Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Inspiring!
What a wonderful surprise this movie turned out to be, having found it by chance while searching for movies by Timothy Dalton. The inspiring story of Florence Nightingale is beautifully brought to life by Jaclyn Smith and Timothy Dalton as the lead in this all star cast production. The courage and bravery shown by Nightingale in pursuing her calling is one that touched...
Published on 24 Jan 2011 by Uenna

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bought for my 6 year old daughter
my daughter was learning about Florence Nightingale at school so this was ideal for her, however she has only watched it once but for the price wasn't a waste.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Inspiring!, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful surprise this movie turned out to be, having found it by chance while searching for movies by Timothy Dalton. The inspiring story of Florence Nightingale is beautifully brought to life by Jaclyn Smith and Timothy Dalton as the lead in this all star cast production. The courage and bravery shown by Nightingale in pursuing her calling is one that touched something deep within me and I felt inspired and grateful for this wonderful depiction of her life by Hollywood's finest. As a little girl and a student of history I read about Florence Nightingale but the import of what she did at a time when most aristocratic women will not deign to touch a commoner or care for one as a nurse; to rise against that prevailing prejudice and opposition, and transform the sanitation of London hospitals as well as the British army hospitals during the Crimean war, says a lot for her nobility and strength of purpose. Jaclyn Smith was great as Florence Nightingale and so was Timothy Dalton as her great love and friend. Claire Bloom, Ann Thornton, Timothy West, Peter McEnery, Stephan Chase and Jeremy Brett also played their parts beautifully to bring to life this inspirational story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Florence Nightingale., 18 April 2011
By 
Pollyju (Wigan,England.) - See all my reviews
Excellent film. The film portrays our herione as she should be portrayed. It tells of all her struggles she has with the government, and pompous army officials who think,the common soldier is there only for cannon fodder, and all that she is, is only a inter-fearing nosey woman,who should learn to keep her station and not be seen in a man's world.Florence is my herione as what she did for those soldiers in the Crimea, made way for what she achieved in nursing when she came home.A film you need to watch and add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Inspirational story, 20 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is a highly inspirational movie. Great job. I bought this for study purposes and it gave me such an awesome insight into the influence one person can have in a world of impossibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Florence Nightingale, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An inspirational story. Well depicted. The story ends rather abruptly. I just wish there was more of her later life shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bought for my 6 year old daughter, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
my daughter was learning about Florence Nightingale at school so this was ideal for her, however she has only watched it once but for the price wasn't a waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical fact, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Ginnette Hargreaves-Lees (Bracknell, Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Miss Nightingale had a real battle, to improve the nursing care, given to such devastatingly wounded men. Despite the very real opposition from men and women too, she never lost her vision to raise Nursing to what it can be, when practised as she saw it. I lament the passing of Matrons, like her. I feel that nursing standards have slipped, but this DVD gives very good idea of Miss Nightingales and others, help to us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars florence nightingale review, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
i purchased this dvd recently as i was interested to learn more about florences life and i found this story very educating. the acting and actors/actress's were superb and makes great family viewing with a caveat concerning some of the wounded scenes which some parents may not wish their children to see.but this aside it's a great purchase and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Enjoyed this D.V.D very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lady with the Lamp, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
As one who has an interest in Florence Nightingale, this not so well known production complements other films based on her life by intoducing the viewer to aspects that are not seen in productions such as The Lady with the Lamp which featured Anna Neagle.

The DVD is based upon fact, and appears to stick closely to the historical records. Infact, it is true to say that it was a joy to watch and. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who has an interest in the Victorians, Florence Nightingale, or Military Medical History.

As far as I am concerned, this DVD is a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Quick delivery, great value & excellent quality. Great story of a brave woman & well acted. Really pleased & would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985]
Florence Nightingale [DVD] [1985] by Daryl Duke (DVD - 2011)
3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews