Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2011
My 5 year old daughter got this clever map for Christmas. She has a gran and grandad in Zimbabwe, an uncle in Dubai and lots of extended family in other countries so has a keen interest in where places are and what they are like. She will spend ages learning about the travel times and distances between places. She also likes to click on the children in the various countries and find out about what they like for breakfast and how they say hello. Her 4 year old brother likes it to, as it has lots of musical sounds and everything you click on makes a different noise. Although as the year has passed he has started showing more interest in the countries and continents game too. And I am relearning where all the countries are too - I am sometimes pleasantly surprised at what I remember from my own school days - and other times horrified that I can't for the life of me begin to imagine where a certain country might be located.

My only complaint is that because it is only made of cardboard you have to be quite careful when you are packing it away - saying that it has survived at the hands of both my 5 year old daughter and her 4 year old brother even on the few occasions when I have been busy and they've got it out and put it away without supervision.

I recommend this map for any child who is interested in the big world out there.
11 comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Santa brought this along with other TAG products, 6 year old loves it. She enjoys using it then telling me all about different children around the world. Beware....care needs to be taken as it is beginning to show wear on folds already.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
Brilliant product. My 6 yr old as played with this loads since receiving as a gift. Loads of activities and comes in a sturdy box which we will be keeping it in when not being played.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Just set this up with a new leapreader pen for the first time and its fab, lots of different activities. Just kept me entertained for past half hour. Im sure my son will love receiving this on his birthday.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
I bought this product for my 4year old daughter and she loves finding out about different countries and playing the educational games on it. It teaches kids about the continents and what life is like in each of the countries i.e what food they eat and music they listen to.

It's a great way of spending time with the kids instead of sticking them infront of the tv. I have to admit i didn't know where some of the countries are located but i've learnt alot too with this wonderful peace of kit. Was also very easy to transfer on to the tag reader (which is needed to interact with the atlas) via Leap connect.

Definitely highly recommended the only thing i will say is when packing it away back in the box be careful that it doesn't break at the bends as it's only made of cardboard.

Other than that, your child(ren) will love it!
11 comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
My 6 years old niece loves it! And whats more she is learning about the world in fun way. She keeps coming to her mum and asking 'do you know were Xxx is?', 'Did you know that they do XXX in that country?'.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
This is an excellent learn through play map to teach kids about the world. We bought it for my sons 5th birthday as he was very interested in learning about people and places. His knowledge of geography has increased 500% since getting this map and he just thinks he's playing games :)
our next buy will be the solar system map!
just remember the tag reading pen is not included and has to be bought seperately (this caught my husband out as it wasn't very clearly written on the packaging, hiding under packing tape, and was our first Tag buy)

10 out of 10
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
I am a HUGE fan of the Leapfrog Tag reading system! I think it is just fantastic! When showing the product to people not already familiar with it, their faces are like, "Wow! That is so good! How does it work?"
I bought this, Xmas 2011, for my then 3 year old boy and he's loved it ever since. I just keep adding to his book collection on birthdays, Xmas and as a reward for good behavior. It's also a great thing for family and friends to buy for him because it's relatively inexpensive so you don't feel guilty asking them to buy him something that costs £20-£30+. I've picked up books for as little as £8! My son calls this his "Magic Book and Pen"!

The Map is awesome! So educational, colourful and already, at 4 years old, my son knows where he lives and where other members of his family live in the world (Aussie, NZ, USA, Ireland). I wish I had one of these as a kid. I was rubbish at geography!
The games are good too and he's just starting to have a go at them. His older brother (aged 5) has "got it down". He can play these games easily and often does them with his little brother.

There are two sides to the map so each poses new challenges. One side is much more detailed. The other simply has the countries/continents but a TREASURE HUNT! Which is really good fun!

My only concern is that because this is a big, hard-backed, map which folds up. Will it last? My kids are heavy-handed. The product seems sturdy enough but will it eventually rip at the seams? Who knows? I encourage my boys to treat it with care. so fingers crossed. All-in-all. A top quality product from Leapfrog that my children truly enjoy using and is definitely educating them!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
I was recommended the Leapfrog Tag Reading system by a friend for my 4 year old son. I bought the reader which came with a 'sample' book and both my 4 year old and my 6 year old sons played with them constantly whilst on a 3 week trip to France. On our return, I searched for something other than a book and found the World Map Activity Board. This toy is awesome. Both boys love playing with it, learning all the countries, facts, playing the different games on both sides of the board. It's a daily activity and well worth the money. The board is not flimsy as stated in other reviews, although it is large and you need to lay it out on a flat surface to use it properly.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Our son is struggling with reading at school and has a short attention span, but has learnt so much from the Tag reader. It just gives a little information, then you can upload more online so they can learn further. I bought the Solar System, Human Body and World Map. All brilliant in my opinion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)