Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naval Assualt- A landlubbers view!
Naval Assualt - A land lubbers view!

I bought this blind from Amazon, nothing ventured nothing gained! It is ok, and kinda fun. It feels and looks like a budget title, not that this is all bad. I haven't played many submarine games for the 360 so it is hard to compare!

The controls are easy to pick up and the manual is functional, if not a bit hard...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by Mr. S. Fleming

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money
I usually enjoy military sims like this, but this game is such a drudge, it takes the fun out of everything. Firstly, the controls are horrible - you can only dive to two depths in your submarine and the other controls are sluggish and a mess.

The main problem however (apart from the horribly murky graphics which mean you have to turn your brightness on your TV...
Published on 23 Nov 2010 by Mr. S. J. Leicester


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money, 23 Nov 2010
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I usually enjoy military sims like this, but this game is such a drudge, it takes the fun out of everything. Firstly, the controls are horrible - you can only dive to two depths in your submarine and the other controls are sluggish and a mess.

The main problem however (apart from the horribly murky graphics which mean you have to turn your brightness on your TV to the max to see anything) is the pacing. It may be realistic, but when it takes 10 minutes of dull underwater voyaging to reach your first target you just can't be bothered playing the thing.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naval Assualt- A landlubbers view!, 21 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. S. Fleming "Scotti36maroon" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Naval Assualt - A land lubbers view!

I bought this blind from Amazon, nothing ventured nothing gained! It is ok, and kinda fun. It feels and looks like a budget title, not that this is all bad. I haven't played many submarine games for the 360 so it is hard to compare!

The controls are easy to pick up and the manual is functional, if not a bit hard to read due to being written in fake handwriting type script. Maybe it is cos i am half blind without my glasses?!

If you do take the punge and buy this, do not expect too much. Keep an open mind and you submarine hatch closed! Not the other way about!

Enjoy and torpedos away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and Repetetive, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. R. Harper "StThrobber" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I don't know what possessed me to buy this game but it's the first and last time I will buy a game before I read a review.

The opening cut scenes looked promising, but then you go into the very basic tutorial which takes about 5 minutes.

The voice acting is fairly poor and the game itself has the look and feel of a game made on a very low budget.

The major sticking point with this game is that you need to complete the first mission with 5 stars to be able to move on to the next mission. I tried it on normal, then on easy and sadly I couldn't seem to get higher than 3 stars, and with that, my will to live gave out.

This is an arade game not a simulation, but endless linear repetition makes for a poor experience. Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dive, Dive, Dive!, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I think submarines are cool. The stealth, the peril of underwater, being under pressure (in more ways that one). I've wanted to play a submarine game for years, but due to not have an XBOX until recently and never owning (as yet) a decent gaming laptop, I've never had the chance. Until now.

If you like stunning graphics, pulse pounding action, real as real can be gaming, then frankly this game is not for you.

However, if you like a challenge, then you'll be all right.

The controls for the sub are easy to use. The HUB is well designed and informative. But with all things, read the instructions, it makes it easier.

Each level is short and punchy. You can tackle the mission anyway you like, but a word of advice. The stealth predatory approach is best, like your Sam Fisher underwater.

The simple thrill of sinking a ship with a well aimed torpedo and then disappearing undetected beneath the waves is something you'll struggle to get board with.

The graphics are simple, giving just enough to keep things interesting, but well done where they need to be. The ships and underwater obstacles are good, as is the submarine itself.

The voice over and story are basic and the in game dialogue is nothing to write home about and gets repetitive and somewhat annoying after awhile.

However, overall this is a good simple game, done well. The develops haven't bitten off more than they can do and have done a good job with what they have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old-school u-boat game, 8 May 2014
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For what the game is, it is great.

This is an arcade style u-boat shooter, the type of game I enjoyed as a kid but that no-one really makes anymore.

This is not a simulation game by any standards, the controls are quite simple and easy to manage.

It is not a complicated game, and why should it be ?

You can play it defensively in stealth and avoid combat as much as possible.

Or you can play it offensively and tactically destroy the enemy ships one by one.

For the most part the game allows you to choose your own style.

The controls and mechanics were reliable and consistent, although lacking a bit in polish.

Visually the game looks OK, not stellar by any means but I don't care that much about graphics.

The game offers a good variety of mission types throughout the campaign: interceptions, specific targets, etc.

True, it lacks depth compared to something like Battlestations Midway but that is not the aim of Naval Assault.

There is no other game like this for console, that focuses exclusively on u-boat combat.

Naval Assault is quite easy to get into and offers good-old shooter fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Naval Assault, 11 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Very frustrating on the New York Harbour Mission. Did some research and found that you DO NOT have to have five stars to move on, I was about to chuck it in the bin, could only get 4 stars. Her's what you do. Get your 3 or 4 stars, click A to continue, and on the Newyork Harbour screen, click the right D pad, there will be the next set of missions, North atalantic displayed, and off you go. A good mixture of aracde and sim. Would love there to be a proper sim for the Xbox, like Silent Hunter... on can only wish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars naval assualt, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Grharrison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game is very dissapointing, poor video, lacks instruction, amateur manufacture, be pleased to sell on if anyone will buy it would not buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neural Insult (Naval Assault - 505 Games), 14 July 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The only thing this game had going for it was...... pass. If you want to play sub-sim games stick with the Silent Hunter hunter set. It was the most boring game I have ever played since the Hobbit on the Sinclair ZX Spectrum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Loved playing this great graphics gets you right in the mood and well worth the money very impressed with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Game Review, 17 Mar 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The actual Gameplay itself aint exciting
But u have to try these games to find out what they r like
I would rate the Game 4 Possibly 5 out of 10 for the Gameplay
Same for the Graphics
I wouldnt Recomend it to anyone if they want a Action packed game as i found it a Bit too slow for my liking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Naval Assault: The Killing Tide (Xbox 360)
16.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews