too much for me, and my, slightly older, tastes. After enjoying the first album so much, I was stunned to find that the first four tracks on this one were a disappointment.

However, the title track Believe, my personal favourite Feels Like Home with it's incredibly Santana-esque fretwork, the bluesy Untogether, down-tempo Drive away, and the touching and sentimental God Only Knows, rescue the album from the ignominy of a much lower score.

I would never tell anyone not to buy this album, after all Orianthi is an amazing talent on guitar, vocals and songwriting, I just preferred the more naked feel to Violet Journey rather than the commercialized pop-rock fireworks on this one.

Save yourself the stress of deciding, just buy both.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Orianthi came to fame as the guitarist for the ill fated Michael Jackson show for the London 02 concerts and you can see her featured on the DVD "This Is It".

The covered edition you see here is the original first pressing and release of this CD (2009), and is the second solo release from her. The other second pressing version of this CD with the Red and White different posed Orianthi cover was released with a slightly different tracking list with the same title, but also referred to as Believe ii (2).

Both versions of this CD is full of good to top notch pop rock songs, by a lighting fast guitarist with cool guitar riffs and vocals. She really is a very good talented young lady in rock these days for her youth.

Her first solo CD (2007) "Violet Journey" is hard to get under the £15 to £20 mark if you can get a copy, and if you like what you hear, there is Orianthi's third solo CD (2013) "Heaven In This Hell" but with a slightly heavier rock style.

As a side piece of information Orianthi has a track on the Bratz OST #8 Now or Never, and is also a featured guest with Michael Bolton on the CD "Ain.t No Mountain High Enough" track #11 Money (that's What I Want). She has also feat' with Carlos Santana and many others, just check out Youtube for videos and other live footage etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2009
Orianthi, for those who don't know, was Michael Jackson's most recent guitarist, and is in the "This is It" film.

But she can also song, and write songs.

Her style is probably best compared to a slightly heavier Avril Lavigne - at least the Let Go album - with lots of guitar fills and solos. The songs are generally of a devent standard, and the girl can sing pretty well too (check out "According To You" on YouTube). There are hints of AC/DC in places as well, which is no bad thing.

Plus a pretty good instrumental track with Steve Vai guesting.

She's still developing as a guitarist, and if you want to be pedantic you could find faults in he rplaying (especially the vibrato, although she's not nearly as bad as Kirk Hammett), but she has very good chops, can let rip with the best of 'em ("Think Like a Man" is my particular favourite), and this album should have done better in the US - and is unheard of in the UK, which is a great shame.

My daughter (11) also loves it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
Orianthi is a really good female Lead Guitarist simalar to Joan Jett. She was with Michael Jackson as his Guitarist. Album Believe is top class, This girl and her group are going to be real stars. She has everything going for her. Rock Songs and looks.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
This is seriously a breath of fresh air to the rock scene. With all the manufactured pop/rock around at the minute (Paramore, Avril lavigne etc), this blows them out of the water. She has a great voice, and some truly insane guitar skills ("Highly strung") and my god are some of the songs addicitve. There is no need to go on about how talented she is, just listen to the album. There is no wonder she has been listed in the 12 greatest female guitarist of all time, with similarities to eddie Van Halen and Steve Vai and she is only 24! Truly awesome and well worth the wait!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)