Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freeing Dobby review!
I managed to get this set a month early from Tesco Direct and paid 10 for it. I have to say, it's a neat little set. The figures are great, but the build is simple, are there aren't a lot of exciting parts.

Going back to the figures, they are much improved over the older versions. Harry's face is a bit babyish, you can see it here, but I think it works for...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Chriss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Way over priced
So this is 20 for a arch and 3 mini-figures. I know the sets based on films always cost more but LEGO Star Wars costs way less for triple the amount of LEGO. I think I'll just stick to other LEGO sets.
Published 12 months ago by Tracy Weaver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freeing Dobby review!, 8 Sep 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
I managed to get this set a month early from Tesco Direct and paid 10 for it. I have to say, it's a neat little set. The figures are great, but the build is simple, are there aren't a lot of exciting parts.

Going back to the figures, they are much improved over the older versions. Harry's face is a bit babyish, you can see it here, but I think it works for this set. The new Hogwarts uniform now has backprinitng! Yay! The new head for Dobby is really great and has some nice printing on it. Malfoys face looks a little weird because his hairpiece so far back, that it looks strange, but it's nothing to cry about.

Like I said, the build is simple. It's a bit boring, but you'd expect that from a small set. The design of the set isn't as good as the original version, but the figures balance it out.

Overall, it's worth getting if you are a Harry Potter fan, but it's nothing to sing about. I hope this review is helpful!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted 7-year old; lovely Dobby, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
My (7 year old) son bought this with saved pocket money as his first Harry Potter Lego set. He built it quickly and easily, needing no help (took him 15 minutes or so), and has played with it ever since (Dobby is currently sleeping with him!). He has only seen the first film, but we have read more of the books to him, and he loved the scene this depicts. We have watched it re-enacted about 150 times so far at a conservative estimate!

A tiny little set, and therefore not the best value for money, but it has kept the concentration and captured the imagination of a very happy small child, and I can't ask for more. Of course the downside (depending on your point of view) is that he now wants all the others in the range... I hope Santa's feeling wealthy...

Harry Potter has two faces (smiling and frowning), Lucius Malfoy has 2 also (one is the Death eater mask). Dobby's head is wonderfully detailed. The Hogwarts arch (with a simple and effective mechanism for knocking Malfoy over) is small, and uncomplicated. Harry comes with a broomstick, both wizards have wands, and an opening black book (which doesn't look at all like Lego) holds a tile with the sock printed on it.

Overall a nice stocking-filler sized set, most HP fans would probably feel it worthwhile for Dobby alone. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars freeing dobby, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
This is a nice small building set which consists of 73 pieces.

There are 3 mini figures:

- Harry Potter with brown wand - 2 faced figure - Harry smiling and Harry frowning

- Lucius Malfoy with black wand and cape - 2 faced- annoyed and death-eather

- Dobby the house elf

There is also a broom, a spider, a couple of torches, Tom Riddle's Diary and a sock.

The build becomes an archway from the Hogwarts corridor where Harry confronted Lucius Malfoy and conned him into giving Dobby clothes, and therefore his freedom.

There is a lever at the back which can be pressed to make Lucius Malfoy fly away from Dobby and Harry when the spell is cast.

It is an easy build when compared to some of the Lego sets, but then again it is a one of the smaller sets. The build itself only takes a short time - at most an hour if you take your time and have a number of interruptions.

The cost is just over 14 pence per piece (at the RRP) which is a little more expensive than some kits, so if you can get it cheaper than the RRP it becomes better value for money.

For you money you get the 3 mini figures which includes the first appearance of Dobby the house elf.

The Dobby mini figure is excellent. It has a moulded head which is just like the one in the film, and it has proved to be an instant favourite in the house.

This is a great Harry Potter kit which is easy enough for older children to build without the constant need for adult supervision.

*** UPDATE ***

This is now a retired piece and the price is bound to increase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant piece of kit!, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
Bought as a christmas present for my boyfriend; he loved it and spent the majority of the day playing with it. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 12 Jan 2013
By 
D. Law (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
The package was well packed and was received very quickly and made a good Christmas present. It wsas good to see being made..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free Dobby, 24 Oct 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
This Harry Potter Lego set is really great!Dobby looks really cool and he's in rags.I like that you can press the button and Malfoy falls over the arch.You get a broom,a spider,Harry Potter,Malfoy,Dobby,2 wands and the hogwarts arch.It'S a good set. BUY NOW HP FANS!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for a Harry Potter fan!, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Tracey X (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
This set is small and did not take long to put together, but it is surely a must for any Harry Potter Lego collection. My children are 13 and 11 and still wanted this set as they are huge Dobby fans! It did not disappoint as the Dobby figure is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lego Dobbie is excellent, 12 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
I bought this for my 9 year old nephew along with some other Harry Potter lego and he absolutely loved it. The lego Dobbie is adoreable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Harry Potter Lego, 9 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
This was a Christmas gift for my Harry Potter obsessed 7 year old. As she is a Lego enthusiast also this Lego was a hit and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary, 1 Dec 2010
By 
A. E. Savory "albert s" (Epworth Gt Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby (Toy)
A good value purchase, the grandson loved it however the grandaughter said Dobby was scary and hid him and now we cannot find him????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa02514e0)

This product

LEGO Harry Potter 4736: Freeing Dobby
Used & New from: 29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews