Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good radio/mp3 player for the price
for the price its a good retro looking radio. The radio reception is good if you are next to a window otherwise you get disturbance. The scan button scans and stores all available fm stations. The sound is adequate for portable radio. Its not tinny which is good as many of the small radios and mp3 players can be. I ve been using a 1gb sd card without any problem. The sd...
Published on 2 Jun. 2010 by V. Navale

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for the price.
This product was [...] at the time of purchase, which sounded great so I bought it just to try it out.
At first I was really impressed as it plays from flash drives, memory cards, MP3 players and has a 3.5mm line-in socket. The sound is pretty good for it`s size too.
Only after a few uses I began to notice the cons of this product:
1) It only plays music...
Published on 28 Jan. 2011 by Mr. S. L. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for the price., 28 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. S. L. Jones "Beanster" (Port Talbot, South Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
This product was [...] at the time of purchase, which sounded great so I bought it just to try it out.
At first I was really impressed as it plays from flash drives, memory cards, MP3 players and has a 3.5mm line-in socket. The sound is pretty good for it`s size too.
Only after a few uses I began to notice the cons of this product:
1) It only plays music from inserted media in MP3 format. WMA, AAC, etc are not compatable.
2) If you have a few albums to skip through to find a certain track, you`ll be in for a wait as it only skips one track at a time, you can only skip the track after it`s started.
3) As for the FM radio, There`s no scan function so you have to know what frequency you`re looking for or you have the daunting task of going through it one frequency at a time.
4) The remote only works within around 2 metres.
5) Lastly the re-chargeable battery doesn`t last a great amount of time before re-charging is required, the mains lead is very short and after about 3 months the battery died completely and would only work when plugged in.
In short, only buy if you want something to take down the beach or camping and not worry about losing/damaging it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good radio/mp3 player for the price, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
V. Navale (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
for the price its a good retro looking radio. The radio reception is good if you are next to a window otherwise you get disturbance. The scan button scans and stores all available fm stations. The sound is adequate for portable radio. Its not tinny which is good as many of the small radios and mp3 players can be. I ve been using a 1gb sd card without any problem. The sd card/usb stick will stick out when inserted and if you have kids like me they just keep pulling it out. The remote works when pointed at the speaker. The display is very basic but you cant expect more for the price. If you are looking at an inexpensive radio/mp3 player its a good buy but dont expect all the features of more expensive radio/mp3 palyers. The charge will last about 2 hours or so, it would have been good if it lasted more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic product... rocks in my Kitchen, 13 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
Needed something that will play mp3 on my USB stick in Kitchen while cooking.. this is much more than i desired for.

Pro
The sound quality
Radio is really good.. clear
Plays almost all the mp3 songs on the USB
built in charger
all cable etc provided so complete package
cheap
takes less space
remote control is good and responsive
I love it..

cons
not really.. sometimes when I start it it starts at max sound..need to have remote handy to turn it down... may be I am doing something wrong there but dont know..

Hightly recommended if you want something cheap and good quality mp3 layer and radio in your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great radio, 12 Nov. 2010
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
I liked this radio, Its not perfect but very likeable. I have now bought three now, family members keep asking that I purchase one for them. It has a punchy sound for what it is, very basic mp3 player, but it cute it has a rechargeable battery. My wife loves it because she can connect her phone to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not good quality, 16 Jan. 2011
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
I wanted this device so i could listen to audiobooks from a memory card during the night.

1, When opened it seemed like it was second hand. The box was ripped and the battery was already charged. The power button was also covered up by a sticky padded piece of packaging. Which took a while to clean off.

2, The earphone socket does not work. you can slightly hear it when the earphone are just touching the sockett, but when you push it in 'Silence'.

3, You can not fast forward within a track. Which is no help if you wanted to listen to an audiobook as they are many hours long.

4, Made a buzzing sound if a memory card/stick or mobile was not plugged into it.

Not happy with the product and have sent back to Amazon today. The returns process seems quick and easy and i am just awaiting the refund.

If you want some music in a kitchen, garage or garden shed this would be ok for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Quality of product very poor, 3 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
After reading the reviews, I thought I'd take a chance and get the portable mini mp3 player, as I was looking for something that could work directly with music from a memory card and usb stick. However the quality of the product is very poor, the sound is screechy, the buttons dont always work, and there is something rattling inside the box.
However, I must commend Amazon and their customer service, they gave me a full refund and was a hassel free process returning the product and getting my money back..first time I've ever had to return a product because I wasnt happy with and Amazon were great.. just to clarify, the product was not theirs but they deal with the process.

So to summarize.. product bad - Amazon great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, 17 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
I'm not sure whether the product is completely useless, or they just don't test anything.

The unit I had powered up, but:
* There was hardly any radio reception when it was plugged in.
* When running from battery the radio reception was poor, with lots of background noise.
* Using the radio was a pain in terms of tuning etc.
* When listening to music from the sd slot there was even more background noise, a sort of AM radio type buzzing that gave me a headache
* Changing the volume sometimes caused it to lock up.

Returned as faulty (which, to Amazon's credit, was exceptionally easy to do).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but doesn't last long, 16 Jan. 2011
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
This is a great little mini hifi, while it works. Ours packed in after a couple of months.

The functionality is great, with a usb port and memory card slot, and a rechargable battery. It sounds pretty good for the size, and it's good value too. But I can't recommend it when it breaks so quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheap, cheerful, useful, 23 July 2010
By 
Anthony J. Bond (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
This is the cheaper of the August 'boomboxes' on sale here. It is more useful than its larger sibling because you can access individual tracks from the remote control. The sound is a bit muffled and there is no earphone socket but, overall, a useful gadget and a giveaway at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Gadget?, 17 April 2011
By 
Mr. J. L. Stevens (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: August MB110 Portable Mini MP3 Hi-Fi System with FM Radio Playing Music from SD/MMC card, USB Sticks and any Audio Player with Earphone out Jack (Electronics)
This product has the potential to be a clever little gadget, but unfortunately it's not that well made. If it had been made with higher quality materials and parts and maybe a slightly higher price it could have been an excellent little product! So my rating is "poor" could do much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews