Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you might think
Remakes are never given an easy ride full stop. Remakes of classics are critically doomed before they're even filmed. And prequels to remakes of classics... well, most people wouldn't even go there.

Like it or not, the ultimate shock film of the 1970s aka the Texas Chainsaw Massacre was remade in 2003. And, believe it or not, it did pretty well - to my...
Published on 12 Dec. 2011 by Albatross

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars dont get ripped off by this product
Item description doesn't say it's region A so i bought it and it won't play on my player i want the English version and the product description makes you believe it is. Wanted this to complete my chainsaw massacre collection on blu ray it puts me off buying anything else
Published 6 months ago by Steven Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you might think, 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Remakes are never given an easy ride full stop. Remakes of classics are critically doomed before they're even filmed. And prequels to remakes of classics... well, most people wouldn't even go there.

Like it or not, the ultimate shock film of the 1970s aka the Texas Chainsaw Massacre was remade in 2003. And, believe it or not, it did pretty well - to my knowledge, ranking it alongside the 2004 remake of Dawn of the Dead as pretty much the only two good horror remakes ever worth watching. Therefore, a sequel was drawn up, only, if you watched the 2003 version, you probably knew that a sequel was going to be tricky (death of major characters and all that). Therefore, step forward the prequel...

Full marks to the makers for keeping it in the same vein as the 2003 version - they might as well have been filmed at the same time. The story kicks off a few years ago and interweaves two brothers and their girlfriends, travelling through Texas, with the family from hell and how they came to be that way. There's plenty of chainsaw-related gore and if follows the same formula pretty closely. Men all over the world will be sad to hear that - of course - Jessica Biel isn't in the lead role, but Jordana Brewster does her best to fill Jessica's shoes as she runs, bloadsoaked, from Leatherface.

It was never going to be a masterpiece, but it's a good addition to the (modern) Texas Chainsaw myth. The four unfortunate teenagers play their roles as well as any chainsaw-fodder can (and thankfully they don't do too many stupid mistakes which make you WANT them to end up skewered by a rotating blade), Leatherface is still pretty creepy, but, in my opinion R. Lee Ermey steals every scene as the psychotic Patriarch of the family. I wonder how many people have taken him up on an invite to dinner since he made this film?

Unpleasant and disturbing (as it should be).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One To Watch !, 28 Oct. 2010
I'm a fan of horror films, and had it down on my list of 'ones to watch', it certainly didn't dissapoint!

I watched it alone,in the dark and from the first minute it drew me in,
this film had plenty of moments where you didn't want to watch but you find yourself watching it and it had me shouting at the TV, due to some of the characters being a bit to caring towards there friends!! ¬_¬

Overall I rate this film 5*, although im not usually one for 'torture' this one actually had a story and excitment in it, It's worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, distubing master piece, one off my favorite DVD's, 15 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is an amazing horror, I watched it with my dad who usualy lauths at the chessy jump scenes in most common horrors, but not a grin was broken. You can take it very seriously and I cant wait to watch it again with my girlfreind :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good For What It Is, 29 Dec. 2012
The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning was released in 2006 and acts as a prequel to the 2003 film, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Basically, this film was meant to answer questions left unanswered by the 2003 effort - the family, why are they the way they are? Thomas Hewitt (Leatherface), why is he deformed and why is he the way he is by the events of the 2003 effort? Finally, the Sheriff, what's his game?

You may be wondering: are all of the above answered with this release? Well, for the most part, yes. Basically, we are now in 1969 and a small Texas town has lost its biggest source of income - the slaughterhouse. Thomas works there, but since it is now closed, must return home. In a rage, Thomas murders his boss and Leatherface is born.

On the other hand, you have two brothers and their respective girlfriends. The two brothers are on their way to re-enlist in Vietnam, that is, until they drive through a rural, deserted Texas town, crash their car and are picked up by the Sheriff and brought to "Momma's House".

Generally speaking, the overall film plays out like the 2003 effort and another reviewer makes the great point that both of these films could have been shot simultaneously. They very well could have been; they are so similar!

Does that mean Beginning is a bad film? Absolutely not! In fact, I consider this to be better than the 2003 film. Most of the questions, regarding the family, Thomas and the Sheriff, are answered, meaning that fans of the 2003 effort should be mostly satisfied with this offering.

In the heel of the hunt, don't take my word for it. Go watch it and enjoy.

Thanks for reading this. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GRUESOME FUN - ONE OF THE BETTER CHAINSAW MASSACRES, 26 Dec. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning (Blu-ray)
THE MOVIE

THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE: THE BEGINNING is far superior to 2003 remake. My personal favorite in the series as it doesn't hold back.
R. Lee Ermey is the highlight in this picture, giving a brilliant performance as Sheriff Hoyt.
Director Jonathan Liebesman, doing a far better job than his predecessor Marcus Nispel, did well in maintaining the remake's style and color scheme. It does feel like these two movies belong together that way. Unlike the rather tame remake, the prequel packs a punch and this sure is no R rated teen movie.
TCM: THE BEGINNING does not reinvent the wheel, it pretty much offers the same as the previous TCM movies (a group of teens get trapped at a Texas farmhouse and are sawed down one by one).
Andrew Bryniarski (Leatherface) is the best Leatherface since Gunnar Hanson (sorry can't beat the original Leatherface!), displaying physical presence and raw brutality. Also fantastic: Jordana Brewster.
The Canadian Blu-ray contains the uncut, unrated version of the film (region A locked), the US Blu-ray from Warner Bros. only contains the censored R-rated print!
4.5 OUT OF 5.0 STARS.

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2010 Alliance Films Canadian Blu-ray
Feature running time: 96 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 / 16:9
Audio: English DTS 5.1, English 5.1, French 5.1
Subtitles: NONE
Chapters: 16 (no menu)
Extras: Unrated version
Region: A (locked)

Picture quality: A
Audio quality: A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood soaked horror at its best., 30 April 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you reading this then you obviously have a good idea of what the film is about. As far as horror films go, this one is a treat.

The film is sold as being "an origin story" but it is really just another excuse to see who can come up with the most twisted and disturbing way of killing someone. This film scores highly on that front, especially with one of the characters death towards the end, which is as sick as anything I have seen on film before.

The film is shot in the same way as the chainsaw remake a couple of years ago in a very stylish fashion. There are lots of long sweeping shots which give the film a sense of scale. It looks fantastic and once the action moves to "that" house the atmosphere becomes very chilling and claustrophobic.

The film is a must see for horror fans. Whilst not exactly re-inventing the wheel, it does take a fresh look at a very old character. This film does exactly what it was intended to do, provide numerous scares, all soaked in a copious amount of blood and gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Line does it again, 11 July 2007
By 
I loved the remake though it couldnt touch the original and this prequel does it justice as Tobe Hooper shared some involvment in the making, the back story is creepy and Leatherface hasnt lost the edge. This is a great installment to the series. Now lets hope New Line churns out the rumored Elm Street Prequel or The Elm Street Murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good scare!, 3 Jun. 2011
now this is where it gets a little confusing! take the original 1979 version and watch that one after tcm the begining. because this one's story is meant to be after the 1979 version. (hence why it's called the begining). this tells the version of leatherface's early days. and the reason why they were able to carry on killing cause everyone in this one dies! so theres no-none left to tell about em. a real good film! a must see! .... i think this is one of the best versions of the tcm ever! since the 1979 version anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good movie good acting, scenes, direction not as good as the first remake but still great really worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray advice., 14 Jan. 2015
There is no Blu-ray of this in the UK and most probably wont be. So if you want a Blu-ray of this get the French uncut version. It works on UK players and plays in English.

You can buy it on the French Amazon (Amazon.fr) :

http://www.amazon.fr/Massacre-%C3%A0-tron%C3%A7onneuse-commencement-Directors/dp/B00CB3IGJ6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1421215664&sr=8-3&keywords=texas+chainsaw+massacre+blu+ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning
£10.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews