Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously not as bad as the critics lead me to believe, make your own mind up !
Now I watch alot of films and my taste is pretty varied, so I know a bad film when I see one and this is not one of them.
For it's genre it's actually pretty good, it's nice to see something a bit different in the mix.
I really don't know what it's critics were expecting, it's a rom-com, they weren't going for an oscar ,it is what it is and if you like romantic...
Published on 23 April 2011 by mummy spoon

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Goes out with a whimper
Milo, (Butler), is an ex-cop whose gambling debts are catching up with him. When he gets the opportunity to drag his court shy ex-wife Nicole, (Aniston), to the police he jumps at the chance.
The first third of the film consists of Milo's efforts to catch Nicole and her trying to get away. Here is where things are at their strongest. Aniston's ballsy journalist is a...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously not as bad as the critics lead me to believe, make your own mind up !, 23 April 2011
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now I watch alot of films and my taste is pretty varied, so I know a bad film when I see one and this is not one of them.
For it's genre it's actually pretty good, it's nice to see something a bit different in the mix.
I really don't know what it's critics were expecting, it's a rom-com, they weren't going for an oscar ,it is what it is and if you like romantic comedies you will love it, if not then why would you watch it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light & easy, highly enjoyable romp!, 26 April 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Nicole Hurley (Jennifer Anniston - The Break Up) plays a reporter that skips out on a court appearance to follow up on a lead for a story that can't wait; by skipping bail she puts herself in the the sights of debt-riddled bounty-hunter Milo Boyd (Gerard Butler - 300), who just happens to be her ex-husband. Thinking it will be a cake-walk he soon learns that there is more to the story Nicole is investigating and she might just need his help. Milo needs to figure out where his loyalties lie; with his job? Or with the woman he loved?

The Bounty Hunter is an easy watch, full of comical moments. Both Butler and Anniston suit the characters perfectly with some fairly exciting on-screen chemistry. Christine Baranski plays Anniston's lascivious mother brilliantly and has some classic lines that will have you smiling. Jeff Garlin also pops up as Butler's boss and provides some decent humour.

All-in-all this isn't going to win any Oscars, but it's a great film that makes for easy-watching. I recommend this for a light-hearted enjoyable rom-com with some classic moments. A must-see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Film, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bounty Hunter [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great, fun film. Jennifer Aniston is funny and Gerard Butler is great as her 'annoying and childish' ex, but there are couple of moments when you get to see them dig a little deeper (for one, when he realises she is actually upset at a particular point) and makes you really cheer for both of them and look forward to the happy ending which you know is coming, but which is no less satisfying for that fact. Grab some goodies, snuggle into the sofa and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Goes out with a whimper, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Milo, (Butler), is an ex-cop whose gambling debts are catching up with him. When he gets the opportunity to drag his court shy ex-wife Nicole, (Aniston), to the police he jumps at the chance.
The first third of the film consists of Milo's efforts to catch Nicole and her trying to get away. Here is where things are at their strongest. Aniston's ballsy journalist is a strong & resourceful character who gives as good as she gets and Butler carries off Milo's casual cad persona with ease and at this point in the movie the two spark quite nicely.
Where the wheels come off is when the two team up to solve some silly plot involving a killer and stolen items from a police depository. The humour is dropped in favour of a serious crime story that frankly would have looked ridiculous in a 70's TV cop show but these days is simply insulting. All the chemistry between the two main protagonists is left behind and we are wrenched from amusing and likeable rom com to brainless drama.
The ending is risible and lazy. All the supporting parts are completely underwritten and left to just drift out of the story.
Ultimately both Aniston, who is usually very reliable, and Butler are left without anything to work with and come the end both look completely uninterested and bored.
Picture is fine and sound is little more than OK with little to work with and speech a little unclear.
Extra's are pitiful and a real bore.
A solid start with some funny one liners and a nice pace is all but forgotten come the lame excuse for an ending following a complete turnaround in direction for what should have been an amiable 90 minutes, (too long by the way), ends as a disappointing bore with little to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For the birds, 31 Aug 2010
I quite fancy Jennifer Aniston, so when my wife asked if I'd like to see this rom-com on DVD, I thought why not.

I wish I hadn't bothered (as did my wife, as I yawned through most of it).

OK it's not a terrible film, but the comedy was strained to say the least and overall it felt like a made-for-TV movie. I suppose if you fancy Gerard Butler (and I would imagine not many women don't), then the love angle stuff may make it worth watching.

Pleasant, fun and frivolous, this harmless comedy is not one I would go out of the way to watch, but may be just the ticket if you haven't got anything else to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful and boring!, 2 April 2011
I think the fact that the two leads were totally wooden and there was absolutely nothing going on on-screen, I mean there was more chemistry seen at the premiere photos than in the whole of the film. It was like watching paint dry!! I love Gerard Butler as much as the next person, but this is a true waste of time, and I found myself wanted to slap Jennifer Anniston, no wonder her career has not picked up since "Friends" - she was typically Rachael Green!!!! The storyline wasn't brilliant, a typical rom-com, but the two leads were awful!

Avoid this film, nothing funny or new, and an incredible lack of acting from both parties leaves you bored!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it, great product...speedy delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gerard Butler is simply God, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He is hilarious in this movie and you can see there is some Gerry Juice in there, loved it to bits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Funny!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this film what a great pairing Gerard Butler and Jennifer Aniston, I wasn't sure at first but as the film starts and the story progresses you can't help but enjoy it. There is a love story and it is so funny the combination is a winner. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars :/, 8 Jan 2014
By 
kmd89 (manchester) - See all my reviews
its an ok film, not as funny as i had been told and the story line wasn't the best either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bounty Hunter [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free]
The Bounty Hunter [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] by Andy Tennant (Blu-ray - 2010)
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews