Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first and the best of Ken Follett's books
I read this book ages ago, when still a teenager, and recently I was happy to discover that "The eye of the needle" really didn't age at all.

This fast paced and quite violent story is about the last German spy still operating in 1944 in Great Britain. Although this is pure fiction, it is a very good read, as the author did his best to make the story stick to...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by Maciej

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars highly readable but not highly convincing
A German spy has kept ahead of the game for 5 years in Britain during WW2. He discovers critical information about D-Day. He is ruthless and one step ahead of the opposition, wreaking instant destruction on those who might imperil him or his secret. But his downfall comes when eventually he hesitates to kill a young woman for whom he has developed some kind of feelings as...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by William Jordan


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first and the best of Ken Follett's books, 20 Sep 2007
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eye Of The Needle (Paperback)
I read this book ages ago, when still a teenager, and recently I was happy to discover that "The eye of the needle" really didn't age at all.

This fast paced and quite violent story is about the last German spy still operating in 1944 in Great Britain. Although this is pure fiction, it is a very good read, as the author did his best to make the story stick to the reality of WWII (even if in 1944 the Home Guard was certainly better armed than described here).

The "hero" of the book is a VERY bad guy, but it is impossible not to feel at least a little for him, as he is trying to escape the tightening noose, with a vital piece of information - he is totally alone, very far from home, in a totally hostile place and faces certain death at the slightest mistake or weakness. The way in which he deals with all the adversities forces some respect. His final fate is very surprising and gives this novel a flavour rarely seen in spy stories.

This is a really good book for holidays or a long rainy weekend - I enjoyed it mightily. Ken Follett wrote some good spy novels later - but this is his first and best, no argument there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler relies on The Needle, 21 Feb 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eye of the Needle (Hardcover)
Hitler must ultimately decide what threats are real and when. He relies on the one man he knows can accomplish the task of finding out the truth. So he sends to England “The Needle” a deep cover spy who is so confident that he does not let the intermediate folk get in his way. Any that do do not live to tell about it.
First, they have to believe that he actually exists. Then they have to find him. It they can find him, can they stop him?
Yes, the story is intriguing. Yet it is the people interaction (loyalty, love, and credibility) and the attitude of "The Needle" that make the story. Ultimately, the question is will he succeed and what effect will this have on future generations of those who knew him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the needle, 21 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Eye of the Needle (Paperback)
A cracking story but rather too many words. Occasionally a character is introduced and described in great detail over several pages but then disappears and is never heard from again. Nevertheless a very good read and hard to put down. The lead character is strangely likeable but you wouldn't want to be his friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling spy yarn, 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Eye Of The Needle (Paperback)
I read this years ago but would like to include it among my reviews as it was one of my early favourite spy stories.
Faber has survived as the only German spy at large in Britain because he does not trust the network he is supposed to rely on. He is a loner and ruthless. He soon discovers the secret of D-Day but is marooned upon a remote island off the coast of Britain, where a bitter invalided ex-fighter pilot lives in virtual seclusion with his unhappy wife and child.
It is a thrilling advenutre story without being in the least bit corny. The film version is also very good.

Out of interest, the only enemy agent known to remain at large in Britain during the war was a Dutchman, Englebertus Fukken. But he only survived from November 1940 to April 1941, when he committed suicide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class story, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Eye of the Needle (Paperback)
This is the first book that I have read by Ken Follett - I didn't think that he was my type of writer. Either I've changed my tastes, or I've been wrong all along - maybe spy thrillers are for women too. It's not great literature, but Ken Follett is an excellent story teller and this is what I loved about it. An excellent weekend read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional suspense thriller about WWII, 25 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: The Eye Of The Needle (Paperback)
The book "eye of the needle" is, in my opinion, a very entertaining and exciting book. it combines suspense and history about WWII. the plot is conclusive and the characters are plausible. it won't take long to read it. although the beginning is slightly long-winded the entire story is a very solid espionage thriller. people who are interested in this area should definitely read this book just as people who haven't read espionage books. "eye of the needle" has been the fourth book of ken follett I have read, and so far has been his best. books of ken follett are mostly convincing and very suspensful although my favourite author for exciting espionage thrillers is forsyth. despite the exceptional story I have to add at least on point of criticism. the cover of the paperbook (read, white, and black colored with a swastika in the middle) is more than nonsenitive according to the history and therefore ought to be changed immediately by the publisher. the cover is a typical example for "political more than incorrect". anyway, this has nothing to do with the content of the book. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really "Ripping Yarn" from WW2, 4 Aug 2011
By 
David Briggs (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eye of the Needle (Kindle Edition)
"Die Nadel" (The Needle) is Germany's best and most reliable spy. Embedded from before the start of the war he has fed reliable information back to Germany and become the ONLY spy Hitler will believe and trust. As the war turns against Germany the question of where and when the Allies will invade France takes on a vital importance. Die Nadel is given to task of finding the truth and getting it back to Germany. Will he succeed? Will MI5 catch him before he can return to Germany?

There are hints of "The 39 Steps" as the chase across wartime Britain is related in this gripping tale of the months before D-Day. The writing is excellent and keeps the reader tied to the book as each chapter unfolds with every twist and turn of the story.

The story is well formatted for the Kindle with and active TOC though one really doesn't need it with a shortish, easy to read book such as this. Download and enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars highly readable but not highly convincing, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Eye of the Needle (Paperback)
A German spy has kept ahead of the game for 5 years in Britain during WW2. He discovers critical information about D-Day. He is ruthless and one step ahead of the opposition, wreaking instant destruction on those who might imperil him or his secret. But his downfall comes when eventually he hesitates to kill a young woman for whom he has developed some kind of feelings as he nears completion of his mission.

The main interest of the book lies in the narrative - Follett says in his introduction "it must have happened something like this" - and that is plausible. But it's hard to believe the Faber we have come to know and love - or at least admire (and wish he was on "our" side) in the earlier parts of the book - is really going to fail in his mission in the way portrayed. Also the opening chapters drag a bit - they prepare the ground for the denoument but without particularly stacking up in their own right.

That said, it's a highly readable novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping storyline, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Eye of the Needle (Paperback)
Another gripping storyline by Ken Follett. He masterfully creates the scene by introducing the characters in the first few chapters before grabbing your undivided attention throughout the main plot. I had difficulty putting the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Needle", 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye of the Needle (Kindle Edition)
A good spy story. Very different from usual as this was a man who came to Britain to spy, a change from the usual books as thre "Needle" ( the German spy) who came to find out details about the whereabouts of the Allied Normandy landings and the story ended up with him in Scotland holding a family to ransom. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eye of the Needle
Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews