Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Freedom
Awareness, recognition and acceptance and understanding of the purpose of those qualities within the richness of our whole selves that we have been trained to believe are negative and must be suppressed, enables a totally achievable transformation into true self empowerment in the hands of these three masters of their art. Beyond self and into the world, an inspirational...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by Pat Mason

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ode to Western living
Whilst this book as some enlightening gems hidden in there you have to trawl through a large number of dull anecdotes to find them. Whatever Deepak Chopra's credentials are he is not a good writer. Kind of like listening to that college lecturer that tries to be hip or listening to that smug uncle at the dinner table. I decided to skip the first part altogether. The...
Published 20 months ago by Vanessa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Freedom, 11 Oct 2010
Awareness, recognition and acceptance and understanding of the purpose of those qualities within the richness of our whole selves that we have been trained to believe are negative and must be suppressed, enables a totally achievable transformation into true self empowerment in the hands of these three masters of their art. Beyond self and into the world, an inspirational and encouraging easily understandable book full of straightforward and practical instruction as to how we as individuals, can permanently change our relationship with ourselves and others. The aim is not to be perfect, but to be authentic and congruent. Thank you all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ode to Western living, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst this book as some enlightening gems hidden in there you have to trawl through a large number of dull anecdotes to find them. Whatever Deepak Chopra's credentials are he is not a good writer. Kind of like listening to that college lecturer that tries to be hip or listening to that smug uncle at the dinner table. I decided to skip the first part altogether. The remaining two parts are okay. Someone said it reads like an infomercial and I agree. Some books are sharp and to the point so much so that the pages practically turn themselves. This wasn't one of them. Definitely not a page-turner. However, it contains a good message with some examples about the importance about not being in denial about your true drives and nature, which is a good message for those living in the West- where the shadow is probably the largest and ugliest in the world.Another good book on the Shadow Self is one by that name written by Christine Breese. It's a lot more intimate, radical and delves into the metaphysical a bit deeper. If that's your cup of tea, it will definitely be more of an inspiring and intriguing read than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book changed my life, 25 Dec 2011
By 
Y. C. Sinder (south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Three well known authors offer refreshingly profound and compassionate spiritual insights into why our dark destructive or "shadow " sides exist and thrive and how and why they compell self loathing, self destructive behaviour and addictions in so many of us. We are encouraged to embrace and love both the light and the dark sides of ourselves completely in order to experience and attain self love, self acceptance and spiritual growth. I particularly found Dr Chopra's more " academic" approach extremely useful and authentic. He includes references to both Freud and Jung's theories of human behaviour which ,in turn, gives a more all rounded critical approach to the existence of our shadow sides and their impact on our individual lives . All three authors do share their own valuable perspectives but I found Dr Chopra's stance less one sided and
"new agey" in my opinion. If you face or have faced your own self esteem issues and addictions or have loved ones who have self destructed and you want a deeper understanding as to why,then this is the book for you. Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book to read more than once, 17 Jun 2012
I spent a long time trying to get into this book as there always seemed more important things to do. When I did, it seemed that the thing that was keeping me from it, was the concept of the shadow that this book was written to challenge. I found Dr Chopra's take very methodical, based in part on his science and vedic background. Ms Ford's was a bit wishy washy in places but had a strong undertone. Ms Williamson's was motivating but I can see how it would possibly not gel with the materialistic set who were coming from this topic from a pure Jungian perspective. I liked it and will read it again, especially Dr Chopra's section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bringing it home, 13 Aug 2010
By 
jeffrey (colchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An exelent book for those who want to move foreward and reclaim there projected and repressed selves on the journey to wholeness. My only fault find is that the second part of the book should have been presented first to give the reader a better understanding of what Jung meant by "The shaddow" Otherwise This book is top class for the seeking spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the shadow effect, 23 Oct 2011
the shadow effect is a must for anyone on the spiritual path or who is contemplating such. It put a new and refreshing perspective, and enabled me to grow spiritually. Thoroughly recommended. George
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the shadow effect, 30 Jun 2010
This book give insight into loving the "sum total" of yourself ie:what we through the eyes of the world categorize as good and bad, it's a liberating, well written book with three well known authors giving slightly different perspectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shadow Effect, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book, very inspiring and practical. For those in search of understanding themselves and others, the language is accessible and the three authors complement each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shadow Effect, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Effect: Illuminating the Hidden Power of Your True Self (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book to work with!Written in a very gentle and open way.Highly recommended for anybody,who wants to help themselves,and the planet. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take your time to read it, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book that can change your whole outlook to life. Take your time reading it and don't make any hasty decisions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews