Customer Reviews


724 Reviews
5 star:
 (417)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (72)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies - ever
This is one of my top favourite movies. Not only the plot is incredebly clever and intriguing, the photography is also stunning and one of the few movies where special effects actually add to the story rather than distracting from it.

In a nutshell, having discovered a way to break into other people's dreams to "steal" ideas, a group of...
Published 16 months ago by Daniela. G.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but strangely memorable
This is about a team who specialise in entering the dreams of others, and then manipulating them in this dream state into thinking they must do something when they wake up. The team are also capable of designing dreams which they then implant. For example, the main plot of this film is that a wealthy CEO has paid the team to invade the dream of his main business rival and...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by M. McManus


‹ Previous | 132 33 3473 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once or twice is not enough, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
First view: Fascinating - different. Second view: Fantastic - starting to get it. Third view: Look at the details - acting - cinematography. Fourth view: The story isn't bad either. Buy it and start your travel into the deeper levels of the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 3 Jan 2011
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Inception is easily one of the best films I've ever seen and it immediately falls into my top 5 of all time.

I saw it first at the cinema and I have to admit that on first viewing the first hour or so left me thinking 'what is this and when is this going to get interesting?' However, what became apparent later is that this film's ambition was so far beyond anything I'd ever seen before in terms of plot depth and complexity that a lot of explanation was needed in the first part to give viewers a chance of understanding what was going to happen. The nice thing is that on repeat viewings the first part of the film takes on new importance and you find yourself drawn in more and more as you attempt to understand the workings of the film better.

If you're a fan of Christopher Nolan I think you'll like this. His seemingly effortless control and manipulation of our perception of time is something to be marvelled at and somehow he manages to always keep very complex plot lines coherent.

If you're not familiar with the basic premise it's simple: Leonardo DiCaprio and his team are industrial espionage specialists whose method of extracting information involves stealing secrets from people via their dreams. As the method is explained to the viewer we learn that when in a dream a person's perception of time is altered. 10 minutes in a dream is equivalent to 1 minute in the `real world'. If you go into a dream within a dream, 10 minutes in the new dream layer is equivalent to 1 minute in the layer above and so on. This concept is central to the story and also gives the story its most poignant moments as we learn it possible for people to actually spend whole lifetimes in a dream world, something that comes into play later. If you die in a dream you generally wake up to the next dream layer above or back into the real world. Sometimes dreamers lose the ability to distinguish between the real and the dream worlds and again this plot line is used to amazing effect in the film.

The latest mission attempted by DiCaprio's team involves the `inception' (planting) of an idea. Stealing information is one thing but inception is something different entirely that certainly hasn't been carried out and is definitely illegal. For an idea to `take', the target has to feel genuinely inspired and not feel the idea has simply been given by someone else whether in a dream or not. The team needs to go deeper than ever into layers upon layers of dreams to be able to effectively plant the idea as part of their mission. This involves changes to their usual mission protocol in that they need to use heavy sedatives to keep all these layers of dreaming stable for long enough for them to pull off the job. The one down side is that in this state is that if you die you can end up in a dream limbo - not able to wake to the `real world'.

This just scratches the surface of the plot and yes, if you miss a few minutes of the film you'll probably be lost.

At this point I have to remark that some of the other reviews have been utterly unfair of this film. Some 1 star reviewers complain that they had to remain switched on for the entire length of the film to understand it. Well, b*gger me, a film that demands your complete attention - how dare it!!! Yes the film expects total viewer commitment but to give it 1 star seems totally unfair. I know everyone has their opinion but a 1 star rating is not fair unless you generally accept films are simple background noise that you can tune in and out of for a few minutes here and there and still expect to follow the plot. This is one of the most accomplished and ambitious plots you'll probably have ever seen so those reviewers have missed the point entirely. Others cite the `lack of plot' or the overuse of special FX. There is 1 scene where a Parisian street folds back on itself - 1 scene. Other action scenes show how the gravitational effects of the dream layer above (someone falling for example) affect the layers lower down by allowing weightlessness or strange gravity shifts. This is all excellently done and is completely necessary to the plot, it's not trying to cover up weak plot at all; it beautifully illustrates the plot and lends the film a sense of wonder unlike anything else. Still others complain that we don't learn enough about how the dream technology works. What?!?! We learn it was a military training technology, what more do you want, schematics? It's sci-fi; sit back and enjoy the ride.

There are elements of the Matrix in here to which the film owes a debt but it has taken these elements and added new and interesting twists to make something entirely new - a true piece of creativity.

I'm not saying the film 100% is perfect either. A lot of explanation is needed and is given so we can understand - it's time consuming but stick with it. Some of it is confusing; a lot of it becomes clearer on repeat viewings. Ultimately the whole mission is actually highly illegal and of very questionable ethics for a client who actually seems quite ruthless yet we still come to care about the characters. But despite these minor shortcomings this film's strengths simply dominate the experience.

I bought this on bluray but to be honest it would be nearly as powerful on VHS as the story is so strong. Needless to say the picture is superb and so is the sound.

I have to make special mention of two characters Eames and Arthur (Tom Hardy and Jospeh Gordon Levitt respectively.) Both stellar performances and it was a surprise to see Levitt particularly as I'd not seen him in anything other than 3rd rock from the sun. Brilliant work from both these guys.

I'll leave it here otherwise I (and you) will be here all day. I've not even touched on other major plot line revolving around DiCaprio's character but I'll leave them for you to discover and enjoy. To sum up; if you have enjoyed Christopher Nolan's work so far and want something that's intellectually stimulating, deep beyond measure and effortlessly crosses genres such as action, drama, philosophy and the meaning of it all whilst being something completely different to anything you've ever seen before go for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dream is real, 3 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
After all the critics praising, family and friends encouraging, for new year's party, we all watched this, some not seen it before, others once or twice. Firstly, to start off, it nearly offers everything anyone could want. Children will be pleased with the cool sci-fi effects, the gravity free fights and action. This can also appeal to older "children". Whilst being full of action, there's not much violence, a bit of fist fighting and shooting but nothing scary or too traumatic for kids around the age of 12. It also offers the paradox question of infinity and the real world. This is a movie that makes you think, nor more so than at the end, not going to spoil it though. Thirdly, the acting is convincing and the story capturing, which anyone more interested in that area will enjoy.

I was astounded by it. Like the matrix before it, it is a film that leads you to question reality, the film is an inception itself. The cast is convincing, though dicaprio is stunning as a con man that invades peoples dreams. The effects are spectatcular, leading to the belief of the unreal and dream logic.
No more so when the inception works, and the ending that again leads to the original question.

This is as much a movie as a philisophical question, put onto a disc. The Dark Knight is one of my all time favourite films, and when the same director makes this is true gold.

Story: 10/10 (if you grasp it enough that is)
Graphics: 9/10
Originality: 10/10
Enjoyment: 8/10 (you can't understand the plot if you come in half way through and even for some right from the beginning)

Overall: 9/10 The story perhaps beyound this age and time to understand, and advanced for some people, the action more than makes up for it, leading to the enjoyment of the visuals, or the enjoyment of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply ... the movie of 2010, 2 Jan 2011
I'm not sure if Christopher Nolan was expecting too much from the audience to fully understand 'Inception' or even if it was in his plan for us to fully understand the whole plot. I think he's created a very clever movie which allows the viewer to make their own mind up at the films conclusion. A wonderful change to some of the tripe where studios think they need to spoon feed the audience with the complete plotline, as the audience aren't the brightest bulbs in the room!!

As the plotline is so complex I'll stick with the bare bones of it, the film centres around Cobb (DiCaprio) whose job involves using peoples dreams to extract their secrets for a client, however Cobb is given an alternative job to plant an idea in a target using his dreams. This is called 'Inception' and is supposedly impossible.

As Cobb assembles his team we thankfully are introduced to the character of Ariadne (Page) who sort of acts as a tool for the audience to understand what the team are trying to achieve, what their jobs are and the consequences of the task failing.

'Inception' hits many genres as a film, there's sci-fi, thriller, heist, dreams to name a few. The visuals used in the film are some of the most creative I've seen in a movie but if you're dealing with dreams then normal day to day is not what you'll find.

The acting performances are perfection as each actor is superb in their role especially DiCaprio (I think this is his best role to date). Of course Nolan deserves a big rap for pulling all of this together and so successfully too, if there's any justice a nomination for Best Director at the Oscars at the least would be fully deserved.

Nolan should be congratulated for his courage to entertain whilst not forgetting that a movie can challenge an audience too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, appalling DVD quality., 31 Dec 2010
By 
D. Dove (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As has been mentioned here a few times, the DVD quality of this film is appalling by any standards. Every moving character appears with a nice pixelated outline. Shameful way to market the accompanying Blu-Ray disc, which I have heard is, as you'd expect, much better. Very disappointing, given how good the film is (the star rating is purely for the film itself.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable film, remarkably poor quality DVD, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The film is a must-see no matter what.
However, if you can, purchase a blu-ray copy and watch that. The DVD copy is an appalling version, marred by the poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking and Brilliant, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A gripping and thrilling film. Although it has a many layered plot, it is not difficult to understand if you possess any semblance of intelligence. The beginning is confusing but is explained satisfactorily later in the movie. The ending is among the best I have ever seen; a lovely twist and very thought provoking; in fact, it had me in tears, though judging from the looks i received from others in the cinema, this was not the intended reaction.
This film really makes you question your knowledge of the world deeply, and i would recommend it to anyone interested in philosophy.
Inception is enjoyable, not only on an intellectual level, but for the fast plot, stunning special effects, and the gripping nature of the movie as a whole. I didn't want it to finish, and cannot wait to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not THE best but there can only be one best, 29 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought the blu ray version and the visual quality of the movie is excellent, the storyline while not the best is still one that
keeps your mind on it's toes i.e. what dream level are you on / in / at. and then theres the ending (is he or isn't he ?,
if you've seen it you know what i mean) maybe it just requires too much thought process for some people to handle lol

anyway for my 2p's worth i thought it was a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourite films, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Bluestar001 (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Went to see this in the cinemas when it came out i was absolutley blown away by this masterpiece!

other reviews say its long and drawn out but its all for a reason so pay attention!!

brilliant film!
xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream a little dream inside a dream inside a dream of me, 26 Dec 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Dark Knight director Christopher Nolan moves away from Gotham for the moment to bring us a different kind of city. One of the mind.

Cobb is a professional industrial thief. Of a slightly unusual kind. He can get into people's minds via dreams specially constructed for them, and via these dreams he can recover their hidden secrets.

Supported in this role by some very capable associates, Cobb nonetheless has secrets of his own. And cannot go back to his home country.

He's hired by a businessman to do the opposite of what he usually does. In this case, plant an idea into somebody's mind. Something called Inception. Which many say can't be done. But Cobb knows differently. Although he won't say why.

Recruiting some new players for his team, Inception is on. Have you ever woken up whilst dreaming - or so you thought? - and then found it's still a dream? Dreams work like that here. On different levels. Inside each other. And those run at different speeds.

And like every classic caper movie, complications ensue leaving you wondering if the plan will succeed or not.

This is one of those films you have to judge for yourself. It strives to very clever and thought provoking. And some will think that it more delivers in that respect. As you can see from the variety of ratings the reviewers here give it [those who review the product rather than the delivery time that is] it is one that divides opinion, and thus it's best judged for yourself.

But to go by my rating, I think it's well worth the look.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English Hungarian Polish

Subtitles: English Arabic Greek Hebrew Hungarian Polish Portugese Romanian

The second disc has a seemingly sparse but actually quite decent batch of extras:

A forty four minute long documentary about dreams. Featuring contributions from experts on the subject plus cast and crew from the film it's absorbing viewing.

Thirty seven minutes worth of the film's scores.

The cobol job, a motion comic that runs for fifteen minutes and forms a prequel to the film, telling of events that led to what happens in the opening scene.

A selection of concept art.

A selection of the posters for the film.

Roughly five minutes worth of the trailers for it.

And roughly eleven minutes worth of tv adverts for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 3473 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010]
Inception (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2010] by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2010)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews