Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downloaded the free Kindle version - great for commuting
I downloaded this to my phone as a commuting read and it was perfect.
Great insight into being a writer with many different viewpoints all broken into easily digestible chunks perfect for trains, tubes and buses.
If you are interested in being a professional writer, or blogger this book will really help you understand what is involved and how to do it...
Published on 6 July 2012 by Mr. Albert M. Hickey

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average read
It gave me some good advice but most of it is average stuff you can find elsewhere. worth the read though for the price.
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by SarahLJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downloaded the free Kindle version - great for commuting, 6 July 2012
By 
Mr. Albert M. Hickey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this to my phone as a commuting read and it was perfect.
Great insight into being a writer with many different viewpoints all broken into easily digestible chunks perfect for trains, tubes and buses.
If you are interested in being a professional writer, or blogger this book will really help you understand what is involved and how to do it successfully from people who make a living at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average read, 16 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
It gave me some good advice but most of it is average stuff you can find elsewhere. worth the read though for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just after reading a few parts this is easy to follow and an pleasure to read, 8 July 2014
By 
J. Rainbow (Wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
Just after reading a few parts this is easy to follow and an pleasure to read. It's just a few short pieces of advice from writers but it's helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Great, 17 April 2014
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
“Each writer only knows one set of truths, and those things are only true for that particular writer . . .”

Write Good Or Die is a collection of writing articles from a selection of published and unknown authors. The advice and subjects vary, as does their relevance. There’s no structure to the book: no unifying themes or thoughts or overarching point. It’s merely a mass of articles—some good, some bad—much like Lawrence Block’s Telling Lies but without the consistency, intelligence and wit of that book.

Much of the advice is obvious or clichéd and most aspiring authors will have already read or learned it elsewhere. However, a few pieces of gold can be found amongst all the rubble. Plus it’s free and a quick read, so it’s worth checking out. Just don’t expect for it to change your outlook on writing, or unlock a secret key to success.

Download it, skim it, then delete it and move on to something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Revelations, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
This was just a collection of what looked like blog posts and at times annoying personal statements. I got sick of the continuous praise for Stephen King, so what if he's one of America's most prolific writers, he's hardly Shakespeare. No new revelations revealed here and most of what was said has been said so many times before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some good articles, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
Some good articles but others were tedious and not very enlightening It's a while since I read it so can't think of anything else to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
Oh I loved this book! Very witty a nd insightful and drew lots of positives from it and stopped making sillyish mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Material for Writers, 5 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. T. Beaton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
I found "Write Good or Die" and interesting read that covers a lot of ground on the subject of becoming a self published author and as I am entering this field for the first time, the work was incredibly useful.

There are a lot of articles in here, most from different authors each giving their own anecdotes and points that they found workable for them. It seems to be such a varied field with no sure fire method to success and so this is probably the only worthwhile and workable approach that can be taken with such material.

Did I learn something from it - yes. The articles on creating a premise for the book that can be given whenever talking about what I am currently writing were specifically what I most appreciated and learned from reading this. There were a few in there that covered "just write dammit" and letting it flow that I also enjoyed. There were other articles in there that I also found equally interesting - on agents and the hiring or not hiring of them, what self publishing has meant for the book world and that I am not the only person out there that has an urge to tinker with work I've already done.

The only down side is that some articles of it are contrary to others, though I suppose that is always going to happen when you have so many contributors from so many different backgrounds.

At the end of the day its advice, and in closing Scott Nicholson even covers that if you don't like, don't take it which is only fair enough. Plus its free, so if you didn't like the advice, what did you really lose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad summary, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad summary of the life and demands of writing. But I have to say, although I quite enjoyed reading it at the time, I really am not sure I learned anything - I realise that is subjective, but I think it tried to cover an awful lot of ground, and perhaps I am still out of breath and wondering what I was chasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a read, 20 April 2012
This review is from: Write Good or Die (Kindle Edition)
A lot of good articles to pick out and refer to more than others. A useful reference, but will largely depend on where you are in your career. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Write Good or Die
Write Good or Die by Jonathan Maberry
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews