Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars41
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2013
As a 40 year fan of Split Enz/Crowed House. I was a little disappointed with this offering. The tunes are pretty good, but it only contains 8 songs, and as a consequence it is very short listening cd. Still happy to have it in my collection tho.
Reccomended to all Crowed House fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
You may know Crowded House for their cheery, breezy hits and sparkly ballads - think of that as a mall. Intriguer takes you out of that mall, on a journey of the little hidden alleys, winding stairs, and murky corners of an ancient city. It's a slow stroll, not for the easily bored, but don't despair. Just look. See what's there, and you'll notice the little limestone statue, the intricate woodwork, the courtyard with flowers, and the homeless man. It's all part of the whole, and the music unfolds over time, becoming a friend like the city you live in.

Take your time then with Intriguer.
Sit down, listen lazily, over and over again, on a cloudy day, or after dinner with a glass of wine.

It won't rock your world, but it will definitely make it a nicer place to live in.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2010
The good news is that Crowded House can still produce some beautifully crafted pop moments. Nowhere is this better demonstrated than in the two standout tracks: 'Twice if you're Lucky' and 'Amsterdam'. Both songs contain Neil Finn's knack of writing songs that seem as though they've always existed, while at the same time feeling wonderfully new. These songs are backed up by some lovely melodies in 'Even If' and 'Elephants', both of which could have been written by Paul McCartney in his heyday.

The texture of the album can at time seem a little disappointingly sparse. Although 'Saturday Sun', the new single is an exception, being full of good ideas and containing a genuinly enthusiastic performance from the band. There are also a few pleasant suprises; Sharon Finn's vocal on the lovely 'Isolation' being the most memorable.

On the downside, the album suffers from having a few too many songs that are pleasant but seem not to go anywhere. This has dogged a number of Neil Finn's Post-'Together Alone' albums and is best demonstrated here by 'Inside out', which sounds as though it was disgarded by Oasis.
Overall, a good album with some very good moments, but does not have the consistency of the first four Crowded House albums.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The artwork on their albums never fails to intrigue...

Crowded House have grown up since their earlier recordings. The work is a little more serious but is still unmistakeably there own special brand of music.

It is a solid album, with some nice melodies and good songwriting. However, there isn't a song here to conquer the globe, such as 'Weather With You', although all the tracks are enjoyable in their own right.

As albums go, not a classic, but very good by any standard and worthy of investigation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
Well....
where to start,having seen them recently in Aberdeen I couldn't wait for this release.
Having enjoyed the farewell note to Paul Hester in Time on Earth the boys have returned again with an absolute classic.
I've heard it about 5 times now and it just gets better and better,fantastic playing by all-even the artwork is top notch

I love the fact it's around 40minutes long...gorgeous lyrics - music and bang to the point.
I listened to Revolver by the Beatles this morning and then stuck this on.....mind blowing,forget Oasis and the pretenders - if the Beatles were still creating music today - it's hard to see how they could even match Mr Finn on this form.
Now I must go and grow my moustache in tribute.
Get this right away
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
The first time that I played this CD, I thought 'what a dark and unjoyous affair it is'. I desperately wanted to like it after the poor 'Time on Earth' offering. So, I stuck with it and it started to unfold more and more with each listen. Some beautiful songs here in 'Amsterdam', 'Falling Dove' and 'Elephants', that all stand out for me. It's not 'Crowded House' as we know them but then it is not too far away from the 'Crowded House' formula of acoustic melodic well-crafted songs either. They've moved on after Paul Hester's premature death, but maybe Paul brought the humour and edge to the band that is slightly missing here. The CD takes time to fall in love with, and is not near their best but there is enough here to warrant continued rotations. A non-Crowded House fan may feel that this CD takes too much effort to love.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
Have been a Crowded House fan for a long time and have loved all of their music (studio albums, live albums and dvds) but this is easily the most staid thing that the band has released.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
The second album from the new incarnation of the band is ten tracks that lead off with a familiar sounding opener 'Saturday Sun', it has all the hall marks of 'Don't Stop Now' from the last album and is a fuzzy sounding future favorite that is sure to feature on tours to come. The rest of the album although short at just 10 tracks is a mix of soft rock and clever ballad as you would come to expect from them, it's an album that feels familiar and that echo's previous work well with stand out tracks being 'Archers Arrows' and 'Twice If You're Lucky'. Not one just for fans but perhaps a new listener would be better advised to start earlier to get the best out of Crowded House (Together Alone or Woodface). The DVD is a well put together extra that has some nice performances in intimate settings that give the tracks more depth but I'm not sure it would be something that a casual fan would get allot out of as it's not the rousing live performances you get on tour with even the last 2 tracks taken from a modest Aukland gig that doesn't convey the energy they really have. Having given it a couple of watches it's also evident that the audio doesn't always match the video, it's something that irks me as I want honest example of live work not a tweaked production but a minor gripe.

A steady 7/10 as it's only ten tracks and sadly over all too soon, nothing ground breaking and perhaps more one for the collectors to add to the catalogue than to win new audiences but then perhaps Neil is done experimenting and that suits me for one just fine, it sure as hell ain't broke don't fix it :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
Maybe a little bias on my behalf being from Neil Finn's home town Te Awamutu but being a fan of Crowded House for many years this is definately easy listening, usual clever lyrics but without the catchy tunes of their '90's heyday. It takes a bit of listening to get into the groove but once you're there you'll enjoy it. Looks like the family have been dragged in to with a couple of other Finn's getting a mention in the credits.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)