Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FINN'S HOUSE IS STILL FULL OF SURPRISES
Like the Beatles double whammy of Rubber Soul & Revolver, Crowded House will forever be measured by the classic Woodface album and it's darker follow up Together Alone. Anyone expecting a re-run of earlier triumphs will be a tad dissapointed by Intriguer - there's no 'Weather With You' sunny singalong optimism and no obvious big singles to set the charts alight.
What...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by Mr. Christopher J. Welch

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a wallflower...
Disappointing. Whereas the magnanimous 'Time on Earth' - and pretty much everything released hitherto by Crowded House/ Neil Finn et al, has been Grade A sublime - evocative and beguiling; replete in crisp imagery, adroit chordal harmony, rich engineering, and rarely short of the most important quality of all - catchy songs - Intriguer just floats by without ... doing...
Published on 11 July 2010 by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Home Town Boys, 14 July 2010
This review is from: Intriguer (Audio CD)
Maybe a little bias on my behalf being from Neil Finn's home town Te Awamutu but being a fan of Crowded House for many years this is definately easy listening, usual clever lyrics but without the catchy tunes of their '90's heyday. It takes a bit of listening to get into the groove but once you're there you'll enjoy it. Looks like the family have been dragged in to with a couple of other Finn's getting a mention in the credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repeating Listening Will Take You Further, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Intriguer (Audio CD)
The first time that I played this CD, I thought 'what a dark and unjoyous affair it is'. I desperately wanted to like it after the poor 'Time on Earth' offering. So, I stuck with it and it started to unfold more and more with each listen. Some beautiful songs here in 'Amsterdam', 'Falling Dove' and 'Elephants', that all stand out for me. It's not 'Crowded House' as we know them but then it is not too far away from the 'Crowded House' formula of acoustic melodic well-crafted songs either. They've moved on after Paul Hester's premature death, but maybe Paul brought the humour and edge to the band that is slightly missing here. The CD takes time to fall in love with, and is not near their best but there is enough here to warrant continued rotations. A non-Crowded House fan may feel that this CD takes too much effort to love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguer indeed...., 15 Jun 2010
The second album from the new incarnation of the band is ten tracks that lead off with a familiar sounding opener 'Saturday Sun', it has all the hall marks of 'Don't Stop Now' from the last album and is a fuzzy sounding future favorite that is sure to feature on tours to come. The rest of the album although short at just 10 tracks is a mix of soft rock and clever ballad as you would come to expect from them, it's an album that feels familiar and that echo's previous work well with stand out tracks being 'Archers Arrows' and 'Twice If You're Lucky'. Not one just for fans but perhaps a new listener would be better advised to start earlier to get the best out of Crowded House (Together Alone or Woodface). The DVD is a well put together extra that has some nice performances in intimate settings that give the tracks more depth but I'm not sure it would be something that a casual fan would get allot out of as it's not the rousing live performances you get on tour with even the last 2 tracks taken from a modest Aukland gig that doesn't convey the energy they really have. Having given it a couple of watches it's also evident that the audio doesn't always match the video, it's something that irks me as I want honest example of live work not a tweaked production but a minor gripe.

A steady 7/10 as it's only ten tracks and sadly over all too soon, nothing ground breaking and perhaps more one for the collectors to add to the catalogue than to win new audiences but then perhaps Neil is done experimenting and that suits me for one just fine, it sure as hell ain't broke don't fix it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average album (from a CH fan), 15 Oct 2010
By 
A. Login (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intriguer (Audio CD)
After the excellent Time on Earth I was really looking forward to this album. I enjoyed it as a Crowded House fan, and there are a few highlights, but it hasn't grown on me like the last one (or any of the originals). Get it for the collection or for a complete mp3 mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching a boy grow into a man..., 6 Aug 2010
By 
C. Whyatt "Music Lover" (Wargrave, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first time I saw Neil, and the only time I met him, was when he played with Split Enz in London in 1976, replacing Phil Judd, which was a shock in itself. He was 18 and it showed.

He is now 52 and him and the lads (maybe not lads) have produced a beautiful, mature record that I love. Thanks men!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 3 Aug 2010
By 
Sharon Holmes "sharonrosa" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intriguer (Audio CD)
The first few times I listened to the album I just didn't click with it and thought it was very disappointing - to the point where I didn't play it for a week or so. Then, based on some of the excellent reviews I tried again and then, all of a sudden, realised it was fabulous. Now I can't stop playing it! Such a fantastic 'summer' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compared to what?, 9 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think some of the reviewers here are guilty of comparing the new Crowded House album to their other albums. In that case maybe you would only give it 4 stars as it doesn't have the huge, catchy hits of Woodface or Together Alone. However compared to all the new music out there this is sublime stuff. Most songwriters seem to run out of songs eventually and spend the rest of their careers dining out on a few hits they had in the 60s, 70s or 80s but Neil Finn seems be the musical equivalent of a perpetual motion machine, never running out of fuel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TO HAVE THEM BACK, 22 Jun 2010
By 
James N. Boyce (BURY ST EDMUNDS,SUFFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think on first listen Intriguer seems a little disappointing,but a few plays in it reveals it's charms.It's probably the least immediate of all the Crowded House albums,apart from Time On Earth,but once you give it a chance it's overall a strong edition to the Crowded House catalogue.Neil Finn is definitely one of the great songwriters of our times,and it's great his standards haven't dropped over his long career.Intriguer's best moments are up to his usual high level,they include the majestic Archer's Arrows,the film noir feel of Amsterdam,which has a gorgeous chorus,the folk/rock hybrid Falling Dove and the pop gem Twice,if you're lucky,but most of the rest is top notch too.My only negative thing about the whole project is that maybe the production could have been less fussy on some tracks,but thats just a minor quibble.I'll probably need more time to see where it stands next to there best albums,Temple Of Low Men and Together Alone,but it's a quality record.(It's more enjoyable than the overrated Woodface)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few gems but not as consistent as their first four albums, 20 Jun 2010
By 
R. Williams (Dorchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intriguer (Audio CD)
The good news is that Crowded House can still produce some beautifully crafted pop moments. Nowhere is this better demonstrated than in the two standout tracks: 'Twice if you're Lucky' and 'Amsterdam'. Both songs contain Neil Finn's knack of writing songs that seem as though they've always existed, while at the same time feeling wonderfully new. These songs are backed up by some lovely melodies in 'Even If' and 'Elephants', both of which could have been written by Paul McCartney in his heyday.

The texture of the album can at time seem a little disappointingly sparse. Although 'Saturday Sun', the new single is an exception, being full of good ideas and containing a genuinly enthusiastic performance from the band. There are also a few pleasant suprises; Sharon Finn's vocal on the lovely 'Isolation' being the most memorable.

On the downside, the album suffers from having a few too many songs that are pleasant but seem not to go anywhere. This has dogged a number of Neil Finn's Post-'Together Alone' albums and is best demonstrated here by 'Inside out', which sounds as though it was disgarded by Oasis.
Overall, a good album with some very good moments, but does not have the consistency of the first four Crowded House albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Intriguer (Audio CD)
The songs vary somewhat but that's the beauty of the album. It isn't quite the same as 'Woodface' but that's because they've moved on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intriguer
Intriguer by Crowded House (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews