Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars complicated teen life.
If it wasn't enough that Jean (aka Jinx) Honeychurch is an accident magnet, she was born in a thunderstorm, or that her mother is a pastor or that she's from Iowa, but she's had to leave home to go to New York because of a stalker. Her relatives are wealthy and live in a big house. They have a daughter about the same age as Jinx, Torrence (aka Tory, but she's trying to...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by Wyvernfriend

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars funny and light
it was not as good as her other books however i did like this book very much. though i would not read it again it was very funny and would recommend it to some of my friends who are into this kind of book.
Published 22 months ago by Marissa Boeijinga


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars complicated teen life., 11 Oct 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jinx
If it wasn't enough that Jean (aka Jinx) Honeychurch is an accident magnet, she was born in a thunderstorm, or that her mother is a pastor or that she's from Iowa, but she's had to leave home to go to New York because of a stalker. Her relatives are wealthy and live in a big house. They have a daughter about the same age as Jinx, Torrence (aka Tory, but she's trying to leave that nickname behind) who has fallen into some bad habits. Including black magic.

Jinx has to try to make new friends, work out what the gorgeous Zack wants, and try to stop her cousin from harming her, and everyone around her, that and try to work out how to use her own powers of witchcraft.

It's fun, light and a very quick read. Typical Meg Cabot fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Meg Cabot!, 18 Jan 2009
By 
S. Sweeting (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jinx
Being a Meg Cabot fan, when I first picked up this book I had high expectations. I was definitely not disappointed. The lead character (Jean), as in many other Meg Cabot books, is someone that teenage girls can really relate too. However this book isn't like a normal "mean girls", boy meets girl book; Cabot somehow mixes the supernatural into the story to create an interesting and exciting turn of events.

You never know what is going to happen next in this book and for me that is a sure sign of a great author. If you enjoy other books by Meg Cabot you are in for yet another treat.

If you liked this then you'll like these - - -

Avalon High - Meg Cabot
Twilight Saga - Stephenie Meyer
Wicca / Sweep series - Cate Tiernan (Highly Recommended!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 July 2011
By 
L. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jinx (Paperback)
I love this book, and think it's one of Meg Cabot's best yet.
It's about a teenage girl named Jean Honeychurch. Everyone calls her Jinx, due to her clumsiness and bad luck. Coming from a house packed with siblings in the country, Jean is forced to move in with her Aunt, Uncle and cousins in New York to escape her stalking ex-boyfriend.
Jinx finds herself living a completely different lifestyle, where she gets lots more pocket money for much less work, and she lives in a spacious house with few people in it.
She was excited to see her cousin Tory again, because she hadn't seen her for about five years, but she discovers that Tory has changed dramatically, into a Goth-style girl, stick thin and plastered in make-up who believes that she is a witch.
Tory tries to get Jinx to join her coven of witches, but Jinx refuses, which causes Tory to get mad at her.
Tory also has a great dislike for Jinx because she 'stole' Tory's crush, cute guy-from-next-door Zack.
This book is brilliant, dark and full of magic. Some characters are really likeable, like Jinx and Chanelle, whilst others are really hateable, like Tory and Gretchen. I was engrossed in this book, and never wanted to put it down. The only thing you could improve on would be to write more books, and turn it into a series! Although it would be hard to think how to turn this book's ending into a new book. Oh well.
5/5, I've read it many times, and I'm sure I will read it again. Buy this book, especially if you like the rest of Cabot's teen girl books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 7 Sep 2007
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jinx
Jean, aka Jinx, is the most unlucky person ever to live. Jinx says this about herself: "If I didn't have bad luck, I wouldn't have any luck at all."

And that only gets worse when she arrives in New York.

After her ex-boyfriend begins stalking her, she moves from her little town in Iowa to New York City to live with her aunt and uncle. Her cousin, Tory, Jean quickly realizes, is not the same as she was five years ago, when they would climb trees together and swim in the river. On her first day in New York she sees Tory hanging out with her friends, drinking and doing drugs.

What Jean doesn't realize at first is that Tory thinks she's a witch.

So what was it that made Jean leave her home? What's up with Tory and this whole "witch" thing?

JINX is Mrs. Cabot's best paranormal book yet! Jean is so funny, klutzy, and naive that it's impossible not to love her! I just could not put this book down after I turned the first page! I was even laughing when I read the first paragraph! Yet another great book from Meg Cabot, as expected!

Reviewed by: Taylor Rector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic ! Lauren 15, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jinx (Kindle Edition)
A good little read for pre-teens , would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys stories about magic , enemies and love ! Happy reading :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jinx, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jinx (Kindle Edition)
This was 1 of the best books that I have read this year!! It has been a read!! I hope u will enjoy it as much as me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars funny and light, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jinx (Kindle Edition)
it was not as good as her other books however i did like this book very much. though i would not read it again it was very funny and would recommend it to some of my friends who are into this kind of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finished it in a day!! loved it that much!!, 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: Jinx (Kindle Edition)
Before i read jinx i hadn't read Meg Cabot before but my friend recommended her so i looked her up in the children's e-book section and found jinx as soon as i started it i couldn't put it down!!! i loved the main charecters. i felt i could relate to her as i am very clumsy!!! and if zack was real i'd really like to be friends (but not friends with benifits!!!) lol i would reccommend this book to any one within the ages range of 11+ i promise you will love this book as much as i have ir even more!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book! xx, 28 Jan 2008
By 
Cheryl Brassey "story lover" (Isle of Anglesey, North Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jinx
Jinx is a lovable small town girl in a big city. She's clumsy and hard on herself but completely brilliant at the same time. This book has lots of laughs, a great baddie (Jinx's cousin) an uber cool setting (New York) and a little magic thrown in. It's a great feel good read, with just enough supernaturalness (is that a word?)
Thanks again Meg!! go girl x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much too short!, 3 Oct 2008
This review is from: Jinx
Unfortunately I finished this in one sitting and was left looking at the page feeling frustrated. I really believe that this could have been made into a really long enjoyable book. Other than that, it was well written - in traditional Meg Cabot style! - and I really enjoyed it anyway!

Nicolle.x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jinx
Jinx by Meg Cabot
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews