Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film I've watched again and again
This is one my all time favourite films. I come back to it whenever I need cheering up. Wonderful witty script with no weak scenes, beautiful characterisation, enjoyable story. Our teenage sons also love it, it's a film all the family can enjoy.
Published on 24 Sep 2005

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
Good 70's film on small town America. I enjoyed watching it as it was feel good movie although its about cycling there isn't a whole lot of cycling in it but more about the lifes of four young guys not knowing what the future has in store for them.
Published on 29 Oct 2010 by James


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film I've watched again and again, 24 Sep 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one my all time favourite films. I come back to it whenever I need cheering up. Wonderful witty script with no weak scenes, beautiful characterisation, enjoyable story. Our teenage sons also love it, it's a film all the family can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 22 July 2010
This review is from: Breaking Away [DVD] (DVD)
So pleased to at last have a DVD version of a very old favourite from the 80s. My video player is long gone and it never seems to be on TV.But now I can ,any wet Sunday, curl up on the sofa with a plate of linguine and feel happy to be alive. Even if you lose your wallet you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, charming and memorable, 5 Jun 2006
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What a completely disarmingly brilliant film. Just when you expect a lightweight rom-com along comes a delightfully witty masterpiece with real heart, great acting and wonderful dialogue. OK, it's a coming-of-age, feel-good, boy-meets-girl, college drama but it avoids most of the usual cliches and leaves some great lines and scenes indellibly etched on your memory. The plot - a quartet of old school chums (none academically gifted) have left school and are pondering their future - the prospects are stark - either university or stone masonry - as "Cutters" in the single local industry. Hero Dave is drifting and, inspired by the Italian Champion cycling team, dreams about becoming a world cycling champion when he bumps into a lovely college girl. His efforts to court the girl lead eventually to a mismatched cycling contest - the Cutters against The College Brats. Along the way we follow the trials and tribulations of the four friends and find out how their future plans will cause their paths to diverge. We've all been there, leaving school, college, job etc - it's an emotionally charged time and this film captures the poignancy really well. There are some excellent comic conflicts between Dave and his well meaning but bewildered parents - excellent acting by all concerned. So, yes, it is another story about growing up and the loss of innocence but it'll have you at the edge of your seat laughing, cheering, feeling self-righteous indignation, embarrassment and the kind of bittersweet feeling in the stomach that only lovesickness or a really good film/book can give you. Enjoy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away [DVD] (DVD)
Picked up on this in a nostalgic review in the guardian (Xan Brooks). Absolutely amazing, and deserves a far wider viewership than I suspect it has. I'm almost tempted to go on a pilgrimage to the quarry lake....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Breaking Away [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the this film when I was briefly visiting Los Angeles, it was given a try at a local cinema and we all stood up and applauded at the end...being English and back in '79 that on its own was first. I loved this film and everyone should see it at least once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good after 25 years..., 6 Jan 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I have a particular affinity for this film, as it is set in the town where I lived for a long time - Bloomington, Indiana. Most people in Bloomington are basketball crazy; apart from this, perhaps the second most popular sport is bicycling, culminating at the end of the school year with the Little 500 bicycle race on campus (a bicycle version of the internationally-known Indianapolis 500 motor race, just 50 miles north). This is primary a campus event, with fraternities and a few other organisations fielding teams; there are also community teams, and always at least one team with the name 'cutter'.
The film is a piece of fiction not just in its plot but also in the details, but it is a good story. The primary character is Dave Stoller (played by Dennis Christoper), a recent high school graduate who isn't sure what to do with the rest of his life. He and his three friends Mike (a very young Dennis Quaid), Cyril (Daniel Stern) and Moocher (Jackie Earle Haley) had made a high school pact to 'waste their lives together' hanging out in the comfortable, small-town atmosphere of Bloomington. However, half the town is university, with all the ambitious, young people that such institutions bring. Dave is son of Raymond (Paul Dooley) and Evelyn (Barbara Barrie), a typical middle class working couple. Raymond makes his living as a used-car salesman, largely taking advantage of the supposedly-smarter college kids. Barbara is trying to put some romance back into their lives.
In his boredom, Dave becomes obsessed with two things - Italian culture and bicycle racing. He calls his father and mother 'papa' and 'mama', plays Italian opera (Caruso, etc.) endlessly, persuades his mother to add Italian cuisine to the home cooking; Dave's friends put up with him, as they have their own small struggles to deal with - Mike, in entering a stage in life where he's no longer the star quarterback of the school; Cyril, who can only think of the next way to disappoint his father (who delights in being understanding); and Moocher, unemployed and unambitious, but falling in love and planning to get married. The spend their time in a sort of dazed and confused state, without too much confusion due to lack of stimulation.
Dave realises there is more to life than hanging out on the downtown square in Bloomington. He begins impersonating an Italian exchange student, falls for a co-ed named Katherine (played by Robyn Douglass), and the juxtaposition of town and gown is set - Katherine is the girlfriend of a swim-team member, and Dave with his three friends have a confrontation with them on campus that leads the president of the university to step in, marking as the field of combat the hallowed bicycle race, the Little 500.
Dave, in his drive to be the Italian exchange student, has taken to idolising the soon-to-be-visiting Italian bicycle team of Cinzano, and become a great cyclist himself. Disappointed by the poor sportsmanship of that race, Dave is ready to give up racing, until his father Raymond, who had always been against his son's starry-eyed ambitions, sees the spark go out of Dave's life, and encourages him to join his friends in the newly-formed Cutter team, and run the race at the college.
The word 'cutter' is a derogatory term the college kids used to describe the townsfolk. Bloomington is situated in the midst of a huge natural deposit of limestone, some of which has been used in construction of buildings all over the world, including bridges in London, the Empire State Building, and massive public works projects in Asia. The college kids (the 'gown') look down on the cutters (the 'town'), and are intent on not letting them steal the victory in the race. The epic battle is set.
There were cameos in the film, including the then -actual president of the university, John Ryan. Extras for town and college scenes were hired from Bloomington, a few of whom I know and enjoy seeing again in their 25-year-old glory (one such person, Jennifer Mikel, sang at the wedding of a friend not too long ago). Those who know the geography of Bloomington watch the film and delight in editing that causes geographic problems - turning the corner on a bicycle and going down a street that is not connected to the one before; riding or driving down streets the wrong way on one-way streets. Most especially, they delight in seeing the town and university as it was. Much has changed in the 25 years since this film was made, and yet, much is the same.
The term 'cutter' didn't really come into use until this film - it was more or less invented for the story in this film. As Dave's father Raymond tells Dave at one point, Dave is not a cutter. Raymond was a cutter - he cut limetone in the quarries, but those days are gone. The campus is built of limestone, and it is time now for Dave take advantage of those buildings.
In the end, the hero does not get the girl, but does get a life, in a victory that goes beyond what any race could bring. (Dave wins some and he loses some; you'll have to see it for yourself to find out how this plays out, so I won't spoil it for you).
The film stands the test of time fairly well - the comedy and the drama still rings true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quirky Coming of Age Tale - On Bikes, 25 April 2014
By 
Richard Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away [DVD] (DVD)
An almost perfect film in my opinion. The story centres on a cycle race at a US University, and the efforts of our hero (a townie) and his chums to win it and the girl (a student) to boot. Lots of laugh out loud moments in a non-gross American Pie sort of a way, a witty script, great characterisation and lots of cycling, too - though it pains me to watch the finale taking place on a cinder running track - couldn't they have found a velodrome somewhere?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and hugely enjoyable, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away [DVD] (DVD)
Not a vehicle for 'Stars', no CGI, well written and well acted, just a wonderful back-in-the-day film. We're all cyclists and we love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good after 25 years..., 6 Jan 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I have a particular affinity for this film, as it is set in the town where I lived for a long time - Bloomington, Indiana. Most people in Bloomington are basketball crazy; apart from this, perhaps the second most popular sport is bicycling, culminating at the end of the school year with the Little 500 bicycle race on campus (a bicycle version of the internationally-known Indianapolis 500 motor race, just 50 miles north). This is primary a campus event, with fraternities and a few other organisations fielding teams; there are also community teams, and always at least one team with the name 'cutter'.
The film is a piece of fiction not just in its plot but also in the details, but it is a good story. The primary character is Dave Stoller (played by Dennis Christoper), a recent high school graduate who isn't sure what to do with the rest of his life. He and his three friends Mike (a very young Dennis Quaid), Cyril (Daniel Stern) and Moocher (Jackie Earle Haley) had made a high school pact to 'waste their lives together' hanging out in the comfortable, small-town atmosphere of Bloomington. However, half the town is university, with all the ambitious, young people that such institutions bring. Dave is son of Raymond (Paul Dooley) and Evelyn (Barbara Barrie), a typical middle class working couple. Raymond makes his living as a used-car salesman, largely taking advantage of the supposedly-smarter college kids. Barbara is trying to put some romance back into their lives.
In his boredom, Dave becomes obsessed with two things - Italian culture and bicycle racing. He calls his father and mother 'papa' and 'mama', plays Italian opera (Caruso, etc.) endlessly, persuades his mother to add Italian cuisine to the home cooking; Dave's friends put up with him, as they have their own small struggles to deal with - Mike, in entering a stage in life where he's no longer the star quarterback of the school; Cyril, who can only think of the next way to disappoint his father (who delights in being understanding); and Moocher, unemployed and unambitious, but falling in love and planning to get married. The spend their time in a sort of dazed and confused state, without too much confusion due to lack of stimulation.
Dave realises there is more to life than hanging out on the downtown square in Bloomington. He begins impersonating an Italian exchange student, falls for a co-ed named Katherine (played by Robyn Douglass), and the juxtaposition of town and gown is set - Katherine is the girlfriend of a swim-team member, and Dave with his three friends have a confrontation with them on campus that leads the president of the university to step in, marking as the field of combat the hallowed bicycle race, the Little 500.
Dave, in his drive to be the Italian exchange student, has taken to idolising the soon-to-be-visiting Italian bicycle team of Cinzano, and become a great cyclist himself. Disappointed by the poor sportsmanship of that race, Dave is ready to give up racing, until his father Raymond, who had always been against his son's starry-eyed ambitions, sees the spark go out of Dave's life, and encourages him to join his friends in the newly-formed Cutter team, and run the race at the college.
The word 'cutter' is a derogatory term the college kids used to describe the townsfolk. Bloomington is situated in the midst of a huge natural deposit of limestone, some of which has been used in construction of buildings all over the world, including bridges in London, the Empire State Building, and massive public works projects in Asia. The college kids (the 'gown') look down on the cutters (the 'town'), and are intent on not letting them steal the victory in the race. The epic battle is set.
There were cameos in the film, including the then -actual president of the university, John Ryan. Extras for town and college scenes were hired from Bloomington, a few of whom I know and enjoy seeing again in their 25-year-old glory (one such person, Jennifer Mikel, sang at the wedding of a friend not too long ago). Those who know the geography of Bloomington watch the film and delight in editing that causes geographic problems - turning the corner on a bicycle and going down a street that is not connected to the one before; riding or driving down streets the wrong way on one-way streets. Most especially, they delight in seeing the town and university as it was. Much has changed in the 25 years since this film was made, and yet, much is the same.
The term 'cutter' didn't really come into use until this film - it was more or less invented for the story in this film. As Dave's father Raymond tells Dave at one point, Dave is not a cutter. Raymond was a cutter - he cut limetone in the quarries, but those days are gone. The campus is built of limestone, and it is time now for Dave take advantage of those buildings.
In the end, the hero does not get the girl, but does get a life, in a victory that goes beyond what any race could bring. (Dave wins some and he loses some; you'll have to see it for yourself to find out how this plays out, so I won't spoil it for you).
The film stands the test of time fairly well - the comedy and the drama still rings true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful feel good film, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away [DVD] (DVD)
A really quirky film - not what I expected at all (I thought it was a true story of professional cycling but it's a story) - you don't have to love cycling to love this film. We watched it as a family one evening and were absolutely captivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Away [DVD]
Breaking Away [DVD] by Peter Yates (DVD - 2010)
6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews