Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job
For the price, I judge this gadget to be good value for money. Easy to fit, the hoist is reasonably sturdy and well-made. The drawbacks, from my point of view, are:(i) the hooks are not as full as they might be, leading to an issue of confidence about the bike staying in place if it gets knocked whilst in the raised postion, and (ii) the polypropylene pulley rope feels a...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by philt

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What did I expect for under a tenner?
It's under a tenner so I should have expected what I got - badly designed and badly made. The cord doesn't stay in the pulleys when the bike is lowered to the floor. There's so much friction in the system that one end of the bike - the end where you're standing pulling on the cord - rises before the other end and you have to keep adjusting the non-lifting end. The hooks...
Published on 9 May 2012 by R. A. Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
For the price, I judge this gadget to be good value for money. Easy to fit, the hoist is reasonably sturdy and well-made. The drawbacks, from my point of view, are:(i) the hooks are not as full as they might be, leading to an issue of confidence about the bike staying in place if it gets knocked whilst in the raised postion, and (ii) the polypropylene pulley rope feels a bit cheap. All told, though, money well spent to avoid bikes-against-walls problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What did I expect for under a tenner?, 9 May 2012
By 
R. A. Cooper "racooper" (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
It's under a tenner so I should have expected what I got - badly designed and badly made. The cord doesn't stay in the pulleys when the bike is lowered to the floor. There's so much friction in the system that one end of the bike - the end where you're standing pulling on the cord - rises before the other end and you have to keep adjusting the non-lifting end. The hooks that are supposed to support the handlebars and saddle aren't long enough or curved enough to fit under a modern cushioned saddle. The cord is so thin that it's really difficult to hoist an average weight hybrid bike without getting friction burns. In the end, it's gone to the charity shop (I wouldn't resell it on Amazon, it's so bad) and I've fixed a car bike rack to the wall - it's easier to lift my bike onto a fixed five-foot high rack than to try to use this rubbish hoist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Used for a Ladder lift in the garage., 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
Effective and easy to use. I'm using it slightly out of context as a ladder lift.
As others have observed, the hooks aren't really tight enough, but soon fixed in a vice.
For use as a ladder lift for a full 2 ladder extension, there was enough cord, and I should mention that the device has a self locking mechanism.
Really pleased. Only 4 stars because of the hooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put in place but works fine, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
It took me almost two hours of work, but finally I can say that it is a good product. Surprisingly easy to lift my bike (13Kg). The first photo shown in the page is not this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple idea which works, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
This item is quite easy to fix but you might need some basic woodworking skills to fix the bracket to the ceiling. I had to place a couple of noggins in betweem the roof joists to be able to fix the brackets to the joists in the ceiling. This took about an hour. When fixining it is important to follow the instructions to ensure that the distance between the back of the seat and the handlebars of the the bike is the same as that between the two hooks. If you do not do this the bike will not be secure. As with other reviews I have slight concerns about the length of the hooks when under the seat. They seem to be a bit short. I am looking at ways of making this more secure. The hooks under the handlebars have a secure feel. The cord does not feel the best quality and I will probably replace this in due course. The self locking feature works perfectly. Overall I am more than happy and have two of these fitted in the garage.

The problem of the 'insecure' hooks under the seat has now been solved. I purchased some elastic cord and used about 50cm to wrap around the hook and seat. This takes just a few seconds and I now feel totally confident parking the car underneath the bikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bike storage, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
There is very little space left in my garage to store items. This product works a treat and uses the space at ceiling level. It is great value for money and not difficult to assemble provided you read the instructions carefully before wading in! A great price compared to other similar products on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
This item is just the job, its the best space saver for your bike, I ordered two was delighted with them came promptly and easy to put up. Highly recomend this product.Bargain!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instructions would be useful., 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
The product itself is fine, does the job it claims. Very easy to install apart from threading the rope through the safety brake part of the item. It would be really useful to have a picture of this section of the install, I was only able to do this through trial and error. Let's have some decent instructions! It lost a star for this reason only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent product , good quality and very practical concept for storage, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
if you have 3- 3,5 m of height in your storage it is the perfect solution for bicycle storage !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the task I had., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg (DIY & Tools)
Two of these, plus a pair of webbing slings, hold the hardtop of my Honda S2000 up in the roof of my garage all summer!
Makes it a simple, one-man job to remove or re-fit the hard-top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline 554289 Bicycle Lift 20kg
10.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews