Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 April 2010
'Rowdy' Roddy Piper stars as Sam Hell...who comes to Frogtown. See? It does what it says on the tin! Anyway, Hell is one of the last virile men on our post apocalyptic planet. His mission? To impregnate women and restart the human race! The catch? Said women are being held hostage by huge mutant frogs AND if Hell decides on a bit of pre-rescue nookie, his codpiece explodes...

This ridiculous film from 1988 has always been one of those cheesy, brain-dead delights. It requires nothing of the viewer for 88 minutes. You don't even have to think very hard (if at all) as the 'plot' is so scarce that the film gets by on its good humour alone and some so-so special effects. Roddy Piper is his usual self, the women are scantily clad, it has huge randy frogs in. What more do you want?
44 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
I watched this after hearing about Roddy Piper's death. I was familiar with They Live as I love John Carpenter films but not this. It has a title something like a Troma movie. You know, 'Chopper Chicks In Zombie Town' and all that. If I didn't know any better I'd think it was a Troma movie and even though it's not I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 July 2011
This is perfect late night viewing! Roddy Piper is as macho as ever delivering cheesy one liners and theres a few gorgeous women in this too! They must have made around two frog masks for this film as theres so few frogs on screen at once but this B movie has alot of charm is well paced and funny,films with 100 times the budget should take note of these fun 80s movies.DVD is in widescreen and contains trailer and a commentary(I cant believe theres a commentary on this DVD, ET doesnt have a commentary but this does?!)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
After They live of course. Not a bad little film, never quite lives up to it's promise but enjoyable enough. If you enjoy the premise: last fertile man alive in a post apocalyptic humanoid frog riddled wasteland then you should be on the same page as the film-makers!
There's some surprisingly awesome creature work on the frogs by Steve Wang, I do wish (if I were being catty, and I am) he'd created the women too, they're a little butch/crackhead lookin' more Dot Cotton than sex kitten, kinda negates any sexiness in the premise of being the most humpable man in the world!
One important note: this is limited edition yes, but that doesn't mean panic and offer the 'used and new'ers your cash, not in this instance, just go to Arrow films, the manufacturers, and buy it for 13 quid delivered.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
If you are looking for an evening of well-structured, intelligent comedy- this is most definitely not it. However if you are looking for a very unpretentious movie about mutant frogs, wrestlers with bombs on their crotches and a lot of women who look like they've escaped from a Kate Bush video (acres of floaty chiffon and bad dancing abound)- this is definitely the movie for you. Watching it with a group of friends, the hammy one-liners, frankly ridiculous story-line and endearingly amateur special effects (the frogs appear to be about one step up from sock puppets)actually had us in tears of laughter. Each time you think it can't get any more ridiculous, it delivers.

And unlike many bad movies, it never actually takes itself very seriously either. Probably best watched in company so you can check with the person next to you that yes, that really just did happen. Maybe with lots of cocktails too. Was sufficiently impressed with this offering that I have ordered the B-movie collection boxset and am now waiting to see if it can be bested!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 April 2005
This is just another post-apocalypse movie, more of a mad Max or mad Maxine. The frog people are just not pretty faces. Other parts of their body are more versatile. There is no way that Roddy Piper (Sam Hell) can compete so he appeals to their sense of humanity. Propagation is implied throughout the movie. There are even a few sweaty scenes and no one stays in the car.

Roddy did a much better job in "They Live"

This is a combination of "John Goldfarb Please Come Home" and "Cannibal Women in the Avocado Jungle of Death (1988)"
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
This movie is great fun and is enjoyable as a solo watch and even better as a party disc. It's packed full of B-movie goodness and plenty of cheese. If you don't enjoy this brain candy theirs something wrong with you!

The Arrow release is brilliant. I never thought a B-movie like this could look this good. The picture is solid with plenty of depth and detail. It all looks natural without any digital manipulation.

The special features are very informative and interesting.

Grab this while you can though. Only 1000 copies have been produced!!!. Best place to get a copy for a good price is Ebay.

Do yourself a favour and buy it now, before they're gone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 May 2012
This is another cheese filled 80's movie with a weird story, but still loads of fun, starring Roddy piper from WWF fame who also starred in John Carpenters They live. There is some good make-up effects for the mutant frog people, if your into 80's movies then make sure you see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
I FOUND THIS FILM FUNNY & ENTERTAINING. WITH ROWDY RODDY PIPER, HES A GREAT CHARACTER WHETHER IN FILM OR WRESTLING. JUST SIT BACK & ENJOY THE RIDE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
I have seen this movie and love it.very cheesy.the price for the blu ray is crazy. would never pay that kind of price for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)