Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars44
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on 18 December 2000
Described by Sharpe's creator Bernard Cornwell as his personal favourite amongst the series of novels, Sharpe's Siege is yet another class act.
Sharpe and his henchmen Harper and Frederickson are once more up against desperate odds - battling the old enemy for the first time on French territory as well as striving to make the best of a bad officer lot. The difference this time is that it is the naked and naïve ambition of a Royal Naval captain and the treachery of a French sympathiser that puts Sharpe and his men in danger of their lives. Sharpe, a recently married man, is also in great fear for the well-being of his wife - from whom he has been separated by the powers-that-be just as she seems to have contracted a deadly fever from Sharpe's old mentor, Major Hogan.
Things are not looking good when Sharpe's riflemen are abandoned after a coastal hit and run raid on a fortress goes wrong, courtesy of the inept naval officer. Being set in 1813 with Britain facing up to not only the French but also the United States, Cornwall takes the opportunity to give Sharpe a further adversary with whom to contend as a seagoing American privateer and his crew add fuel to the mix. And as if this isn't enough, Sharpe's old nemesis, Pierre Ducos, arrives to exact personal revenge against the battle-scarred rifleman. The rifleman and his assorted collection of greenjackets and marines dig in deep in an attempt to hold the fortress until succour arrives.
Sharpe is at his most ruthless and compassionate as he tries to keep his cold, hungry and war weary troops safe. Cornwell is certainly right to rank Sharpe's Siege as one of the more outstanding escapades of his most well known creation, Major Richard Sharpe.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2008
This is one of the books that is not based on factual events, and is one of Cornwell's favourites. This is once again a great read and I finished it in less than a week. This strays away a bit from the old Sharpe, now married he begins to doubt himself, and finding himself without the South Essex and having to work with the Navy, makes him feel out of his zone. With the return of arch enemey Ducos, and with Harper and new pal Frederikson by his side can he defeat the french, and the new enemy, the Americans? Good read as ever, just not a Sharpe classic for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 February 2013
What can I say? I have read just about every single book Bernard Cornwell has written. His prowess in researching into history and adding the human component is second to none. Sharpe's Siege is as much a classic as any in the series. It comes towards the end of the Peninsular War and prior to Waterloo. You can read any Sharpe book in isolation but I would recommend reading in chronological order. Around 20 books!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
Wow! I have just finished "Sharpe's Siege" and really didn't want it to end! In this book you get a rare glimpse of Sharpe's vulnerability when faced with an impossible situation and a feeling of the true responsibility he feels for his men. His "Do or Die" attitude is simply at it's greatest in this story. I feel Jane has change Sharpe's character somewhat also. She is the complete opposite to Teresa and I'm not so sure this is a good thing!

This is a great read, full of fast paced adventure. Mr. Cornwell never fails to provide great imagery of battle scenes and the surrounding landscapes. I did, however, miss the presence of the South Essex and felt the was less of Harper's humour in this story. But I suppose this all helped to create a sense that Sharpe truly was all on this own in this one!

All in all - Great! You will not be disappointed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Richard Sharpe, abandoned in enemy territory, has to trust in assistance from a hostile American privateer. The invasion of France is under way and the British Navy has called upon the services of Major Richard Sharpe. He and a small force of riflemen are to capture a fortress and secure a landing on the French coast - one of the most dangerous missions of his career. Through the reckless incompetence of a naval commander, Sharpe finds himself abandoned in the heart of enemy territory, facing overwhelming forces and the very real prospect of defeat. He has no choice but to trust his fortunes to an American privateer - a man who has no love for the British invaders. Soldier, hero, rogue - Sharpe is the man you always want on your side. Born in poverty, he joined the army to escape jail and climbed the ranks by sheer brutal courage.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Bernard Cornwell is, in my opinion [for whatever that is worth] the best historical author currently working in the world of narrative fiction; based upon real-life historical events. He pulls no punches in respect to the often extremely violent reality of life during the wide ranging periods of human history he has covered. The net result is an authentic and often contemporary feel, featuring a cast of flawed characters that the modern day reader can identify with [in some cases], and entertained by until it becomes quite addictive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
Sharpe's siege is the 15th book in the fantastic Sharpe series by the acclaimed writer Bernard Cornwell. Sharpe has returned to the peninsular war after finding recruits to save the South Essex's from extinction. In this novel Sharpe is entering France for the first time but he come up against some formidable odds like the cunning French spy Major Pierre Ducos who is trying to kill Sharpe as all ways and the might of General Calvet's brigade which he defeats and he returns home safely to Wellington, to fight another day.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
The intro said this was Bernard Cornwell's favourite Sharpe book. I can kind of see why as it broke free of the formulaic "sharpe loses first battle and gets into trouble with his superiors, sharpe gets depressed but battles bravely on, sharpe wins second battle against all the odds and is lauded by all concerned". Saying that, I've realised mid-type that most of the formula is there in this book.... maybe that's why I enjoyed it so much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Brilliant, as all the others in Mr Cornwell's canon of historical novels, especially the Sharpe ones.. A 'must read' follow-on to the previous book. Each one tells us something we might not have known about life in general, and specific items that were available in 1812. This time it is tinned food. Truly - ask Wikipaedia. Other times, we've had gas lighting in the streets of London, rockets...what ever next? Read on, and find out!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Daring doings from the Napolonic era. Sharpe is sent to take a French held chateau and to discover if the people are rising against Napolion. This book has few conections to the TV program apart from some character names. To me it makes more sense than the tv but I am prone to liking books more. Really good read I very much enjoyed it and reccomend it to all Sharpe fans and to those who want an historical tale.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.