Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly conned too!
Excellent book, but as previous reviewer pointed out this is an old book re-titled. Don't think much of that. Peter Robinson's books are good enough as they are - they do not need to be sold under the guise of a new title!
Published on 18 Jan 2005

versus
196 of 200 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Con Trick
I bought this book in good faith thinking it was one I hadn't read, but found it is Dry Bones That Dream under a different title. So don't be fooled! It is a good read, but I am angry at being duped into thinking I hadn't read it.
Published on 14 Dec 2004 by Ann Turner


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

196 of 200 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Con Trick, 14 Dec 2004
By 
Ann Turner "superann" (Bridgend, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book in good faith thinking it was one I hadn't read, but found it is Dry Bones That Dream under a different title. So don't be fooled! It is a good read, but I am angry at being duped into thinking I hadn't read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly conned too!, 18 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Excellent book, but as previous reviewer pointed out this is an old book re-titled. Don't think much of that. Peter Robinson's books are good enough as they are - they do not need to be sold under the guise of a new title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 130 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Duped!, 21 Aug 2005
By A Customer
Yes ,I too was duped into thinking that this was a Robinson that I hadn't read! It is a good book but feel cheated. I now have two copies of Dry bones/Final account! Naughty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final Account, 11 Oct 2005
Yes I too was duped - I dont understand the need to do this with books why re title a book in the first place? And if that is the case people should be made aware of the fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read Before ??, 31 Oct 2007
By 
D. B. Jennings-powell "PinkFloydFan." (Cambridge, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read all the 'Banks' books, and seeing this NEW!! title I was ready to order, it was a good job then I happend upon the customer reviews first, it really is too much, is it titled for the American market? does Mr Robinson need the money? was he aware of this being published, I just feel for the people who purchased this in good faith,a con comes to mind, I cannot remember which title, but I feel this has been done before with another title, oh yes, 'The Summer That Never Was', I believe that book was published using a different title? ( so be aware ). Why oh why do they do it, It's expensive enough to buy one, but to double up, and then have your hopes of a good read dashed, well that just about takes the biscuit, or P***. JUST BE AWARE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Why should anyone try to execute an accountant?", 21 Nov 2007
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I believe that this novel will have a very different appeal for different people, and the reason behind this is simple. In this book, Robinson focused a lot more on the development of Inspector Banks and the events that are affecting his personal life and psyche, than in the case at hand. Therefore, people that are fans of the series and that have come to empathize with the main character are rewarded by the author's choice, but the people that are just picking up a mystery novel and have not heard of Banks before, will likely be disappointed.

Mystery-wise, Banks has to investigate the death of an accountant, who was murdered execution style. The particularities of the case dictate that most of the investigation has to do with unearthing secrets about the victim, who we quickly realize, was not as boring or as typical as we thought at first. For this task, Banks counts with the help, among others, of Hatchley, who I was happy to see return to the spotlight. The large ex-rugby player may be blunt and abrasive, but provides the readers with a picturesque view of life.

As I mentioned before, most of this book is about Inspector Banks and the effect that different events are having on his life. As we started seeing in the previous installment, his relationship with his wife has changed after the kids left home, and this has led him to once again be tempted by other women. But maybe even more importantly, the case he is working on will have a profound impact on the way he is looking at his job as well as his view of authority and of what is right and wrong. The fact that Superintendent Burgess, with whom Banks has clashed in the past, is also part of the case, does not make things easier in the least. Fans of the series will have a great time, and will probably want to know what is going to happen with our esteemed inspector in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A bit naughty, 5 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As far as I can tell this book is the same book as 'Final Account'
but under this new title. Fine if you know this but a bit misleading
if you are just scrolling through and order without checking. Surely it should be listed under both titles?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work from one of the best living murder mystery makers., 27 April 2004
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Peter Robinson is one living author whose book titles will be circulated to all my family members when my next birthday draws near. He has rejuvenated an appetite for murder mysteries that had become jaded.
This one opens, literally, with a bang, as two masked men abduct an accountant. The incident is witnessed by the man's wife and daughter. Soon after shots are heard at the nearby barn on the accountant's Yorkshire property. The man's face has been blasted off. Chief Inspector Alan Banks is summoned and begins investigating. It becomes clear that the abducted man, Keith Rothwell, was not all he seemed to be. Layer after layer is peeled off his public and private image, his essential identify becoming more and more elusive.
Almost all the traditional elements of the murder mystery genre are skillfully worked by Peter Robinson. Characterization is a stand out feature, although characters all seem to be uniformly articulate. Readability is another sterling quality. This is a murder mystery that will easily draw you in, and one that will leave you feeling afterwards that your time with it has been well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robinson on a role, 5 April 2014
By 
pphillips (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dry Bones That Dream (The Inspector Banks Series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Dry Bones That Dream the seventh in the Chief Inspector Banks series is a continuation of the excellent work in his last book Wednesday's Child (An Inspector Banks Mystery). Starting off with Alan and his team at the scene of what appears to be an execution style killing of local accountant Keith Rothwell it soon becomes apparent that the mild and quiet accountant may have more skeletons in his closet than they could ever imagine.

What starts off as a fairly straight forward looking crime novel soon develops into a very complicated and very intriguing book. Once the layers of Keith Rothewell's life begin to be peeled away his business deals and ethics soon begin to be brought into question. And the emergence of a key witness in Leeds who claims that she knows the victims face but not as Keith Rothwell will ask Banks some serious questions and not just about the case but about his own personal life.

As I have mentioned in previous reviews the character `Dirty Dick Burgess' I find to be a wonderful creation and his appearance in this book certainly helps. His constant battling with Alan and cloak and dagger style of getting what he and his bosses want without ever really allowing Banks to know the full story are highlights of the book and work wonderfully.

This is another very successful attempt by Peter Robinson at moving Banks away from the sleepy Yorkshire novel and into the more traditional crime novel. The scenery and backdrop of Yorkshire will always remain a key part of his books but novels like these helped the series grow and lay the platform for some of the stories to come.

All in all a massive success and I would highly recommend it to any fans of the crime genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sixth book in the Series, 23 May 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire, and is the author of a number of previous novels featuring Inspector Banks. He is the winner of numerous awards in the United States, Britain and Canada, and in 2002 he won the CWA Dagger in the Library. As I also come from Leeds the background to his stories is something that I have experienced first hand and because of this I have a special affection for his books. However they would be first class crime fiction wherever they were based.

It was the middle of the night when Chief Inspector Alan Banks arrived at the barn and saw Keith Rothwell for the first time or perhaps it would be better to say what was left of him. A short time earlier two masked men had brought the quiet accountant out of his farmhouse and blasted him with a shotgun

It was pretty obvious that this was a pre-meditated killing, the sort that a large wad of cash could buy, no questions asked, but Rothwell was not the sort of person to make enemies, certainly not ones that wanted to kill him. The investigation only muddies the water even more.

The deeper Banks digs the more he wanders what lies beneath the surface of the apparently happy and contented Rothwell family. When is old sparring partner Detective Superintendent Burgess arrives from Scotland Yard, the case takes yet another unexpected turn . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews