Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent story from a master of writing about many different periods and places in Africa
The story is of an intriguing battle for the heart of a woman occupying the wit of 2 likeable but very different heros- and is set against a tragically inevitable unfolding of the colonial ambitions of Fascist Italy, just before the 2nd World War. Every page rings true and contains humour and believable characters on a grand scale. There is pathos and joy, and the huge...
Published 10 months ago by Pete the Pixie

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
I am an avid reader of Wilbur Smith and have read most of his books. In fact the very first book I ever read was 'When the Lion Feeds' and I have re-read it since and believe it to be a masterpiece of action and adventure. 'Cry Wolf' was boring and drawn out from the start to the unfinished ending and I have no difficulty it thoroughly not recommending it to your...
Published on 4 Sept. 2012 by D R Keeble


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent story from a master of writing about many different periods and places in Africa, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
The story is of an intriguing battle for the heart of a woman occupying the wit of 2 likeable but very different heros- and is set against a tragically inevitable unfolding of the colonial ambitions of Fascist Italy, just before the 2nd World War. Every page rings true and contains humour and believable characters on a grand scale. There is pathos and joy, and the huge backdrop of historical events is understood at all times by the reader- whilst we wonder about the outcome of the male struggle to secure the affections of a strong female lead character. The tale is fast paced and very difficult to put the book down- a true sign of a well-written and riveting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 4 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Audio Download)
I am an avid reader of Wilbur Smith and have read most of his books. In fact the very first book I ever read was 'When the Lion Feeds' and I have re-read it since and believe it to be a masterpiece of action and adventure. 'Cry Wolf' was boring and drawn out from the start to the unfinished ending and I have no difficulty it thoroughly not recommending it to your customers. Wilbur Smith usually takes you on a high octane adventure which makes it compulsive reading from beginning to end. In my opinion he just churned out this dross to keep his publishers quite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cry Wolf, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Hardcover)
Another volume by Wilbur Smith which I have read and enjoyed, I can recommend this story to everyone who likes reading a good yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent action adventure, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Paperback)
A change from his wonderful South African land based stories, a really good new hero, I have bought the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
Really disappointed with this book.I'm a big fan of wilbur smith and was looking forward to cry wolf. It starts ok but soon descends into unbelievable plot and ridiculous characters. The more I read it the more it became monotonous. I persevered for as long as possible,hoping that it might get better. It didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bargin from this seller thank you so much, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Audio CD)
Wilber Smith's stories are always gripping and transport you to exotic places.
his audio cd's pass the time on a journey in a delightful way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of his books and they now seem to descend to the level of a "Boy's Own Comic" of superficiality. I could predict most of the story and the writing is just not up to his usual standard- go back to how it was or stop writing!! I would not recommend this at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story from the master story teller, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
I have read most of Wilbur Smiths books and found them to be difficult to put down once started this one is no exception good story line incorporating the Italian invasion of Etheopia at the start of WW2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cry wolf, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
As usual a gripping tale from Wilbur Smith as young soldier I was loaned eagle in the sky I then became hooked on Wilbur Smith I suspect there are probably only a couple of his books that I have not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High on the entertainment list, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
Wilbur Smith writes a good story as usual. This book is not part of his series books, it is a stand alone story. Well worth the read. As soon as I started reading I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cry Wolf
Cry Wolf by Wilbur Smith
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews