Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Soul Soul!
Just in case it is not yet fully appreciated it is worth noting that Bettye LaVette & Mavis Staples, survivors of the classic soul scene of the 1960s to early 70s, have been issuing some of the finest work of their respective years of late & I don't think it an exaggeration to suggest that these two remarkably voiced women can probably be acclaimed as the High Priestesses...
Published on 12 Sep 2010 by Harvey Randall

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OOOOOOOOOOOOh so so sad !
Occasionally a cd. comes along from an artist you have long since admired that well and truely makes you want to weep and regretfully not with JOY but with agreat deal of SADNESS , such being 'Interpretations'.

It has to be said right from the start that if your going to 're-interpret' any material once considered good if not exactly
great then it would be...
Published on 21 May 2011 by sun-treader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Soul Soul!, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook (Audio CD)
Just in case it is not yet fully appreciated it is worth noting that Bettye LaVette & Mavis Staples, survivors of the classic soul scene of the 1960s to early 70s, have been issuing some of the finest work of their respective years of late & I don't think it an exaggeration to suggest that these two remarkably voiced women can probably be acclaimed as the High Priestesses of contemporary soul music. This is Bettye's 3rd offering on the Anti label and is a more subdued affair than the previous two, but don't let that put you off because if it does you'll be missing out on one hell of an achievement here. It takes a few plays to get to grips with what is going on but by that time the restrained excellence of the music has begun to work its magic. Bettye accurately describes herself as an interpreter of songs and what she does with them is quite remarkable. Most of the material here will be familiar to seasoned listeners of the rock tradition but Bettye & her superb band have deconstructed them & stripped them down to the bare melodic bones in order to allow the singer to get under the skin of the lyrics. That last part of the process is the key to the lady's artistry, since once the songs have been re-assembled they have been recast as vehicles for a voice that makes every note & every line count for more than you might expect. I would love, for example, to witness Ringo Starr listening to what she's done with his 'It Don't Come Easy': transformed here from a happy-go-lucky jolly into an eloquent pean to the blues which elevates the song to a status that not even Ringo would have dreamed of. There are 13 tracks here, including the now famous live performance of The Who's 'Love Rein O'er Me' from the John F. Kennedy Centre, with maybe just 3 that don't quite hit the mark as effectively as the others but, hey, 10 out of 13 is a ridiculously high hit rate in this day & age! This is an album to be savoured over repeated plays, during which time it reveals itself as a masterclass in vocal brilliance and empathetic musicianship. Her version of the Stones' 'Salt Of The Earth' is well worth singling out for particular attention, as is her reading of Pink Floyd's 'Wish You Were Here' which brings a lump to my throat & moisture to my eye every time I hear it. Damn! Soul music doesn't get much better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good, the average and a few that don't work..., 25 May 2010
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook (Audio CD)
This is a strange concept - soul reworkings of British rock songs by the very emotional veteran Detroit soul singer Bettye Lavette. Overall I found the album a bit samey - the tracks have mainly been slowed down and have a minimal backing which highlights Bettye's wonderful ravaged voice. This is not a collection of classic rock songs, some of the songs here are fairly obscure - Traffic's "No Time To Live" and George Harrison's "Isn't it a pity". I can only presume these are Bettye's (or the producers Rob Mathes and Michael Stevens) favourite British rock songs.

I thought that some tracks like the Beatles' "The word" (one of the few fast songs), Ringo's "It don't come easy", the Stone's "Salt Of The Earth" and Elton John's "Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me" worked wonderfully. Other tracks like the much-covered "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" and "Nights In White Satin", Macca's "Maybe I'm Amazed", Clapton's "Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad" and Pink Floyd's "Wish You Were Here" were OK without really bringing anything new to the songs. Sadly I thought that Traffic's aforementioned "No Time To Live" and the live version of the Who's "Love Reign O'er Me" didn't work at all and I found them hard to listen to.

I think that Bettye's fabulous voice is always worth listening to but for me this record was a bit of a disappointment and not as good as her 2005 comeback album "I've Got My Own Hell to Raise" produced by Joe Henry. However, there are a few really good tracks here, hence the four star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook (Audio CD)
I've just seen Bettye LaVette at the Celtic Connections festival in Glasgow where she supported the Blind Boys of Alabama and she was simply sensational. I bought this cd at the venue and have listened to nothing else since. What she is doing is not so much cover versions of these great songs by great British songwriters of the 60s and 70s but taking ownership of them by transforming them into something new and uniquely her own. Some of the songs, like George Harrison's "Isn't It a Pity", Ringo's "It Don't Come Easy", The Who's "Love Reign O'er Me" and slightly lesser known tracks by the Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin are not necessarily obvious choices for a Black American soul singer, but her interpretations show that the songs have been chosen with care and with impeccable taste (although I do agree with the earlier reviewer's comments about "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood, which is not originally from the British Rock Songbook at all). Further outstanding versions of Pink Floyd's "Wish You Were Here" and Elton John's "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me", along with an almost unrecognisable version of the Rubber Soul track "The Word" confirm this as a truly great and beautifully chosen collection of songs by a singer who seems to be enjoying a somewhat belated moment in the sun. Don't miss her if you get the chance to catch her - if you haven't heard her before, this cd is a great place to start. Great singer, great record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth and sassy, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook (Audio CD)
Excellent, Bettye never fails to deliver a smooth and sexy interpretations of classics - great listen. Would recommend as superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reconstructions ahead, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook (Audio CD)
I first heard of Betty Lavette in the mid 60s when she reached the lower end of the R & B charts with Let me down easy.
I learned she'd made her first single in 1962 for Atlantic but after the Calla single she disappeared off the radar until the 90s when a series of albums came out up to this one.
Its a nice concept with a booklet which says she once considered making an album of Beatles songs.This is the next best thing though with 3 solo Beatles plus the group represented.Which is the reason I got this-I'd never heard a soul cover of the Ringo hit but when you hear this version it makes Ringo's sound like a cover!
I suppose you'd call this deep Soul but at least its deep soul with better songs.
One oddity here though is that Don't let me be misunderstood is an American song which was made by Nina Simone before the Animals did it.Very strange.
Pity she never did Imagine or some other Lennon song as it would have meant 4 instead of 3 Beatles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASS !, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BOUGHT THIS HAVING ONLY HEARD ONE TRACK AND NOT KNOWING BETTE LAVETTE BUT WAS GLAD I DID . A SUPERB VOICE AND AN EXCITING CHOICE OF SONGS .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOW WINTER SUN, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook (Audio CD)
ONLY FIRST HEARD ABOUT BETTYE LAVETTE AS SHE SINGS THE TITLE MUSIC FROM LOW WINTER SUN.
AGAIN FIRST CLASS-WHAT A SINGER-BUYING MORE ALBUMS AND LOOKING TO GET TITLE SONG FROM SOMEWHERE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OOOOOOOOOOOOh so so sad !, 21 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook (Audio CD)
Occasionally a cd. comes along from an artist you have long since admired that well and truely makes you want to weep and regretfully not with JOY but with agreat deal of SADNESS , such being 'Interpretations'.

It has to be said right from the start that if your going to 're-interpret' any material once considered good if not exactly
great then it would be helpful to 'try' first to understand the material then perhaps you would be capable of adding something meaningfully creative and artistic to it .

Bettye LaVette fails miserably on both acounts . First off her voice seems overtly STRAINED, TIRED and LACKING in any 'true' emotional quality whilest her response to most lyrics are CLICHED and TOO FORCED .

And her band , well how can I put this without ... this band/backing group is possably the very WORST SOUNDING bunch of
individuals MASQUERADING as musicians I have ever heard on disc , and thats saying something!

First off they dont seem to have heard or have played any of the material before - not the best of starts !
Then it doesn't take you too long to realise that they're certainly NOT EQUIPED MUSICALLY or technically to add anything new emotionally to the material or to improvise meaningfully around it.
Second , the bass player is constanly OUT OF TUNE , sounding as if he's playing in the TOILET NEXT DOOR and completely at a loss as to what to play or when to play it - I'll be kind and leave it at that !
Thirdly , the piano and guitarist just might as well NOT BOTHERED TURNING UP , but regretfully they did and as a
result PUTTING WESTERN MUSIC BACK 3000 YEARS ... such utter MINDLESS playing today is so very hard to imagine - so I'll spare
you further details !

Then theres the 'drummer' , all I will say is as a drummer he would make a very good BUTCHER and should have been PUT DOWN AT BIRTH !

And finally I would like to say something POSITIVE about ROB BOWMAN the producer (?) only I can't think of anything positive
worth saying - but then again ...

This cd. is 'positively' the worst production job I have ever had the unfortunate missfortune and experience of ever having
to listen to , yes at times truely truely TRUELY PAINFUL .

Where on earth have you come from Rob Bowman and where precisely have you been these last fifty years or so ?
All I can say Rob Bowman is DON'T GIVE UP YOUR DAY JOB,thats just about as polite as I can be about the hatchet job you've done on this cd.

You may by now reader have realised that I was not too impressed with this sorry and sad musical experience.

So please if you seriously enjoy Betty's work then stay well clear of this GARBAGE and remember her for her earlier work when
musicians took some pride in their work and not just chasing after a cheap buck !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook
Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook by Bettye LaVette (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews