Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


866 of 876 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please drink a cup of coffee before reading this review
This is an easy and enjoyable book to read - the kind that you can dip in and out of, picking up interesting tips along the way. For each topic, Wiseman discusses a number of research experiments (both his own and ones done by others) and then gives a number of concrete suggestions on how you can quickly implement these findings - although 59 seconds is often a stretch...
Published on 11 July 2009 by Julia Flyte

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Regret buying it, although it did do what it promised.
Really just wanted to say that most of the two and three star reviews on here resonated with me. I liked the scientific slant, but I found the '59 seconds' gimmick made the content pretty shallow. There was nothing really new for me and as I didn't really buy it as a self-help book, and more out of general interest, I was left bored by the book pretty quickly. It's...
Published on 28 May 2011 by Natalie


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

866 of 876 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please drink a cup of coffee before reading this review, 11 July 2009
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is an easy and enjoyable book to read - the kind that you can dip in and out of, picking up interesting tips along the way. For each topic, Wiseman discusses a number of research experiments (both his own and ones done by others) and then gives a number of concrete suggestions on how you can quickly implement these findings - although 59 seconds is often a stretch. And why the title of this review? Because one of the things I learned from reading this book was the fact that if you've just had a caffeinated drink, you are far more likely to be swayed by someone else's opinion!

The book is based on the premise that quick techniques can sometimes be surprisingly effective at helping us to change and explains (based on research studies) which ones work and which don't. Some examples that I found interesting were:
- a simple five day writing exercise that can lift your mood for several weeks (essentially a more structured gratitude diary)
- how spending money on experiences is a far more effective way to make yourself happy than spending it on things
- how punching a pillow to relieve anger actually increases your anger, while sitting quietly and thinking about how you benefited (or at least learned) from the experience has the opposite effect
- conversational techniques that can build instant rapport on a first date (the trick is to use topics that create intimacy)
- exercises to stimulate the unconscious mind that lead to better decision making
- simple tests to assess your child's emotional intelligence.

Like Quirkology: The Curious Science of Everyday Lives, the book also has lots of facts that seem to have been included just because they're interesting. So we learn that people with bumper stickers are more aggressive drivers, that having a photo of a baby in your wallet significantly increases the chance of it being returned if you lose it, that your initials can influence your life expectancy and that adding plants to an office increases the number of creative ideas that employees will have.

The chapter list gives a good indication of the subjects covered in the book:
1. Happiness
2. Persuasion
3. Motivation
4. Creativity
5. Attraction
6. Stress
7. Relationships
8. Decision Making
9. Parenting
10. Personality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summary of what is said in the book, 25 Oct 2011
If you don't want to buy this book, you can read this summary to get an idea of what is preached in the book.

When people can afford the necessities in life, an increase in income does not result in a significantly happier life. Part of the reasons is that we all get used to what we have very quickly.

Talking about traumatic experience does not help but writing does! This is because people tend to be more systematic solution based during writing.

You don't know what you've got till it's gone! It means you can re-create happiness by going out of the environment and entering it so that the joy of getting something first time re-appears.

Experiential purchase provides greater happiness.

If you want real retail therapy, help yourself by helping others.

In interview, likeability is more important than qualification and work experience.

Bystander effect - The more people who are around when a person is apparently in need of assistance, the lower the likelihood that any one person will actually help!

If you want maximum return for your investment (donation, act of favor etc.), ask for return favor quickly else recipient will forget it.

If you have a photo of a baby in your wallet, you are more likely to get it back if lost.

To achieve your aims and ambitions, there are four key techniques that will help you succeed: having the right kind of plan, telling your friends and family, focusing on the benefits, and rewarding yourself each step of the way.

Looking at greenery, plants etc. inspires creativity.

There is a strong link between anxiety and creativity. When people feel worried, they become very focused, concentrate on the task at hand, become risk-averse, rely on well-established habits and routines, and see the world through less-creative eyes. In contrast, when people feel at ease in a situation, they are more likely to explore new and unusual ways of thinking and behaving, see the bigger picture, take risks, and think and act more creatively.

To help reduce your heart rate and blood pressure in less than a minute, go online and watch a video of a cute animal.

Being in a group exaggerates people's opinions, causing them to make a more extreme decision than they would on their own. Depending on the initial inclinations of individuals in the group, the final decision can be extremely risky or extremely conservative.

People are far more likely to agree to a big request if they have already agreed to a small request.

People who are shown the options but then kept busy working on a difficult mental activity make better decisions than others do. When the going gets complex, the mind has only a limited ability to juggle a small number of facts and figures at any one time, and so the result is not so good. Instead of looking at the situation as a whole, the conscious mind tends to focus on the most obvious elements and, in doing so, can miss the bigger picture. In contrast, your unconscious mind is much better at dealing with the complex decisions that pervade many aspects of our lives.

People regret not doing something more than doing something wrong because in the former case, outcome what might have happened are many more compared to the latter.

Satisfier - stop once you found what you wanted.
Maximiser - carry on till you get the best deal.

Happiness is wanting what you have, not having what you want.

Praise children's efforts rather than their achievements.

People who visualize themselves taking the practical steps needed to achieve their goals are far more likely to succeed than those who simply fantasize about their dreams becoming a reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


236 of 248 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Research And Destroy, 22 July 2009
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Wiseman has journeyed into the badlands of self-help books with a train of porters carrying academic research on what actually does work when it comes to fulfilling all those rather grandiose goals(losing weight, finding (or indeed fighting as I first typed) the perfect mate, or becoming hugely rich and impossibly attractive). One effect of this is that he packs a lot more advice into the book because the researchers finish off rather quickly some of the wackier (but sadly ineffective) theories that are often used to pad out self-help manuals.

The book therefore has at least two uses. Firstly, it is amusing to see what does work and why it might work (one needs to be careful in assuming the rationales have the same degree of scientific rigour). Secondly, there is some very good advice in here if you want to deal with various problems. My favourites are smiling in front of the mirror with a pencil between your teeth (increases well-being) and the starting a difficult task so you get sucked into finishing it (defeats procrastination). Something that entertains and informs, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirkology Was No One Hit Wonder: Well Done Professor Wiseman!, 6 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. T. White (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most would agree that Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives was a brilliant book. So, given its strength, I bought 'Did You Spot The Gorilla' and was very disappointed by what felt like a rushed out book(let! of barely a 100 pages), and a poor distant cousin of Quirkology. Thus it was with some degree of hesitation, that I recently bought :59 Seconds...

And was I happy with it? Very much so. Professor Wiseman has definitely returned with gusto! 59:seconds is a book which proves that the man who wrote Quirkology had plenty more tricks up his sleeve. Although some have unjustly criticised his straying off course at times - insofar as when he has an interesting social experiment's results to hand, he cannot help himself, and slips same into the text - even when the accompanying pages may have less relevance to the results he's just disclosed. But I still say: interesting reading is interesting reading! And so what if the professor has seasoned his text with some liberal snippets of curiously entertaining information!? The book is all the better - not worse - for it.

In this most interesting & well written book, he seeks to find out if it's possible to change your life (from decision making and parenting to creativity, stress and relationships etc.) in the minimal of time? And, some 340 pages later, you'll be in no doubt that it is. It's clear that Professor Wiseman took no shortcuts in writing this book, which has some 27 pages of extensive reference notes; and is to be congratulated for producing arguably one of the best books on 'self help' ever written. On that note, Happiness Hypothesis: Putting Ancient Wisdom to the Test of Modern Science is another most brilliant book which takes a slightly different approach, but is also strongly recommended to you. Both books succeed in appealing to a wide audience, without being patronising, and do not labour readers with too much academic jargon etc.

Lastly, I am at a loss as to why at the time of writing this review, :59 Seconds has only 4/5 stars! It deserves far greater praise. Nonetheless, I very much look forward to what Professor Wiseman will publish next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, highly recommended..., 17 Feb 2011
I purchased this book after coming across a review for it online and noting that Derren Brown had endorsed it. I have spent quite a while reading self help books, book on NLP and Cognitive Behaviour Therapy. However, I was drawn to Derren Brown's quote of `A triumph of scientifically proven advice over misleading myths of self-help'. This quote alone sums up the book. The opening page is excellent and got me hooked straight away. I have never been one for reading and sometimes find it hard to get into a book with a more complex factual subject matter. But I have to say that this book is very clearly written and easy to follow.

I have always thought that the hardest thing for any human to do is to conquer their own mind. This book helps you understand and break down hard coded negative thought patterns in a way to produce positive results in your life. And best of all, it is not done in a wishy washy way - it is done using solid science and a slice of realism, followed by an incentive to take clear action and positive steps.

I have personally made book marks and notes all over the book and I keep it in my work bag as a reference point. I know this may be a little excessive but for me at this point in my life, it is just what I need to help me achieve the goals which lead me to the world of self help in the first place. Just to finish - I have to add that there is a subtle touch of humour within this book and overall it does not get too hard core but still remains very effective. I would highly recommend this book and see no reason to give it anything over than 5 out of 5. It depends on what you are looking for I guess but I'll be surprised anyone would be truly disappointed. Great price too! Hope this helps, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please drink a cup of coffee before reading this review, 9 May 2010
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is an easy and enjoyable book to read - the kind that you can dip in and out of, picking up interesting tips along the way. For each topic, Wiseman discusses a number of research experiments (both his own and ones done by others) and then gives a number of concrete suggestions on how you can quickly implement these findings - although 59 seconds is often a stretch. And why the title of this review? Because one of the things I learned from reading this book was the fact that if you've just had a caffeinated drink, you are far more likely to be swayed by someone else's opinion!

The book is based on the premise that quick techniques can sometimes be surprisingly effective at helping us to change and explains (based on research studies) which ones work and which don't. Some examples that I found interesting were:
- a simple five day writing exercise that can lift your mood for several weeks (essentially a more structured gratitude diary)
- how spending money on experiences is a far more effective way to make yourself happy than spending it on things
- how punching a pillow to relieve anger actually increases your anger, while sitting quietly and thinking about how you benefited (or at least learned) from the experience has the opposite effect
- conversational techniques that can build instant rapport on a first date (the trick is to use topics that create intimacy)
- exercises to stimulate the unconscious mind that lead to better decision making
- simple tests to assess your child's emotional intelligence.

Like Quirkology: The Curious Science of Everyday Lives, the book also has lots of facts that seem to have been included just because they're interesting. So we learn that people with bumper stickers are more aggressive drivers, that having a photo of a baby in your wallet significantly increases the chance of it being returned if you lose it, that your initials can influence your life expectancy and that adding plants to an office increases the number of creative ideas that employees will have.

The chapter list gives a good indication of the subjects covered in the book:
1. Happiness
2. Persuasion
3. Motivation
4. Creativity
5. Attraction
6. Stress
7. Relationships
8. Decision Making
9. Parenting
10. Personality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought a little, loved the book!, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Doncastrian lad (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
I bought the book having listened to Richard talking about it on Radio Four one morning. I found most of the facts interesting and concentrated on the ones that interested me the most. I found the tips both interesting, useful and practical. I've read a lot of the self help books and doubted the effectiveness of them, finding many being too airy-fairy and , frankly, classic cases of wishful thinking. It's a good book, buy it within the next 59 seconds. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Regret buying it, although it did do what it promised., 28 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really just wanted to say that most of the two and three star reviews on here resonated with me. I liked the scientific slant, but I found the '59 seconds' gimmick made the content pretty shallow. There was nothing really new for me and as I didn't really buy it as a self-help book, and more out of general interest, I was left bored by the book pretty quickly. It's obvious to me now that anything that says 'think a little' on the front, probably wasn't what I was looking for, but the promise of science reeled me in. I think I've learned my lesson!

I don't think I've ever read a self-help book before, so it's all the more suprising that most of the information in here, I'd heard before. Just bear in mind the reason why you're thinking of buying this, because I think it can be a dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 17 July 2009
By 
Mrs. Diana Dawson "Career Counsellor and Coach" (Edinburgh, GB United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book yesterday and read it last night - just couldn't put it down, which is pretty unusual for a book on research. Yes, some of the research I knew (which I should as an occupational psychologist!) but certainly not delivered in such a humorous, readable and interesting style. It provides lots of helpful tips around issues everyone faces in day to day life. The difference between this book and all those self-help mumbo jumbo ones, is that the tips given are quick and realistic to implement but the biggest and most important thing is that these are based on psychological research and therefore proven to make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Condensed and easy read, with self-fulfilling happy body language guide, 3 April 2010
The best thing about this book is it's condensed, focused and information dense style. Subjects from creativity, attraction, happiness, motivation, to persuasion are nicely broken down into clearly written chapters. Each chapter focuses on about eight significant factors for each theme. These factors are illustrated with lively case studies and made into to practical self-help advice. Errors of popular self help guidance, like visualizations, are also debunked or improved upon.

For example, in the chapter on 'happiness' you will learn how money is not important; the relative weights of nature vs nurture; how thought suppression is counterproductive; the power of writing things down; why experiences are better than materialism; tips on self-fulfilling happy body language and much more.

While the content of the book is not terribly original or deep; the readable and practical synthesis Wiseman has created more than makes up for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

59 Seconds
59 Seconds by Richard Wiseman
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews