Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought that it was rather good! Matt Frewers Holmes is certainly played OTT
I've just finished watching this film, and despite the rather negative reviews already posted, I thought that it was rather good! Matt Frewers Holmes is certainly played OTT, but Noel Coward on a high from the night before he definitely is not. Theatrical, yes, but so was the Holmes of Doyle's original. Good support and probably the best Stapleton that I have seen...
Published 10 months ago by David Stone

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad version.
Matt Frewer doesn't do a bad job as Holmes here.
It has the usual things that are wrong, the deerstalker hat for example.
The plot is, like many adaptions of the book, a bit mixed but not that it makes it unwatchable.
Published 24 months ago by Mr. M. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought that it was rather good! Matt Frewers Holmes is certainly played OTT, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
I've just finished watching this film, and despite the rather negative reviews already posted, I thought that it was rather good! Matt Frewers Holmes is certainly played OTT, but Noel Coward on a high from the night before he definitely is not. Theatrical, yes, but so was the Holmes of Doyle's original. Good support and probably the best Stapleton that I have seen. Overall, a good stab at this famous and much loved thriller, far superior to the last BBC effort which was abysmal! As usual, producers always think that they can improve on the original, but you can't blame the actors for that. At less than two pounds sterling, this is a bargain. Go on. Give it a chance! It's not as though you're going to lose your shirt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad version., 8 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
Matt Frewer doesn't do a bad job as Holmes here.
It has the usual things that are wrong, the deerstalker hat for example.
The plot is, like many adaptions of the book, a bit mixed but not that it makes it unwatchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Latter day Hound of the Baskervilles, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
Only the source and dvd cover distiguish this from the review given for the Matt Frewer story. As previously stated
this was a very different Holmes to previous versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best - but..., 2 Mar. 2011
By 
John Rutherford "Stu" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
Max Headroom does his best - but previous reviewers have missed the point .
This is possibly the finest thriller ever written , certainly at the time
it was a sensation . This is not the best version but the scenics are good
and most importantly for Conan Doyle afficianados surely it needs to be in
your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-So, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
i love sherlock holmes, and although the actor playing Sherlock has had alot of bad reviews i kinda liked him as he envisaged what i thought Sir Conan Dole's description of Homles was, gaunt with an hawk like appearance. yes the almost stereo typed English accent is a little over the top but on the whole the Holmes character is done ok, HOWEVER the adaptation of The Hound Of The Baskervilles is dire at the most and laughable at the least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
Matt Frewer makes a god Sherlock a bit flippant but enjoyable arrived on time and not problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 2 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
This is without doubt the worst version of The Hound of the Baskervilles ever made and i've seen the Peter Cook and Dudley Moore version.
Matt Frewer plays Holmes as Noel Coward still high from the night before and mugs his way through his very short screen time. He appears as Holmes for 32 minutes of this 87 minutes movie.
In the original book Holmes is missing from the action for a great part of the story but watching this movie it feels like the director realised the lead performer wasn't good enough and held him off screen beyond the scene in the moorland hut where Watson stumbles across Holmes hiding place and Holes re-enters the story.
Decent supporting cast and locations fight a losing battle with the leading actor who seems to have stepped from a Two Ronnies' sketch.

I would give it no stars if Amazon would let me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 19 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
It was OK - not nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
quick dispatch,good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste you money, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely dreadful.This is the worst film i've ever seen. unless i'ts a meant to be a comedy then it works well but otherwise leave well alone. I really feel sorry for the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes - The Hound of Baskervilles [DVD]
£2.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews