Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2010
Desmond and Mpho Tutu share the wisdom and strength gleaned from a lifetime
of commitment to practicing goodness in daily life. It makes for an upbeat read,
full of humor, compassion and fellowship that speaks to non religious as well as
to religious readers.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
There are passages at the end of each chapter in italics where Desmond Tutu and his daughter say simply - let's hear from God's heart. Then follows the most beautiful, comforting, searching words, starting with 'Beloved...'
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
This was my first book by Desmond Tutu. It was a great read, so insightful into many experiences some which we face every day, some which we hope never to face!! It reminded me of values held by many, but yet some are too afraid to go back to such values because of pressures in our society to look after No.1................I could say a lot more.............but read it for yourself...........your life will be enriched.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
'Made for Goodness, and why this makes all the difference'. So says the title of this astounding book. It contains all that made up the horror, pain and grief of the South African apartheid system, for which both sides of the divide carried blame, to greater or lesser degree, but with his unshakable belief that 'goodness' would persist and win because God designed it so, Desmond Tutu explains his deeply held faith in the ultimate triumph of good over evil.
It is an easily accessible book with many of his and his daughter's at times very personal insights, born out of experience and practise, which cannot fail to hearten its readers.
There are prayers and ways to pray which will long impact on my own faith - and enhance it. Made For Goodness: And why this makes all the difference
A UK imprint from America, there are the occasional differences in spelling, but this makes a wonderful present to keep and/or share with others, that can only bring about an enlightening outlook on our troubled world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
Whether you are of a religious persuasion or not here is a remarkably insight into human nature from one who has witnessed more human suffering and inhumanity than most of us, yet has recognized that there is a inner goodness that can rise to the surface and heal the most severe emotional and spiritual wounds. I have often marvelled at how relatively few mass atrocities are committed by individuals on others even when there must be millions of emotionally disturbed, angry, unstable people in our society with severe grievances, often with access to weapons or the means of mass injury. The USA alone with 300 million population, all with the right to carry a gun, a good proportion who are angry and bitter, many of these may be emotionally disturbed or on drugs, many of these may have a grudge against their community or families but thankfully mass murders are still a rarity. This only makes sense if we recognize we are all "made for goodness".
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
This is one of the most inspiring and hope-filled books I have read, by a man (and his daughter) who has suffered more than most of us can imagine, yet remains unfailingly upbeat. I'm sure his faith in humanity must have been shaken many times, but his faith in a God of love who has created us for goodness never seems to have wavered. If you want to give yourself a treat, read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
An easy yet very thought provoking read written by two 'heavyweights' who experienced the challenging times that South Africa has gone through and its aftermath. It raises real questions about forgiveness and ways forward for reconciliation - a book to learn from for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Starts off very loving and inclusive, progresses through to being more strict and a bit judgemental at times, includes a few things that seem a bit african-only. However, very interesting and am glad I read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Whether you are religious or not, worth the read.

What an inspirational human being. Very enjoyable book that is now making the rounds of the whole family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
This is a wonderful book, by one of the most influential people of our time, about how the amazing can emerge from something that is so terrible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse