Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars25
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2010
Well.... Its an entertaining film. In comparison to other B movies I have reviewed its much better than Piranha II - Flying Killers [DVD] [1981] but not as entertaining as Hood of the Living Dead [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC].

This film is very entertaining but it has lost stars mainly for the CGI. It looks awful at times other effects look great.

This may contain a few spoilers...

So basically the spiders are taken into space to be injected with X... I spent half the film asking why? why take spiders into space to inject with X when you had a perfectly good underground military base? Well it turns out X is alien DNA and ummmm in lower gravity it was more likely to work or something equally silly. Now the question is why? Well to create a bio weapon! Why not? Giant spiders = amazing bio weapon and after they have eaten your enemy, you only have to deal with a great number of giant spiders that are nearly unstoppable. It seems to borrow quite a bit from Aliens, which is not a bad thing as I love the alien movies and alien rip offs. Carnosaur 2 [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] being one of the best rip off of Aliens I have ever seen.

Now when the spider kills and eats, it grows bigger and its off spring are larger... Now this eventually leads to a giant spider attacking a city. Now this is a weakness of the film, if they had not attempted this, we could have had a better funded CGI in the underground base. The underground base did make me smile, with the secret service coming in to rescue their bio weapon. This is highly entertaining as they are aiming to capture not kill, so they arm everyone with non lethal weapons to capture it... wait no they have a bunch of troops with guns who all pair off and roam around in the dark until they are all killed.

Its an entertaining film and well worth checking out for a few quid. I would not recommend watching the trailer it seemed to be the last 20 minutes of the movie compressed down to two minutes, spoils the ending. I feel the film was over ambitious and could have been done without the city scenes and the helicopter. I feel this film would have been far more successful if they had focused more on the underground military base and used real special effects rather than CGI, I was quite disappointed when it said the special effects team who "created From Dusk Till Dawn (2 Disc Collector's Edition) [DVD]" but the non CGI effects look excellent. I am not saying all CGI is bad, it can be very effective, in films like Shaun Of The Dead [DVD] [2004] for example.

Well to summarise:

- Its a success in terms of entertainment.
- Its an interesting story that does borrow from aliens.
- Some of the CGI is just awful, not the worst I have ever seen but enough to spoil parts of it for me.

I will also include one thing I learnt from this movie:
- Giant man eating spiders that grow larger as they multiply and feed equals great bio weapon to kill your enemy. The only down side I see is that you replace your enemy with an army of giant spiders which you then have to kill or if worse comes to worse would then spread. It could potentially wipe out humanity but on the bright side at least your enemy is dead. Its the same question that I wondered about how they could possibly use the Alien as a bio weapon from the Alien films, as it just seemed almost suicidal to do so.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2002
It's not art but it is FUN. The video version of junk food - you know it's bad but you still indulge. Non-stop FX, some very good, some not but relentless in number and ambition. How they got so much for the budget is quite an achievement. How it got a 15 certificate in the UK is also a surprise as the violence levels are high. It's a 50's throwback film, pretty plotless but very much a thrill ride. If you like pure monster fun, rampaging creatures and not much else then give it a go. Bit of a bargain at this sort of price. Picture quality is good, better than VHS by far and sound is clear. Remember it's for FUN nothing more and really doesn't try to be.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2008
The acting was not that bad, not great either but still good! The Plot A DNA experiment on a rare breed of spider is taking place on a NASA space shuttle, when a freak meteor shower engulfs the shuttle, causing everything to go horribly wrong. One survivor is found on the ship and watched over in a secret location deep in the California desert. The problem continues, as the survivor isn't alone, as another deadly spiders climbs out of him and goes on a rampage around the ship. Curious reporter Marci Eyre (Parrilla) must now survive, escape and warn everyone before the spider reaches outside the desert.

Most scenes worked very well and some scene was laughable! But I still had fun time watching this movie and what I really liked was the gory deaths in this movie were great. If you like cheesy movies, don't miss this!.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
This DVD was given away free with a new DVD player, and so, bored one night with nothing good on TV, i decided to wattch it, and to be honest i am sooo glad i did, it was hilarious, the storyline was ridiculous, the actors actions as unrealistic as the plot and an ending sequence that places the previously nerdy female lead in a Tombraider like atempt at blowing the spider up.She completes this while flying a helicopter filled with dynamite that was conveniently parked outside the high school (i think, it's been a few months since i watched it, either way, it wa in the middle of a quiet town ). I really recommend this to anyone with a sense of humour, though if you're looking for something that is actully scary- this isn't it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
Initially 'Spiders' is surprisingly fun. The acting and the script may be hammy, but what was I expecting from the bottom of a bargain bin? The first two thirds of the film steal heavily from James Cameron's 'Aliens', borrowing from both the soundtrack and the use of parasitic biology as a scare factor (although nowhere near as effectively), not to mention the marines and constant messing about in big clunky elevators. It's all cheesey as hell with some astonishingly bad CGI, but I suspect this would make excellent viewing if you intend to get drunk with friends.

Unfortunately, once the story leaves the confines of the dark military base and steps into broad daylight it runs out of steam. The ending feels very tacked on. Whilst the film is trying hard to pay tribute to B-movie classics such as 'Aligator' and 'The Blob', it doesn't mix well with the beginning and middle sections. It feels like you are watching a completely different film. Whilst that worked to some degree in 'From Dusk Till Dawn', it doesn't cut the mustard here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2002
With great gore effects by Greg Nicotero and his gang (Evil Dead 2, From Dusk Til Dawn), and some really bad cgi animated giant spider stuff (don't know who did it but if I were him I'd keep it to myself), this is a strange mixture of cheesiness, dumb plotting, gallons of "the red stuff", bad acting....it's marvellous! Hugely entertaining from start to finish, some amazingly bloody scenes of spiders "birthing" from inside people and a ridiculous plot that requires you to suspend more disbelief than is humanly possible. In short, a perfect Friday night flick accompanied by a few drinks, a few friends, and a bucket of popcorn. You won't be witnessing cinema history but you *will* be having fun. It's hard to hate a film this bad. The giant spider rampaging through the college campus at the end is hysterical.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2007
Very good, and cheesy film, but don't buy the 2nd its crap!

Descent effects, great backgrounds and the spiders looks

pretty good! the reason this is 4 and not a

3 is because i love the ending! A giant spider

killing poeple, while roaming the city!

Deaths are ok and not at all boring, but

the stroyline

is a bit far-fetched!

Acting 6/10 good and cheesy

Deaths 7/10 Bloody, but not a look away scene!

Storyline 5/10 a bit to exagarated, but still decent!

Very good horror flick

and strong film ! ! !

:):)

Quite reccomended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
So far I have not seen all of this movie just skipped through it as Rambo First blood was on TV so had to watch that,anyway back to spiders I saw especially the first 5 mins and Im not that quick at judging a movie but it looked not very good, I dont mind a movie trying something different but at the beginning the actress was dopey and it just looked like the film director went off for a coffee with his blonde assistant and left a no hoper in charge,I dont know what it is folks but some people should enjoy making movies a director with his team,here was not the case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
hmmm hard to say really it is a good film and all, the fx are pretty good, lays on the gore, and has one kick ass heroine my only complaint is like me dont watch the trailer first it ruins the whole story, a good laugh a well worth buy but if you dont like gore or spiders you probably won't like this get it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 May 2012
This is one of the best giant spider films ever! B-movie classic with a simple story, cheesy acting and great oldskool effects! If you like a trashy fun monster flick then check it out, its worth it at such a cheap price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99
£10.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)