Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Sharpe takes his riflemen into Napoleonic France
Described by Sharpe's creator Bernard Cornwell as his personal favourite amongst the series of novels, Sharpe's Siege is yet another class act.
Sharpe and his henchmen Harper and Frederickson are once more up against desperate odds - battling the old enemy for the first time on French territory as well as striving to make the best of a bad officer lot. The difference...
Published on 18 Dec 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Fine to read but poor quality copy (as indicated in all fairness).
Published 1 month ago by Merlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Sharpe takes his riflemen into Napoleonic France, 18 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Described by Sharpe's creator Bernard Cornwell as his personal favourite amongst the series of novels, Sharpe's Siege is yet another class act.
Sharpe and his henchmen Harper and Frederickson are once more up against desperate odds - battling the old enemy for the first time on French territory as well as striving to make the best of a bad officer lot. The difference this time is that it is the naked and naïve ambition of a Royal Naval captain and the treachery of a French sympathiser that puts Sharpe and his men in danger of their lives. Sharpe, a recently married man, is also in great fear for the well-being of his wife - from whom he has been separated by the powers-that-be just as she seems to have contracted a deadly fever from Sharpe's old mentor, Major Hogan.
Things are not looking good when Sharpe's riflemen are abandoned after a coastal hit and run raid on a fortress goes wrong, courtesy of the inept naval officer. Being set in 1813 with Britain facing up to not only the French but also the United States, Cornwall takes the opportunity to give Sharpe a further adversary with whom to contend as a seagoing American privateer and his crew add fuel to the mix. And as if this isn't enough, Sharpe's old nemesis, Pierre Ducos, arrives to exact personal revenge against the battle-scarred rifleman. The rifleman and his assorted collection of greenjackets and marines dig in deep in an attempt to hold the fortress until succour arrives.
Sharpe is at his most ruthless and compassionate as he tries to keep his cold, hungry and war weary troops safe. Cornwell is certainly right to rank Sharpe's Siege as one of the more outstanding escapades of his most well known creation, Major Richard Sharpe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe gets stuck again!, 22 Oct 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is one of the books that is not based on factual events, and is one of Cornwell's favourites. This is once again a great read and I finished it in less than a week. This strays away a bit from the old Sharpe, now married he begins to doubt himself, and finding himself without the South Essex and having to work with the Navy, makes him feel out of his zone. With the return of arch enemey Ducos, and with Harper and new pal Frederikson by his side can he defeat the french, and the new enemy, the Americans? Good read as ever, just not a Sharpe classic for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you read one Sharpe, you will want to read them all, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Peter Powell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Siege: The Winter Campaign, 1814 (The Sharpe Series, Book 18) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? I have read just about every single book Bernard Cornwell has written. His prowess in researching into history and adding the human component is second to none. Sharpe's Siege is as much a classic as any in the series. It comes towards the end of the Peninsular War and prior to Waterloo. You can read any Sharpe book in isolation but I would recommend reading in chronological order. Around 20 books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top story, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernard Cornwell is, in my opinion [for whatever that is worth] the best historical author currently working in the world of narrative fiction; based upon real-life historical events. He pulls no punches in respect to the often extremely violent reality of life during the wide ranging periods of human history he has covered. The net result is an authentic and often contemporary feel, featuring a cast of flawed characters that the modern day reader can identify with [in some cases], and entertained by until it becomes quite addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Siege., 25 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sharpe's Siege (Hardcover)
Sharpe's siege is the 15th book in the fantastic Sharpe series by the acclaimed writer Bernard Cornwell. Sharpe has returned to the peninsular war after finding recruits to save the South Essex's from extinction. In this novel Sharpe is entering France for the first time but he come up against some formidable odds like the cunning French spy Major Pierre Ducos who is trying to kill Sharpe as all ways and the might of General Calvet's brigade which he defeats and he returns home safely to Wellington, to fight another day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sharpes siege, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Siege: The Winter Campaign, 1814 (The Sharpe Series, Book 18) (Kindle Edition)
Cornwell as you would expect kept the series true to form, another enjoyable read from the sharpe collection. Did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Seige, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a devoted fan of the tv series and actually watch it every time it is on no matter how many times I have seen it. As an avid reader it was only natural that I should buy the complete set of these books and I am really looking forward to reading them, I just hope they don't let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Sharpe series., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all the other Sharpe books up to this one and have enjoyed them all. I have learned a fair bit of history at the same time. I think they are well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe present, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son loves history and has read this full series and seemed to enjoy the experience. Good read for bookworms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have just finished all the sharpe books, to my dismay, i have loved every one of them. What to read next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews