Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The conman and the cop
I don't think I've ever quite heard of a show quite like "White Collar," a clever new mystery show in which the FBI decides to employ a brilliant criminal to help them bust other "white collar" criminals. While it has an intriguing new twist on the odd-couple cop show, it also has brilliantly witty writing, a murky conspiracy within the FBI, and some excellent actors with...
Published on 17 May 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Chemistry, Poor Scripts
From an outsider POV, a large proportion of American TV crime dramas appear to be made of cheese. Crime dramas seems to flow out of the US networks like there are part of a buy one get five free promotion. How murder and death became light entertainment I will never know (wait a minute Jessica Fletcher did it). `White Collar' is a prime example of cheesy US crime...
Published 19 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The conman and the cop, 17 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
I don't think I've ever quite heard of a show quite like "White Collar," a clever new mystery show in which the FBI decides to employ a brilliant criminal to help them bust other "white collar" criminals. While it has an intriguing new twist on the odd-couple cop show, it also has brilliantly witty writing, a murky conspiracy within the FBI, and some excellent actors with plenty of chemistry -- and it promises to get even better.

While searching for a thief known as the Dutchman, FBI agent Peter Burke (Tim DeKay) hears that gentleman thief/conman/counterfeiter Neal Caffrey (Matt Bomer)-- who he put in prison -- has escaped, only to allow himself to be recaptured. Caffrey is desperate to find his girlfriend Kate, and so he makes Burke an offer: free him from prison, and he'll help him catch the Dutchman.

Though he's dubious about Neal, Peter reluctantly agrees. After only a few hours out, Neal has a new wardrobe, a luxurious apartment and a wealthy landlady who doesn't care that he's a former thief. And he's working for the FBI.

Together, the odd partners tackle a bunch of tricky white-collar cases: data hidden in a designer dress, a priceless Bible stolen from a mobster, a painting with a dodgy trail, smuggled Iraqi artifacts, clashes with Interpol in Chinatown, a jewel robbery, infiltrating Wall Street, real estate fraud, an illegal organ-trafficking ring, priceless wine bottles, and a kidnapper who is gunning for Neal. And as Neal tries to unravel the clues that Kate has left him, he and Peter become entangled in a shadowy conspiracy within the FBI...

The first season of "White Collar" is a lot like Neal Caffrey -- elegant, smart and charming, to the point where you don't really care that it has some painfully unrealistic moments (trotting their only witness onto a rooftop party with the KILLER nearby?), and a few slow spots. Fortunately, the writers seem to be smoothing the lumps out.

And the writers have a knack for winding together the one-off cases with an overarcing plot about a corrupt FBI agent who is conspiring against Neal and Peter. There's plenty of hilarious dialogue ("It's a loft, seized in a DEA bust -- fifteen hundred square feet, service elevator. It's perfect!" "Is that a chalk outline?" "I'm sure they've cleaned that up by now") and suspenseful little scenes where Neal and/or Mozzie disguise themselves to infiltrate secure places where the FBI can't go without a warrant.

But the show's heart is DeKay and Bomer. DeKay is a snappy, sharp-edged FBI agent who is willing to bend the rules to get the job done, and respects Neal more than he'll admit. And Bomer is a sort of 21st-century Remington Steele: boyishly handsome, clever, charming, refined, and a little bit rakish. At the same time, you really feel sorry for him because of the loss of Kate, and the hints that she may be in on the plot against him.

There's also a solid supporting cast -- Tiffani Thiessen as Peter's loving, long-suffering wife, and Willie Garson as the hilarious Mozzie ("I just said that to a guy who enjoys killing people with his bare hands!"). Also good performances by Diahann Carroll and Noah Emmerich.

It sounds like just another odd-couple cop show, but "White Collar Season 1" has the benefit of excellent writing, acting and some grippingly suspenseful plots. Definitely check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cop show for a long time, 30 Aug 2010
By 
chazabel "buysallsorts" (east yorkshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
As a rule i dont normally watch shows like this as they tend to all be the same but there is something quite different and exciting about White Collar which makes it stand out from the rest,the casting is perfect, all the characters are funny and very likeable which makes it easy to watch and the story lines are great,not once did i get bored and very surprised at that as normally you find 1 or more episode abit boring. I love the relationship between the FBI agent burke and caffrey, sometimes its like watching a married couple.
I bought this dvd 2days after it came out as i love it and thats something i never do so i shocked myself actually, so i would recommend it to anyone of any age, obviously 12 or older.
This gets an A++++++++++++++++++++++ from me!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect to see with kids, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Maria A. Ciria Uriarte (Bilbao, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
The stories are fun,interesting and simple. My kids are hooked on the series and we see it all together.We see it in English but our language is Spanish so I recommend it to everyone who want their children to improve their English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant New TV Series, 11 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
White Collar is a new American TV series about the FBI, only this time there's a twist.

The main charcter - Neal Caffrey (played by the gorgeous Matthew Bomer who you may recognise as Bryce Larkin from Chuck), is in prison serving a 5 year sentence for bond forgery, when his girlfriend Kate tells him that she is leaving him. This prompts Neal to attempt an escape from the high security facility where he is being held, buying a guards uniform with a stolen credit card, reprogramming a security card using a tape deck, and walking straight out the front door.

He's caught soon enough though, by the man who sent him to prison in the first place - Peter Burke, an FBI agent in the White Collar Crimes division, who questions why Caffrey would break out of prison only 4 months before the end of his term, earning him another 4 years as an inmate.

Seizing on an opportunity, Caffrey gives Burke some invaluable information on a case that he is working, and asks for a deal - his help catching other white collar criminals, in return for release into FBI custody, with a tracking anklet fitted.

At first Burke doesn't go for this idea, but eventually reconsiders when he needs help catching a thief known as 'The Dutchman', knowing that Caffreys own experience in the forgery business could prove invaluable to the case.

This series, although another about the FBI is a different take, and Caffrey is totally cheeky, charming, and loveable as he manages to talk his way into living with a rich widow and her gorgeous grandaughter in a mansion with 10 million dollar views, and his unconventional methods of catching the bad guy such as setting off his own tracking anklet and getting himself into the criminals warehouse in order to allow the cops to go in without a warrant, and throwing parties for supermodels in an attempt to lure criminals out into the open.

Overall, this is a very promising new series, and I believe that they have already begun airing the second season in the states. Season one contains 14 episodes, and is worth every penny. Buy it if you like shows like Bones, Numb3rs, The Closer etc. Recommended, and good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
This show is brilliant. I've just finished watching it on Sky and though I would buy it for my parents who love these kind of shows and I know they won't be disappointed. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise, 21 Feb 2011
By 
JR watches (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought White Collar season 1 based on a friend's recommendation - that it is like "Catch Me if You Can" but more cool. The two lead actors play well off each other and the supporting cast is outstanding. There are a few weak spots in the writing, but that's common for the first season of almost any tv show. Overall, White Collar has a great mix of charm, good writing and interesting characters that make you want to know what's going to happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next year should be great, 24 Aug 2010
By 
brian (Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
Second series are often noticably better than year one. Actors get comfortable inhabiting their roles, there's more money to spend on better writers, cinematographers, directors, etc. White Collar's first year is a bit uneven; it has a few too many flaws. Some episodes are definitely better than others. But the overall set up is good and the last few episodes are strong as is the pilot. In sum, if it looks attractive and you need something to watch, get it. If you're picky, wait for round two. Three and half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "White Collar: The Complete First Season" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Discs..., 18 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Currently picking up a bit of a cult audience on NETFLIX - "White Collar" is already something of a hit Stateside.

Unfortunately for British fans there's been no UK release on BLU RAY as yet and this 'US ONLY' set on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Back to the tele and the download I'm afraid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good series, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
good series enjoyed it so have been out and got 2nd to watch recommend to anyone who are fans of american cops series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic first Season!, 10 April 2013
This review is from: White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC] (DVD)
WHITE COLLAR Season 1

White Collar is an American crime drama serial following the FBI's New York White Collar division. Matt Bomer stars as Neal Caffrey a brilliant con man and forger who has been caught and jailed by the FBI. However, Caffrey offers to use his skills and knowledge to help the FBI catch criminals, and is freed on a work-release scheme. He now works with the man who put him in jail, Peter Burke (Tim DeKay), a shrewd and talented FBI agent. Caffrey and Burke form an unlikely and unconventional partnership that nevertheless proves very successful, as they both bring different skills to the metaphorical `table'.

The first season of White Collar deals with multiple plot threads, including the evolving relationship between Caffrey and Burke as well as Caffrey's search for his former girlfriend, Kate Moreau (Alexandra Daddario). Other plots follow the relationship between Caffrey and his best - and criminal - friend Mozzie (Willie Garson) as well as the relationship between Peter and his wife Elizabeth (Tiffani Thiessen). Furthermore, each episode deals with a separate FBI case which Burke, with the assistance of his team, Clinton Jones (Sharif Atkins) and Lauren Cruz (Natalie Morales), as well as Caffrey's support, must solve.

The season benefits from some excellent direction and cinematography with great transitions and fantastic filming locations within New York City. However, it is the chemistry between Bomer and DeKay that really makes this show excel. They complement each other very well, and the back and forth between the two is almost reason enough to watch White Collar. Indeed, if you did need another reason then the performance of Garson would provide it. With a list of film and TV credits as long as an arm Garson has definitely been around the block but seems to have found his role, providing a tremendously energetic and amusing performance as Mozzie, providing some light hearted comic relief to juxtapose the more serious elements of the show.

The main criticisms of this season are its supporting cast and its chief plotline. Though not bad actors, Atkins, Morales, and Thiessen just get blown away by Bomer, DeKay and Garson, and though they are billed as `main cast' they are in reality `supporting cast', as they struggle to make their characters anything more than two-dimensional stereotypes. The biggest criticism has to be levelled at the main plotline however, and although the writing for the individual episodes is exciting and pacey the main story arc comes across disjointed, confusing, and a bit boring! Especially when compared with the escapades Caffrey and Burke go on every episode!

Nonetheless, this is a marvellous first season with three great actors and characters besides having one of the best pilot episodes you will see! If you are a fan of the crime caper genre then this is definitely for you, or even if you just appreciate a well-crafted television programme, you will want to buy this season.
8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Collar - Season 1 [DVD] [2009] [NTSC]
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews