Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book!
This is a great book! It's about Mia Thermopolis, a normal, American, 14-year-old girl, who's main worry in life is the fact no one's ever asked her out and her mum is dating her algebra teacher. That is, until her dad tells her she's actually the Princess of Genovia! This causes lots of problems - she has to have a bodyguard with her, she loses her best friend, and she...
Published on 4 July 2001 by gameview

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very original
This is an updated traditional fairytale.
Meg Cabot is a great writer and I just couldn't put this down. The only thing is though, is how this is such a typically 'teenage' book. There's romance, she gets the boy she wants, there's a hiccup, then everything turns out fine and very slushy. Mia is a character that everyone can relate to as she has the problems we all...
Published on 22 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book!, 4 July 2001
This review is from: The Princess Diaries (Paperback)
This is a great book! It's about Mia Thermopolis, a normal, American, 14-year-old girl, who's main worry in life is the fact no one's ever asked her out and her mum is dating her algebra teacher. That is, until her dad tells her she's actually the Princess of Genovia! This causes lots of problems - she has to have a bodyguard with her, she loses her best friend, and she has to take "princess lessons" with her grandmother, who she loathes! The book is written in the form of Mia's journal, which also includes lists of things to do and algebra notes. This is a great book and I can't wait to get the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Princess Diaries is funny ,imaginative and addictive, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Princess Diaries (Paperback)
The Princess Diaries, written by Meg Cabot,is a humouress novel based on the diaries of Mia Thermopolis.
One minute Mia is a totally normal girl in Manhatten, New York; next she is the heir to the throne of of Genovia and discovers her original name is 'Amelia Migonette Grimaldi thermopolis Renaldo'!
To make things worse her strict Grandmother has arrived in town with princess lessons for Mia on her schedule!
One of the most memorable parts of this book is the night of the Cultural Diversity Dance,but does Mia get a date?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB - BUT BE WARNED!!!!!, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Rains (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Princess Diaries (Paperback)
I started reading this series (10 books in total) to my daughter when she was about 6. They are a thoroughly good read and we both enjoyed the first few books. However as the series progresses and Princess Mia gets older, the themes become a little more adult. I found myself by about book 6/7 editing paragraphs whilst reading, and just as my daughter was happy to be reading alone, I found myself insisting that I read to her!! Needless to say I read the final few books to myself (they really are quite gripping!) and they are now sat on the shelf waiting for my daughter to grow a little older. - Maybe early teens.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
... at first I was skeptical. Skeptisism comes natrually when reading a sequel. Rest assured, this is one not to miss. It starts out right where Princess Diaries left off. Mia is just realizing the reality that she is a pricess. What now? Her mother announces that she is pregnant with Mia's Algebra teacher's child. Perfect. Not only does Mia have to deal with that burdon, but also that of a nasty cold. Who wants a cold when about to be interviewd by America's top journalist, Beverly Belerieve? As if life could get any worse, Mia has to deal with the fact that she has a secret admirer who just can't be the person she wants it to be. Unlike most books, Princess Diaries: Take Two matches, if not beats it's perquel. Also, Ms. Cabot truly knows how to capture the spirit of Mia and bring it to life. I am in almost exactly the same situation as this protagonist, minus the princess part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, unmissable., 3 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Princess Diaries (Paperback)
When Mia finds out she's a princess she thinks it so unfair. Why does she have to be the girl with no dates, a mum who dates her algebra teacher and now she's a princess! Just when life can't get any worse..... it does. She and her best friend have a huge fight and aren't talking. Can things get any worse?.
This is such a great book any teenage girl should read it- it is so funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, 12 Nov 2003
My friend was the one who recommended i read this book and i have to thank her, simply because it appeared to be the most amazing book i've ever read!
It brings out facts of real life. It has some funny parts that may make you laugh and some others that will surely make you want to read more and more.
The main caracter(Mia), who is just a girl from San Fransisco, suddenly finds out that she's a princess.(she freaked out a little, but in the end she accepted it). Moreover, her mother ends up marrying her Algebra teacher and Mia has also a secret admirrer!
So, if you love reading romantic, humorous and kind of adventurous books, i think this is exactly what you are looking for.
I HOPE YOU ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS I DID!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 27 Feb 2005
I was rather surprised after reading this book my mother had bought me as part of a collection for christmas. I had read the first one and found it exciting but not as smart and funny as the second.
If you have seen the films you might be a bit confussed, Mia's father is still alive and she has been having Princess lessons since she was 7. Beside these facts I was extremely hooked to this book and loved every word that Meg cabot has used. I truly loved this one an couldn't put this book down, I was quite excited to even go to bed and read it!
Thanks for reading my comments and I hope you, like me, try to finish the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess Diaries, 9 July 2003
This review is from: The Princess Diaries (Paperback)
Wow what a fab book! First of all I bought the DVD Princess Diaries which was a great film! Then I started reading the books. I have not been able to put Princess Diaries down it was so good! Even though Mia is a princess she still has to deal with the same things that every normal teenager has to deal with! If you want a good chick read the this is the book for you! Once I read this one I had to go straight out to the shops to buy the next one! It's quite different to the film but still as funny as the film and much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This story is really good. Its funny, and interesting. Mia is a ordinary girl until she finds out she's a princess. She hates being a princess and won't do refuses to act like one. She also has to take princess lessons, from her weired grandmother, who she hates, and her social life is very comlicated. On top of all this her mother is dating her teacher and she feels like its all to much. This is very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A enjoyable comedy about a teenager who becomes a Princess., 10 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Princess Diaries (Paperback)
Mia, an ordinary teenager slowly realises she is heir to the throne of Genovia. As an unpopular teenager she turns into the most popular and attractive girl in the school. Mia's dad suddenly tells her that she is the future queen. She is transformed by a hair and make-up artist and is befriended by Josh Richter the boy of her dreams. When she is visited by her grandmother she realises how important this job is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Princess Diaries: Take Two
3.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews