Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tosh but enjoyable tosh!!!
I picked up this book with some trepidation after reading a few reviews but thankfully the result was well worth the effort. Yes elements of the story are somewhat too far fetched but it is no less unbelievable than a series of 24. The heroes continually get into ever increasingly tighter spots but manage to outsmart their opponents at every turn. Mr Reilly has produced...
Published on 25 Feb 2006 by Mr. P. E. Walton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis the Silly Season
'Area 7' is a monster of a book seemingly written by a 12 year old with verbal diarrhoea - that's not to say that its not incredibly fun. A marine named Scholfield (codename Scarecrow) has been attached the helicopter that flies the President. They are on a secret visit to the mysterious Area 7, a covert science lab and airport hanger buried deep in the US desert...
Published on 12 Nov 2007 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tosh but enjoyable tosh!!!, 25 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: Area 7 (Paperback)
I picked up this book with some trepidation after reading a few reviews but thankfully the result was well worth the effort. Yes elements of the story are somewhat too far fetched but it is no less unbelievable than a series of 24. The heroes continually get into ever increasingly tighter spots but manage to outsmart their opponents at every turn. Mr Reilly has produced an easy reading novel that is fun cross bred with 24 and Die Hard for a thrill a minute ride that helped me to finish this book much quicker than I ever manage to with a Clancy novel. I enjoyed it and have now started the follow up SCARECROW to see what new scrapes Mr Reilly can conjure up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Get Exactly Whats on the cover The Fastest Action Packed Book In History, 24 Aug 2006
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Area 7 (Paperback)
Well in my opinion anyway.

Forget Mission Impossible this is Mission Impossible and then some, with all sorts of action, presidents with ticking timebombs in them, missiles waiting to launch and some maniac wanting to create some kind of genocide. Granted Scarecrow and a lot of his colleagues would put Steve Austin (the bionic man) through his paces I felt that the worst part of the book was the end the last word on the end of the last page as the book certainly takes you to a different world full of action heroes and heroines and villains that are so over the top.

Get this book now.

Thats if your blood pressure can stand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action At Breakneck Pace, 1 Nov 2003
By 
S. Tilly "mackemsteve" (Darlo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Area 7 (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this book something of a paradox. Chase and fight scenes that were really quite ludicrous; a list of superlatives that seemed to start and end with "shocking", a much overused description in this book; and a tendancy to overexaggerate ("a million shells ripped into his body"). Did I enjoy the book? Oh yes, I took it everywhere I went and literally couldn't put it down. It held my attention from start to finish and had some clever twists and turns to it. And needless to say the pace of the action was breathless - the whole book takes place in about 3 hours! I've already ordered the prequel and sequel to this book - I'm a Matthew Reilly fan now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great read!, 14 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. C. Mullan (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Area 7 (Paperback)
After being introduced to Matthew Reilly's books by my wife, with my first read being Temple. I have since been addicted to his high-octane style of writing. Being a massive fan of Cussler, I find Reilly a welcome change. He may not be everyone's cup of tea due to his unique unrealistic style of writing but one thing I can guarantee you is that once you start reading any of his books you won't be able to put it down, as is the case with Area 7.

This installment is the second in the "Scarecrow" series and follows Shane Schofield as he dodges bullets left, right and centre (and every other possible direction). There are some old faces and some new but the core of the story is fantastic with Reilly's premise for books usually being "What if this happened?". In this case that question involves the president, 'the football', a secret military installment, crazy weapons, futuristic vehicles, a space battle, a virus that kills certain races, a bunch of convicts and a crazy antagonist who will do anything to bring back the confederacy! How does he fit all that into 596 pages? Give it a go, and I'm sure that you won't be disappointed, regardless of how unrealistic the book MIGHT be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sit down, disengage brain and turn to first page!, 19 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Area 7 (Hardcover)
Entertaining, if somewhat far fetched story line. Typical Reilly in that the action is non-stop and always unbelievable. Confines the story to one building, which adds to the claustraphobic feeling. There are lots of holes in the story, but dont dwell on them! Just enjoy it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just action, action, action, 20 April 2004
By 
Rennie Petersen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Area 7 (Mass Market Paperback)
"Area 7" is a thriller containing an incredible amount of high-octane action. This huge amount of action, and the lack of realism in many of the things that happen, requires a great deal of suspension of disbelief on your part if you want to enjoy the book.
But there's more to "Area 7" than just page after page of action.
True, most of the book consists of action scenes with bullets flying everywhere and things exploding and a fantastic line-up of various groups of really nasty bad guys who are all out kill the good guys (and each other) in the most violent and horrifying way possible.
It's also true that the story is not particularly believable, nor are the characters very well developed. The bad guys in particular are nothing more than cardboard figures, and the good guys aren't much better when it comes to resembling real people.
But Matthew Reilly keeps you reading despite these weaknesses because he has a couple of tricks up his sleeve.
The plot is actually pretty interesting (despite being unrealistic), and there are a large number of imaginative plot elements and very creative twists and turns. Several times after you thought you'd worked out what's going on you discover that things are more complicated and the bad guys are more devious than you realized.
I especially liked the start of the book, where the leading bad guy, U.S. Air Force General Charles "Caesar" Russell, is executed in Leavenworth prison for treason and murder. But the execution doesn't "take" - as soon as his dead body is delivered to his Air Force cohorts they revive him! And at the same time we're informed that the newly inaugurated President of the USA has some kind of super-miniature electronic device implanted on his heart!
From there on the book goes somewhat downhill until around the middle, where the plot becomes better fleshed out and we realize that things aren't as simple-minded as we originally thought. It's because of these clever developments in the story line that I'm giving "Area 7" four stars instead of the three that I'd been planning for most of the book.
I'm also giving plus points for the many drawings and maps that make it more interesting to follow the action. And I like the fact that several of the good "guys" are actually good gals, and that they're just as tough and ingenious as their male comrades.
At the end of the book there's a seven-page interview with Matthew Reilly, and I must admit that I like this sort of thing because I like reading about how authors go about creating the books they write.
In conclusion, if you like imaginative (albeit unrealistic) thrillers with lots of action, action, action, and are willing to almost totally suspend your disbelief, then "Area 7" should entertain you.
Rennie Petersen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis the Silly Season, 12 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Area 7 (Paperback)
'Area 7' is a monster of a book seemingly written by a 12 year old with verbal diarrhoea - that's not to say that its not incredibly fun. A marine named Scholfield (codename Scarecrow) has been attached the helicopter that flies the President. They are on a secret visit to the mysterious Area 7, a covert science lab and airport hanger buried deep in the US desert. Things never run smoothly for the Scarecrow so when 50 rogue soldiers turn up intent on killing the Pres, he is the man to save the day. With bears, boats, planes, viruses, South Africans, Chinese, bad marines and a basement full of psychotic prisoners; you are in for a ride!

Its hard to dislike 'Area 7' as its one of the worst written books I have read, but Reilly writes with such enthusiasm that you feel mean criticising it. The story itself is ridiculous and convoluted with more twists and turns than Chubby Checker and the Fat Boys. The characters are also pretty poor with fewer dimensions than a sheet of A4. Despite all this, the book is crammed with high octane action and drags the reader along at break neck speed. This is daft entertainment at its best and if it were not for Reilly's insistence to reiterate things with explanation marks it could have scored higher just for being unashamedly hammy and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hollywood movie- in a book!, 19 May 2003
This review is from: Area 7 (Paperback)
Some reviews for this book have been pretty negative. However, I quite enjoyed it! There are interesting (If somewhat unlikely) twists from cover to cover, and the action is some of the most exciting I've ever read. Just relax, ignore the plot, and enjoy the pulse pounding action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whopah! in your face action all the way!, 11 Jan 2003
This review is from: Area 7 (Paperback)
A very enjoyable book in every sense! fast paced action cool weapons and cheesey lines all the way. the best action film in the world has nothing on this! dont expect deep and meaningfull plots and high emotion, just high octane action and FUN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another scorcher from Matthew Reilly, 21 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Area 7 (Hardcover)
if you've never read any Matthew Reilly books before, make this your first! (and then order his others!) Heroic U.S marine Shane Schofield aka Scarecrow, finds that his apparently routine mission to guard the President on a trip to Area 7 - a secret US military installation- turns into a battle for survival not only for his troops, but for civilisation as we know it! Far-fetched? yes! Absolute page-turner? yes! This is a cracking book, and if you enjoy it, buy "Temple". Then sit back and hope that someone in Hollywood has the balls to make a film of it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Area 7 (The Scarecrow Series Book 2)
£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews