Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most emotional endings Smith has written!
Spanning the twighlight years of Sean Courtney, Smith follows the old hero's return from the great war to his political career in South Africa.
A time of change in this fledgling country Sean faces the turmoil of brewing communism, racism and civil unrest against a background of his own family problems. His estranged son Dirk with his almost insane quest for...
Published on 17 Feb 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars o.k. a bit of a boys own yarn if you like that sort of thing
Rather predictable.
Descriptions of the various fight situations very good
You can almost see the author thinking how can I kill this person off in the most dramatic way. I know let her go out into the jungle and pick mushrooms with a wild lion loose!!
Published 5 months ago by Hilary Utton


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most emotional endings Smith has written!, 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
Spanning the twighlight years of Sean Courtney, Smith follows the old hero's return from the great war to his political career in South Africa.
A time of change in this fledgling country Sean faces the turmoil of brewing communism, racism and civil unrest against a background of his own family problems. His estranged son Dirk with his almost insane quest for power uses any means including murder to get what he wants. Dirk embodies everything Sean hates in a man but he is torn to emotional pieces by the dilemmas which face many parents with offspring who have strayed beyond redemption.
Sean's daughter Storm is the source of his greatest joy but has been brought up in a manner fitting the decadance of the time. Ruth is at his side throughout as his soul and anchor but Sean mourns the loss of his one remaining blood son in the war. Mark Anders fills this gaping hole in Seans life and awakening Sean to a new way of thinking about the land in which they live.
The story is laced with fact and centres on Mark Anders and his trials and tribulations with himself, his loves and his beliefs.
In the best Smith tradition you are taken on an emotional roller-coaster. With consumate ease he lays bare the hearts and thoughts of his characters in a way that provokes a searching of the soul even on the part of the most casual reader.
Africa is described in Smiths usual awe inspiring way and you are transported to this time and place without even realising.
There are defining moments in every nations history and the story ends at the dawn of wildlife conservation as we know it today - but it all could have been so different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Sean Courtney., 17 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This, in my humble opinion, is the best novel Wilbur Smith has ever written. I've read a lot of his books and enjoyed them very much. Elephant Song, A Time To Die, Eagle In The Sky, The Burning Shore, The Leopard Hunts In Darkness, Hungry As The Sea...
I first read When The Lion Feeds, The Sound Of Thunder and this novel about 15 years ago and have read them at least three times since. However, I'm always looking forward to getting to this novel.
I love the characters in this novel, Sean Courtney, of course; Mark Anders (the son Sean Courney never had), Storm Courtney. I feel a real connection to them all, even Dirk Courtney, Sean Courtney's handsome yet evil son.
The pace is swift and engrossing. The plot is vast in scope, from Flanders fields though the Johannesburg Strikes and the formation of land reform to conserve the animals that Sean Courtney made his fortune hunting.
General Sean Courtney first meets Mark Anders, a young sniper from his native Natal (Zululand). Mark is sent out to hunt a German sniper in no man's land and is badly wounded.
On returning to South Africa after months in hospital, young Anders discovers that his Grandfather has been murdered and his land taken by Dirk Courtney for an ambitious project to create farmland from Ladysburg to Chaka's Gate (a fictional wilderness) on the Indian Ocean coast.
Mark sets out to find what really happened to his Grandfather and to bring those to justice who killed the old man.
It seems Mark's and General Courtney's lives are destined to intertwine, but Mark doesn't know whether the man he admired in France is involved in the conspiracy.
The General's beautiful daughter, Storm (concieved in a thunderstorm during the beginning of the Boer War) is a spoiled socialite who Mark immediately falls in love with when she and her father enter the car show room where he works in Durban.
General Courtney is delighted to see the young man again as he greatly admired him as a young man of great destiny. He sets out to win over Mark and to mould him.
It is with a heavy heart that Sean eventually learns what his son has done and sets out to help Mark get the proof he needs.
Their relationship blossoms into that of a father and son, but tragedy is close at hand...
This novel has everything. It isn't a great work of literature by any means, but it is extremely engaging. Now that's not something you can say about some of the "great works of literature" is it? The writing is tight and well-paced and although the characters are not exactly three-dimensional, it works.
Can be read as a stand alone, but I recommend reading the previous two as you will get to know Sean Courtney better that way. But it isn't necessary, as I know people who have thouroughly enjoyed this novel as just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic & Emotional, 7 Aug 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, where do I begin!? Just finished reading this book, and it moved me so much that I felt the need to come on here and write a review. I've now completed the Sean Courtney trilogy and what is plain obvious is that all three books are quite exceptional. This, the third book in the series, takes us through the twilight years of our main hero Sean. New to the proceedings is Mark Anders, a young and gifted South African who in every way is brought to life in the same vain as Sean by Wilber Smith's amazing ability to create the most realistic characters you will come across. Such is Wilber's talent, you feel as though you are transported back in time and are actually re-living the events, experiencing them firsr hand. As with all his other books, Smith brings Africa to life. Once I had finished reading the novel and the whole story eventually started to sink in, I found myself swaring out loud at how moving and emotional this story was.
We begin in the first World War where Sean first meets Mark and there is an instant respect and fondness between the two. After coming back to South Africa only to find his grandfather dead, Mark embarks on a path which eventually brings him to the truth about his grandfather, to Sean and his family, to his life long abition protecting the wildlife, and to a girl who he falls in love with. Another string to Wilber Smiths bow is his brilliant description of romance and love. Its incredibly moving the way he describes the intimate scenes between a man and a woman. Without giving away anything, all I will say is that the ending to this book is so poignant and stunning that it will leave you shocked for a long while after you've finished it. Do yourself a favour, read this book, and its two predecessors, 'When the lion feeds' and 'The sound of thunder'. They will awake a new, special emotion within you that you never realised you had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last book in the first Courtney series, 16 Sep 2014
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sparrow Falls (The Courtneys Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Despite not being in chronological order Wilbur Smith recommends that the books are read in the order that they were written and so the books When the Lion Feeds (1964), The Sound of Thunder(1966) and A Sparrow Falls(1977) are the first 3 books in the first series of some of the Courtney family ranging from about the 1870's to 1970's. I do think that to get maximum enjoyment these 3 books need to be read as a trilogy.

In this third book, A Sparrow Falls our hero Sean Courtney has finished fighting the Zulus and the Boers and is now looking for somebody else to fight so he ships over to Europe to fight for the allies in WW1 where he meets Mark Anders. Mark becomes a surrogate son to Sean taking the place of one dead illegitimate son by his twin brother's wife and a legitimate but evil son by a previous wife, now deceased, who Sean has disowned.

Eventually Sean returns home to his wife, Ruth, and Sean enters into politics but still has to contend with considerable turmoil in his life. A lot of that turmoil from his daughter, Storm, named after a clandestine liaison in bad weather with Ruth while she was married to Sean's new best friend, Saul.

Sean and Mark realise that the wildlife of South Africa is nearing extinction and attempt conservation measures only to be undermined by Sean's evil son, Dirk. Dirk is determined to ignore environmental matters and plough ahead destroying the country for massive profits leading to a showdown towards the end of the book.

All along we are told of the tempestuous relationship between Mark and Storm which adds a bit to the book even though Storm is portrayed as clever, shrewd and stubborn and her actions are petulant, disloyal and stupid.

A bit of a cliff-hanger to the end but setting the scene for the heroes of later books to have native man servants and similar characters and tactics and general verbosity. I did get a feeling of déjà vu at some points but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb work of fiction, 26 Oct 2009
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an epic masterpiece, a superb action/adventure novel that follows the lives of the Courtney family who live in the heart of Southern Africa during the early part of the twentieth century.

For those of you interested in this book, you may or may not be aware that there are two prequels to `Sparrow Falls' which should be read first, in order to fully understand the complex family relationships and the political history of the area.

This third instalment of the Courtney saga begins in the trenches of the First World War but returns to Africa for the duration of the novel. Highly emotive, this book will certainly pull at the heartstrings as family relationships and circumstances are pushed (and often exceed) breaking point.

All aspects of a usual Courtney novel are present which allows the reader to ease themselves into the text after the break from book two. However, added elements such as powerful militant unions, tension between political parties, and the establishment of wildlife reserves as opposed to mass hunting help to create a sense of change and anticipation which is echoed in each character's personal lives. These new aspects create what is in my opinion the best book of the series so far.

The book is quite long, but with so much going on, the page count never becomes a problem. In fact you will probably be left wishing there was an extra couple of hundred or so pages!

This is an excellent read, which will become a timeless classic in the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 24 April 2012
This is one of the best Wilbur Smith books I have read. It brings to a conclusion the remarkable story of Sean Courtney began in When the Lion Feeds, then to The Sound of Thunder, and finally to A Sparrow Falls. The plot is excellently executed, the characters are amazing and the pace of the story is fast and gripping. Adding to the beautiful storyline, we have Wilbur Smith at his best with descriptions of incredible scenarios and thw onderful nature of this southern part of Africa. Which brings to mind Disciples of Fortune, The Sound of Thunder, which are some of the other gripping books I liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is the first Wilbur Smith book I have read ..., 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sparrow Falls (The Courtneys Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Wilbur Smith book I have read and I found it a fascinating read.It kept you guessing right to the end as to whether it would end in tragedy or not! It leads the reader through an interesting part of South Africa's history and the social unrest of the time - while still telling a gripping story.I will definitely read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Diana Payne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sparrow Falls (The Courtneys Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars o.k. a bit of a boys own yarn if you like that sort of thing, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sparrow Falls (The Courtneys Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Rather predictable.
Descriptions of the various fight situations very good
You can almost see the author thinking how can I kill this person off in the most dramatic way. I know let her go out into the jungle and pick mushrooms with a wild lion loose!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sparrow Falls (The Courtneys Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
As usual Wilbur Smith captures Africa, as in the old days as well as the new Africa to come. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews