Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Junkworld
A Doctor who novel, telling an all new story not seen on tv. It features the Eleventh Doctor and Amy. Like the previous novels in this range featuring the ninth and tenth doctor it's suitable for all ages and runs for 246 pages or so. To differentiate it from those previous novels the size of the pages is slightly larger and the cover design is all new, but the word...
Published on 23 May 2010 by Paul Tapner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A great little runaround!
Night of the Humans is part of BBC Book's collection of novels based around the TV Series and features the 11th Doctor and Amy. Landing on a junkyard in space they find themselves caught in between a battle between two alien societies, the Sittuum and a futuristic but savage version of Humans. A devastating comet is on it's way to cause imminent destruction and they face...
Published 11 months ago by Ally Atherton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Junkworld, 23 May 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A Doctor who novel, telling an all new story not seen on tv. It features the Eleventh Doctor and Amy. Like the previous novels in this range featuring the ninth and tenth doctor it's suitable for all ages and runs for 246 pages or so. To differentiate it from those previous novels the size of the pages is slightly larger and the cover design is all new, but the word count, page count and chapter count are still pretty much the same.

The story involves the TARDIS landing on the gyre. A world composed of bits of spacejunk that have drifted together and formed into a planet. It's the home of a humanoid alien race. Who don't get along with a group of humans who live there. The latter are descendants of a spaceship crew that crashed there long before, and have developed their own weird civilsation with some rather individualistic beliefs.

But the gyre is facing impending danger and it could be about to be destroyed. In one of two different ways. With clashing civilisations, a race against time, a separated TARDIS crew and a human adventurer who might have a hidden agenda, it's a race against time for the doctor to save the day.

Book can create worlds that you couldn't see on tv because the words can fire your imagination to create visuals that wouldn't be possible on the small screen. And that covers over well here, the whole setting being very imaginative. It also touches on some high concepts in regards to faith and belief. The race against time nature of the plot does make for a page turning read. Some books in this range have started rather slowly, but this one never lets up for an instant.

Considering that this was written before the eleventh doctor had been seen on screen, the characterisation of the Doctor and Amy is pretty good, and I never had any problems imagining it was the characters as depicted on tv. That may be down to the fact that as viewers we're more used to them now we're well into the season than if I'd read this earlier.

But all in all a good bit of science fiction and a good doctor who story. An above average entry in the range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great little runaround!, 7 May 2013
By 
Night of the Humans is part of BBC Book's collection of novels based around the TV Series and features the 11th Doctor and Amy. Landing on a junkyard in space they find themselves caught in between a battle between two alien societies, the Sittuum and a futuristic but savage version of Humans. A devastating comet is on it's way to cause imminent destruction and they face a race against time to save themselves and everybody else.

This is a fun and quick read and I found it much more readable than my previous encounter with BBC Doctor Who books. I really liked the alien world of the Gyre and without being overly convoluted or boring the plot kept my interest and felt like a throwback to the classic series that I gew up with. There are lots of cool aliens and a good balance of action and humour that will probably satisfy many a Whovian. Lots of good characters abound and I particularly liked Dirk Slipstream who (in my mind at least) was definitely Ace Rimmer from Red Dwarf!

I grew up with the old Target books and although as an old git I don't get as excited (as I used to) with reading this kind of thing, it was an average entertaining read. A good beginning, a good middle and a decent ending. What more could you want?

3/5

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Night of the Humans, 14 April 2013
'This is the Gyre - the most hostile environment in the galaxy...'

250,000 years' worth of junk floating in deep space, home to the shipwrecked Sittuun, the carnivorous Sollogs, and worst of all - the Humans. The Doctor and Amy arrive on this terrifying world in the middle of an all-out frontier war between Sittuun and Humans, and the countdown has already started. There's a comet in the sky, and it's on a collision course with the Gyre...

When the Doctor is kidnapped, it's up to Amy and "galaxy-famous swashbuckler" Dirk Slipstream to save the day. But who is Slipstream, exactly? And what is he really doing here?

A thrilling, time travel adventure featuring the Eleventh Doctor and Amy, as played by Matt Smith and Karen Gillan in the spectacular hit series from BBC Television
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'We're only human, from flesh and blood we're made...', 6 Nov 2012
A good read that provides the Eleventh Doctor with an authentic voice, and which also provides an entertaining story. Amy gets a fair bit to do, but it's funny reading it with no mention of Rory, after seeing the pairs' story played out in the recent TV series.
Dirk Slipstream makes a memorable villain of the moustache-twirling variety, whilst the gelatinous Sologs are great value monsters; the idea of a planet made of junk is a cute one too and perhaps a nod to TV episode The Doctor's Wife. These hardback original novels capture the spirit of the show nicely and serve as reminder of just how lucky we are to have so much Doctor Who provided for us these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fan fiction, 11 July 2012
By 
This is unfortunately a 6th form political essay disguised as a Dr Who story. Within the first 15 minutes of reading we'd ticked all the politically correct boxes which pseudo writers confuse with being "deep". I wondered what the BBC's criteria are in selecting authors. Incidentally, when you can sum up a character by the name, it becomes a caricature. "Captain Dirk Slipstream" is no exception. A weak insipid story which bears very little resemblance to the wonderful TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars just a reveiw, 17 Jan 2011
not going in to the story as most have done this so ill anylize the plot,charecters ect

plot

its a diffrent prespective in that its humans invaiding aleins and i like that but it also featured a tired sub plot in that the humans have a re written past ( wont say more than that ) if they stuck to the invasion plot it would have been a very diffrent very epic book unfortunetly the sub plot kinda ruind it

setting

this was another on/off thing for me the junkyard was very well done ( then blown when the reason behind it was told ) and i found the aleins side to be generic but it adds to the story and its conclusion

villains

the humans and slipstream

the humans are intresting in that they live trough a vid screen i found it intresting and the humans are actully very nasty and you want them to die but you feel sorry for them too so it works on all leavels just wish the reason for the way they were wasent a cop-out

slipstream

please please put this guy in the 2011 xmas story or at least the season 6 2nd half this guy is excellent he,s cocky aragant ( not sure if this means the same as cocky) hes charming and very pesusive ( to amy that is ) oh hes a con man too seriously he is fantastic

the good guys

the doctor

hes very well wrritten i think the best you can imagine him is when he telling the humans about the reason why they are what they are this was very nicely wrriten ( when he tell them about the mentor) i love the 11th doctor hes more alein than 10th ( no disrespect to 10th ) and a lot darker the ending shows this

amy

not too sure about the scottish lass iam not too convinced that the wrriter captured her in her sassy bubblely persona as well as apolo 13 or nuclear time did but to be fair this was wrriten when the new era began so ill let it slide

the aleins

ok i cant recall what they are called but they are very anoying and dont want to hear from them again i dont think they are the best monsters ( or aleins or whatever) to be created and found them very boring

plus side

excellent well written and well ploted story with a well written doctor ( always helps) and nice twist on a age old primise

minus

everything elese very boring aleins cop out ending

overall grade B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book of amazement, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Night of the Humans (Kindle Edition)
ok, i have to admit, i didn't really read this book on a kindle, i bought the real thing, but it was a lot better than the other doctor who books. I was in astonishment when i was reading it. If you are into doctor who, like reading and adventure then this is the book for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced with interesting ideas, but a few letdowns, 29 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Based on an interesting conceit that has been touched on occasionally in Doctor Who before- that for once the 'monsters' are the good guys and the humans are the 'baddies'- "Night Of The Humans" is another good story in a range of novels that somehow manages to keep the quality bar very high.

Amy is very quickly separated from the Doctor (who sounded like the Eleventh Doctor to me, but mind you I've watched 13 episodes so maybe it's easier to picture him) and both characters get caught up in some high-paced action, there's not a lot of time for preaching or thinking here.

It's all enjoyably sinister and explosive, though the arrival of new character 'Dirk Slipstream' in his 1950s rocket ship is a bit of a wrong turn, being utterly out of place with the rest of the story. The alien 'Sollogs' (giant slugs) are also crowbarred in in a way that doesn't really work.

Despite a couple of less convincing moments it's still a rollicking read and if you're cherry-picking which Doctor Who books are worth reading, put this on your "yes" list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Mind the Sollogs, 5 May 2010
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The Gyre: an inhospitable wasteland and home to the human descendents of the crew of a ship that crashed there centuries ago. Home also to the deadly Sollogs: giant eight legged slug-like creatures. The humans' lives have taken a regressive course down the generations. They are illiterate, incapable of using technology and their belief systems (which involve a corporate logo and 20th century western movies such as `Gunfight at the OK Corral') have rendered them incapable of rational thought.

The Gyre lies in the path of a comet; collision is imminent. A detachment of troops, the Sittuun, from a nearby world has been sent to destroy the Gyre in such a way that the resultant explosion will be harmless to its neighbouring planets. However, their ship has itself crashed. Into this maelstrom come the Doctor and Amy, having received the Sittuun's distress signal. Another newcomer has also entered the fray: the dashing and mysterious Dirk Slipstream.

The cover blurb is a little wide of the mark when it mentions that there's "an all-out frontier war between Sittuun and Humans." However, David Llewellyn's second `Doctor Who' novel (the first being Doctor Who: The Taking Of Chelsea 426) is an enthralling fast-paced race against time. The `Doctor Who' novels are primarily aimed at a younger readership, but that doesn't mean us older folk can't enjoy them as well. I think `Night of the Humans' is an excellent read with some thought-provoking themes woven into the narrative, notably religious intransigence and the role of myths and superstition in human and Sittuun culture.

This novel features the eleventh Doctor, but I have to confess that on reading the author's dialogue for him, I still had David Tennant's voice in my head. This is probably my fault, though. At the time of writing this review, we are only five episodes into Matt Smith's reign and his vocal characteristics have not been firmly imprinted on to my mind. I had no such problems with Amy's depiction in the novel; I think the author has her spot-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night of the living...HUMANS!?, 16 July 2010
Love the book, love the story, love the cover. To start my very short review I would just like to say
that matt smith's doctor (in this book, and in the TV series itself) doe's NOT act or talk like the tenth doctor.
Very few people think that and most think he's the first TRUE doctor of the revived seres, and so do I. This book is great and I DO recommended this to any doctor who fan who likes to read occasionally too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac33b7ec)

This product

Doctor Who: Night of the Humans
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews