Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game with minor component issues
What is this game about?
You play an eclectic group of explorers who venture inside a spooky house. As you enter the creepy home, the lights go out and the front door locks. You then explore the unknown finding horror, humour and helpful items. Until...the betrayal occurs!!!

Straight off view of the game:
What a fantastic game!

Why would...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by George Kendrick

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nicely made... very boring
As I write this I am sat playing this game in rather excellent company. Sadly all I can think about is how I will ever get the 2 hours of my life back that I have spent playing it. The game has lovely artwork and is well made but is utterly tedious. I found myself struggling to care one iota if I ever made it out of the basement and still never fathomed hiw having a dog...
Published 3 months ago by Pilgrim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game with minor component issues, 27 Oct 2010
By 
George Kendrick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
What is this game about?
You play an eclectic group of explorers who venture inside a spooky house. As you enter the creepy home, the lights go out and the front door locks. You then explore the unknown finding horror, humour and helpful items. Until...the betrayal occurs!!!

Straight off view of the game:
What a fantastic game!

Why would you enjoy this game?
If you like horror, comedy, monsters, exploration, surprise, randomness, co-operation, mystery, betrayal, and a simple core mechanic.

Summary of the first play of the game:
What other game can you play and have to run through a house pursued by tentacle suckers while you search for the creatures basement based head; discover you're the heir of an ancient throne and be hunted by poison blade wielding assassins who leap out from behind curtains; have a alien spaceship crash into the house and the little green man abduct the group through mind control; and finally summon a ghost and lay it rest?!

Play time:
All of our games, which were our very first, took less than 1 hour to play, while most only took about 30 minutes.

Value for money:
Lots and lots of tokens! If you love tokens, you'll love this game. If you hate organising the tiny little things then prepare to lose 1 die of sanity points...
The playing pieces for this game are...not great. They look a little...wrong. Now if you're feeling generous you could say this contributes to the feel of the game, but I just see poor figures.
I would say for £40 this game is good value - if the feel of a game is more important to than the quality of the components.

Problems with the game:
The aforementioned playing pieces obviously. The talk of warped cardboard is entirely accurate. It is really only an issue with the one long room tile, but it is still evident to the trained eye on the single tiles also. Some of the black clips used to track your adventurers' attributes are very poorly made, some being useless at staying clipped on which can cause confusion.

In terms of game mechanics the only real problem is in the balance of some of the Haunts. If you don't mind a game that is sometimes "unfair" and stacked against you, then this isn't a problem. But if you want a tactical balance, then this will be a problem. Personally our group likes the feel - horror is all about escaping by the skin of your teeth and being the prey not the predator, so this games feel for us was perfect.

Final thoughts:
If you love the idea of 50 games within 1 game - this is for you. I know my group are already pestering me to return to the House on the Hill. We've been ripped apart by tentacles, poisoned by assassins, brainwashed by aliens and driven insane by ghosts - and that is only 4 out of the 50 possible games!

(Disclaimer: after buying the 2nd edition for my birthday, I grabbed a couple of my friends and we played Betrayal at House on the Hill. None of us had played the game before or heard of it before a week ago. So this review has no 1st edition nostalgia)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greeeeat game!, 27 July 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
this is lots & lots of fun, BUT... there is a problem with the print run on the game, all the room tiles & tokens
warp a lot and it is almost unplayable. this is common knowledge on board game geek. one simple email to avalon hill (the makers) and they send you out free replacement board quickly, that doesnt warp :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good fun co-op game, 21 Nov 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
A great little game. Initially co-op you Work together to explore a haunted house. Half way through the game one of the players becomes a traitor and plays out one of fifty different scenarios; a little girl opening a portal to hell, an aged priest trying to recover his stolen birthright. Lots of replayability, a good one for any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Fun, 7 Feb 2013
By 
GDM Bussey "Bogwart" (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
Who needs computer games with this great board game. Hundreds of differing endings & game play, different 'board' layout every game. There is no board until the game starts and each player lays a room segment as they play. It is a very absorbing game for all ages over 10yrs.
My daughter, who is 34 & her husband (37yrs), myself (68yrs)my wife (??yrs) and grandsons 13 & 10 played this virtually non-stop for most of Boxing Day and went back to it again over the Xmas Hols. Suits all age groups.

My only grip is that the card panels are rather flimsy and some of the additional card peices are rather small, that stopped the 5* award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great thematic game, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
"Betrayal at House on the Hill" is a thematic board game where 3+ players enter a haunted house and... well, something happens.

Gameplay starts with each player picking a character. These character having starting stats - Speed, Strength, Knowledge and Sanity - which can be changed by events throughout the game. If any of these stats are reduced to 0, that player dies.

The players take turns exploring the house - moving as many tiles as their Speed stat allows them to. As they enter a room, the player draws a card from the deck and adds it to the house. Some rooms hold events which may benefit the player, or impede on their progress.

Some of the rooms have a crow tile. When this appears, the player must roll six dice. If at any point the number rolled is less than the amount of crows in play, an event called the haunt begins. This is a good mechanic as it prevents the haunt coming too early if the players are taking the game slow.

The haunt is the selling point of the game. When it occurs, anything could happen. One player could become a madman, trying to kill the other players. Or maybe a giant blob may begin to consume the house, leaving the players to fight it - or be devoured. Perhaps all the players will be shrunk down and hunted by cats, or the house lifted up by an eagle... with only one parachute left inside.

Many of the haunts are samey, standard horror plots: one character has lured the others into the house in order to kill them for [insert reason here]. There are 50 of these haunts, so there's plenty that could happen, but several feel a bit dry and uninspired.

You don't decide the haunt; the game decides, based on what tile the player who revealed the haunt is on, and what card they picked up as a result. You match this combination to a grid, which tells you the haunt number you'll be carrying out. Once you know this, the good characters take the booklet to read their objectives - whilst the traitor(s), if there is one, take theirs to another room to read. The two teams will have a vague idea what the others are up to, but not entirely, meaning that you usually have the element of suprise by your side.

Often, to win you either have to kill the traitor\good guys, obtain\destroy an artifact or pull some switch and escape the house, or something along those lines. Once this happens, the chase is on. The traitor is trying to prevent the good guys from getting away, whilst the good guys are trying to stay alive in the process. Considering five minutes previous you were all on the same side, it makes things pretty tense.

Betrayal is a great game to play, just not too often; the similarities between haunts becomes apparent and some games just feel exactly the same as others. Sometimes the odds feel too stacked against one side too; this seems to come down to how many players you're playing with. It's a brilliant game to experience, especially if you like thematic games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 GRAND!? ARE YOU MENTAL!?, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
It's being reprinted on the 15th August....If you buy this game (awesome as it may be) at this price, you are a moron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
Great game for boardgaming beginners, and yet still fun for older gamers. The delivery was fairly quick. Satisfied with both the service and the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet game, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
Excellent game, the only thing keeping it from 5/5 is that the different trackers are extremely volatile and fall off with little to no force
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite game, 18 May 2012
By 
Miss Burton "Kat" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
This is my favourite ever board game. Its amazingly simple to play, no complicated rules to learn. You can learn it as you play. It also has really good re-play value, there are 50 different combinations of 'haunts' that can happen, and because each time different tiles will come out in a different order and different things will happen, each game is different. we played it four times over 2 days and none of the games turned out the same. The atmosphere of the game is really good fun as well, you each play an 'architypal' character from a horror movie (a jock, a priest, a little girl, a fortune teller...) and explore a haunted house. I've played it with children and adults and both have really loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars don't betray yourself - buy this game!, 21 Sep 2014
By 
M. saunders - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betrayal at House on the Hill (Toy)
if you like board games and wants lots of fun then this is the game to get. My family and friends love this game now. 50+ game events so you won't play the same game twice! It's not particularly scary but creative and leaves it to the imagination. but each event is well thought out and really different to the next adding so much re-playability. For £30 it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Betrayal at House on the Hill
£36.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews