Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good romp right up until the last 100 pages
I confess to buying this book mainly because so much of it was located in the Gilf Kebir, an area of Egypt which I know and is very close to my heart. But I also enjoy a good thriller.

The book starts off very well. The rather gory story of the transport of an unidentified object into the Western Desert by the priests of Old Kingdom Egypt is followed by a...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by A. Byrnes

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ending
I like the author's writing, and I greatly enjoyed his two previous books. This is in many ways a bigger work, and displays his very deep and thorough knowledge of ancient Egypt, as well as being an exciting and compelling chase thriller as the hero searches for perhaps the most famous - or notorious - of Egypt's lost relics, the Benben stone. My problem is the ending,...
Published on 18 Jun 2010 by Peter Smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good romp right up until the last 100 pages, 21 Nov 2009
By 
A. Byrnes "Andie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Paperback)
I confess to buying this book mainly because so much of it was located in the Gilf Kebir, an area of Egypt which I know and is very close to my heart. But I also enjoy a good thriller.

The book starts off very well. The rather gory story of the transport of an unidentified object into the Western Desert by the priests of Old Kingdom Egypt is followed by a switch to 1986 when a plane carrying an also unidentified cargo crashes in the same area. We then move to 2009 with the arrival of in Egypt of a female rock climber (Freya) to attend the funeral of her desert explorer sister who apparently killed herself. But it soon becomes clear that suicide may not have been the real cause of death. A bag discovered with a dead body by Bedouin near the Gilf Kebir area is delivered to Freya, in lieu of her sister, and this is the trigger for a series of violent events. The connections between these events and the subsequent meetings and action are labyrinthine. There are lots of car chases, threatened tortures, dramatic escapes and personal secrets revealed along the way. There's even an impromptu archaeological excavation at Abydos (don't read this bit if you're an archaeologist - your blood will run cold)

It is a good romp and the storyline mixes political wranglings from the time of the Iraq-Iran war, underworld arms and other unsavory dealings and CIA interests with a good dose of Egyptology and archaeology. The characters include our heroine the strong minded but guilt-ridden (and beautiful) rock climber Freya, our Egyptologist hero Flin (damaged but trying to make amends for his past) and a collection of goodies and baddies from intelligence agencies, the Bedouin and the underworld.

The story travels from Dakhleh to Cairo, Abydos and back to Dakhleh before heading out into the Western Desert and the Gilf Kebir. It was great to read the descriptions of the less salubrious areas of Cairo.

The characterization was okay. I didn't think that the relationships between the individuals aren't particularly well crafted and Sussman is rather better at action than tender and romantic moments (and the tender moments really were somewhat redundant). But I did like the twins, a great pair of characters who are both ghastly and revoltingly endearing at the same time, and the badies were wonderfully bad.

The real downside for me was the climax. We all know that the hidden oasis is going to be found, so I'm not giving much away there. The threads all come together here and it is a shame that it declined into a combination of the types of mythical fantasy that worked so well in Raiders of the Lost Ark and the Mummy. Those were both comedy-adventures, so the fantasy works well. But this is described as a thriller, albeit with the intriguing prospect of a lost oasis to be discovered. The descent into curses-made-real and magical stones was really a disappointment to me. If you don't mind your thrillers coloured with a dose of ancient Egyptian magic and sci-fi type "effects" then it might not bother you but it really spoiled the ending for me.

This was the first of Sussman's books I have read and I shall certainly give his The Lost Army of Cambyses a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific action-every-page thriller adventure - perfect escapism, 28 Sep 2009
By 
S. Cook (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Hardcover)
From the moment you open this book and see the maps of the the Egyptian desert and the enigmatic hieroglyphics, you know you are in for a treat. And then you turn over and are swept immediately into a savage sacrificial throat-cutting episode in the heart of the Great Sand Sea 3000 years ago... and you're off on an action-packed and gripping Indiana Jones style adventure featuring a contemporary archaeologist/Egyptologist, a heroine whose idea of fun is solo climbing up massive cliff faces, varied Bedouin elders, a very dodgy criminal with a penchant for imaginative murders (and a fear of cockroaches!) plus a spook or two, all drawn together throughy a long-lost secret allied with a very modern threat. It's cinematic in feel as it whisks the reader from scene to scene, the action is unrelenting with plenty of in-the-nick-of-time escapes and near misses, and the climax is truly inventive and edge-of-the-seat exciting. The background knowledge is pretty impressive too but this isn't the kind of book where you need to concentrate hard on a complicated history or it doesn't make sense. It's much more fun than that! And definitely a book you won't want to put down until you've finished. It would make a brilliant stocking-filler pressie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost wonderful, 11 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Paperback)
After reading Paul Sussman's totally brilliant and hugely compelling Last Secret of the Temple, I was hoping that this new novel would be even better, but it's actually a bit of a let-down. It's very good, and if you want to read a thriller in the Dan Brown tradition it's certainly recommended. But although Hidden Oasis starts well, the denouement doesn't quite hack it, and at the end it all tends to fizzle out. I don't want to write a spoiler of a review, but I'm wondering if the ending was imposed on Mr Sussman by his publishers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ending, 18 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Paperback)
I like the author's writing, and I greatly enjoyed his two previous books. This is in many ways a bigger work, and displays his very deep and thorough knowledge of ancient Egypt, as well as being an exciting and compelling chase thriller as the hero searches for perhaps the most famous - or notorious - of Egypt's lost relics, the Benben stone. My problem is the ending, which is simply unbelievable on every level, almost descending into farce. This is both in terms of the hero's actions - having almost escaped from certain death in a collapsing valley, he then decides to run back into it to try to rescue somebody who minutes earlier ordered his execution, for no reason that makes the slightest bit of sense - and in what happens to the landscape, which is not simply unlikely but physically, geologically and geographically impossible. That was disappointing, hence only three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant page turner, 25 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Platt, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Kindle Edition)
Paul Sussman's third novel The Hidden Oasis is an excellent page turning romp. From start to finish I have really enjoyed this. He writes so convincingly about the settings and characters that from the moment you dip into the book at any time you are immediately transported to the steaming Egyptian desert. I enjoyed it so much that I am going to continue immediately onto his next novel which has just come out, The Labyrinth of Osiris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable story but pornographic violence, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Paperback)
I put the book down for two weeks after a particularly sickening episode. The story was just good enough to pull me back eventually. But I wish I hadn't started it. Now I have images in my head that I wish were not there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Letdown, 4 May 2011
By 
Mr. John Gray (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed trmendously Paul Sussman's previous book, The Last Secret Of The Temple. I was looking forward to reading this and had set aside time to read it quickly. However, it is a great disappointment. Unlike his previous book, it is full of unnecessary swearing, unnecessary violence and too many coincidences to be believable. Examples of what I mean by coincidences being 'just in the nick of time', 'missed by inches', and countless tales of things happening when 'all is lost'. This is a continuing theme throughout the second half of the book. Also, if the end was not so dire, it would be laughable. Poor and disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing something, 15 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Paperback)
I enjoyed Sussman's last two novels with the Egyptian detective Khalifa, and it's a shame that he's not followed through with him (okay, he does make an appearance here, but he's not a main character).

So Sussman has to introduce us to new characters but spends far too long in plots and episodes and at over 600 pages the book is far too long. And I don't remember such cliched characters and events as depicted here.

Bring back Khalifa - there's more to develop here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the hidden oasis, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Paperback)
A riverting read right the way through could not put it down once I started reading really great thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hidden Oases is an excellent book, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Oasis (Paperback)
Brilliant Writer who knows Egypt well. Can recommend Egypt fans to read this book along with Sussman's Lost Army of Cambyses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews