Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read with a storyline similar to Daughter of Time
The Wench is Dead is a great summertime read for those English history buffs. I learned about the book recently in a reader's letter to the editor of Smithsonian Mag. Smithsonian published a lively and informative article about the locks and canals of England, particularly the Oxford Canal, which figures significantly in The Wench is Dead. The letter writer suggested...
Published on 8 Aug. 2000

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story within a story
Drinking vast amounts of beer and scotch has finally caught up with Chief Inspector Morse and he ends up in hospital. The chap's medical condition must be really bad because he is described as a person in his mid-fifties who according to one of the doctors might make it to 60 if he stays off the booze. Perhaps we are fortunate that this is not the last Inspector Morse...
Published on 16 Aug. 2009 by Thomas Koetzsch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read with a storyline similar to Daughter of Time, 8 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wench is Dead (Paperback)
The Wench is Dead is a great summertime read for those English history buffs. I learned about the book recently in a reader's letter to the editor of Smithsonian Mag. Smithsonian published a lively and informative article about the locks and canals of England, particularly the Oxford Canal, which figures significantly in The Wench is Dead. The letter writer suggested the book for further interesting reading. The clues to the mystery are tantalizing as are the foreshadowing of events and character development. I especially enjoyed the teaser clues that may or may not lead to anything, but that pique the reader's interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wench is Dead, 19 Feb. 2008
This is a well written, cleverly plotted book, which contains a story within a story. Morse, recovering from illness in hospital, is given a pamphlet describing the murder of a woman which took place on the Oxford canal in the nineteenth century. That pamphlet is set out in full, and is interesting in its own right; on finishing it, Morse is convinced that the accepted conclusion was incorrect, and that the wrong men were hanged for the crime. He decides to solve it himself.

Dexter keeps the two stories going superbly in a novel which fully deserved its Gold Dagger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the book is so often better than the adaptation, 4 May 2005
By 
B. G. Strand "strandbg" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wench is Dead (Paperback)
This is the best of Dexter and explains why Morse is so fascinating.Using the 1839 Murder of Chritine Collins he adapts the case to Oxford and places it in 1860 and then proceeds to 'solve' the case whilst convalescing .Excellent of its genre.Really good read to take on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Morse, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wench is Dead (Inspector Morse Series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
This is my favourite Morse book, probably because I am a history lover. It starts with Morse confined to bed in hospital and with only the account of a 19th century Oxford murder to read he starts to see flaws in the guilty verdict and decides to solve the murder himself. It takes him to Ireland and Derby , he gets to grips with fly-boat timetables and the sizes of women a hundred years ago, and finally sees the solution in a crossword clue. I would recommend this to anyone who is intrigued by the past and likes detecting for themselves. A different Morse book because of the setting and time the murder was committed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Times gone by, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
Dr. Melvyn H. Brooks (Karkur, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this crime fiction after reading a review of it in the British Medical Journal where it received an unusual four star top rating. I was not unhappy with my buy. It is an easy un-put-downable read with some medical aspects not too obvious to the layman of today.Since the early 1980s when the discovery that a bacteria was the cause of the majority of gastric and duodenal ulcers the incidence of acute bleeding in the gut has plumeted. Hand in hand the number of operations for ulcer surgery is now only a fraction of what it was. I remember as a medical student in the 60s assisting these operations that would head the list. I also remember treating patients with acute bleeds; those patients that lived and those that died. It is now another World and I often feel we do not appreciate the advances made.
Patients no longer spend more than a few days in hospital and the relationships that were once built up between patients-nusring staff-doctors have gone.
The above is just background to a good detective story. Well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This book is just one you can't put down. It's intriguing twists and turns, it's mixture of characters with secrets to hide and the fact that you travel back in time to the early 1900's, makes it well worth the read.
This book is about a Victorian lady who is murdered aboard a canal boat. As Morse lays in a hospital bed seriously ill, he is given a case that captures his inquisitive nature. Upon examining the police records of the arrest made, Morse discovers that a false arrest took place.
But just who committed the murder - if one took place at all? Murder, mystery, suspense, greed and the genre of the era - all add up to a riveting read. You will not be able to put this book down!
A simple must to read. By Sarah Clark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wench is Dead - audio version, 27 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wench is Dead (Audio CD)
This is the original and best exactly as the book. The TV version is awful, and the story is completely changed. This is as it should be faithful to the written word. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Morse, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
Brendan O'Neill (Leighton Buzzard) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wench is Dead (Inspector Morse Series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Unusual and clever plot.
Dexter is very readable. I love his gentle humour and insight into human nature as a counterbalance to the darker side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonser, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wench is Dead (Audio CD)
Brand new product (NOT a copy) and delivered super quick. Cracking tale and a bit different to the normal Morse stories. Very enjoyable yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it good read, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wench is Dead (Inspector Morse Series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I love reading the adventures of Morse and ienjoy this authors way of bring the characters to life off the page and into the imagination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews