Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read
This is a great read. Wesley writes very accessibly, considering the language in common useage then. He is often dryly humourous, referring regularly to the frequent bans imposed on him by churches where he had preached and presumably upset the congregation. He comes across as someone it would have been fascinating to know and he certainly has lessons for Christian...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by boudicca

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a life to read
see the work and see the man. well priced but not well copied. See America and England through the eyes of a man with a mission
Published 22 months ago by Michael Dickens


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read. Wesley writes very accessibly, considering the language in common useage then. He is often dryly humourous, referring regularly to the frequent bans imposed on him by churches where he had preached and presumably upset the congregation. He comes across as someone it would have been fascinating to know and he certainly has lessons for Christian today about Christ's message and parts of the established church. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 27 Mar 2014
By 
D. Rowe (Cottingham East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspired reading from an amazing man of God. The starting point of the incredible movement of the Methodist church. great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The whole wide world is my parish, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting preamble by contemporaries and modern thinkers.A must for Methodist worshippers to see how our greatest preacher spent his days. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing man, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
I discovered I knew little of John Wesley except he went out preaching from horseback. I was quite wrong as he took all means of travel including interesting trips to America. It makes one gasp as to how he managed before steamships and planes. The sermons also sway you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Journals, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
What an amazing man, the journals are very interesting, I am only a third of the way through them, I hadn't realised he had travelled to America, upset all the locals, was brought before the magistrates more than once and escaped back to England!! Even in England he was accused of causing riots whenever he preached, he was banned from countless church's. I am finding some of it amusing, although I don't suppose he did at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ChristiAN LIFE, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
This journal gives a good insight into John Wesleys thinking of how to live the Christian Life. Very appropriate for this day and age.

A good read for anyone wanting to know how to grow in the Christian Faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INFORMATIVE, 27 July 2013
By 
D. B. Prentice (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
From the wealth of writings left by John Wesley, you see a man wholly committed to Jesus Christ his personal Lord and Saviour who he had the earnest desire to share with others. He did not water down the Scriptures of the Holy Bible to be politically correct to the day in which he lived. Travel was teadiously by horse, but the sheer amount of horse miles he clocked up was absolutely amazing. In 21st Britain he would be in dire trouble with his adamant view of the correctness of the Bible and would fall foul of those watering it down and adapting it to mean what ever life style present man wants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Journal of John Wesley, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
I am still dipping in and out of it but it is very enjoyable and he was a very good man who with his wife raised Godly sons.
I might review it again when I have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a man of God, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
This is a marvellous encouragement to any Christian and I would say a must read. I can’t understand why I haven’t come across it before. May be I wasn’t ready for it. John Wesley is surely one of the great heroes of our time, a fact that is recognised by people of the world as well as the kingdom. The so-called hard men of today would do well to read this and discover that they are not so hard after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a life to read, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Michael Dickens "Mike" (Narthampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journal of John Wesley (Kindle Edition)
see the work and see the man. well priced but not well copied. See America and England through the eyes of a man with a mission
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Journal of John Wesley
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews