Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practicing Goodness, 7 July 2010
By 
Desmond and Mpho Tutu share the wisdom and strength gleaned from a lifetime
of commitment to practicing goodness in daily life. It makes for an upbeat read,
full of humor, compassion and fellowship that speaks to non religious as well as
to religious readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading for the messages from God's heart, 17 Oct 2010
There are passages at the end of each chapter in italics where Desmond Tutu and his daughter say simply - let's hear from God's heart. Then follows the most beautiful, comforting, searching and confronting words. 'Beloved...' You just have to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a must read for all, 9 Mar 2012
This was my first book by Desmond Tutu. It was a great read, so insightful into many experiences some which we face every day, some which we hope never to face!! It reminded me of values held by many, but yet some are too afraid to go back to such values because of pressures in our society to look after No.1................I could say a lot more.............but read it for yourself...........your life will be enriched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodness is the norm!, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you are of a religious persuasion or not here is a remarkably insight into human nature from one who has witnessed more human suffering and inhumanity than most of us, yet has recognized that there is a inner goodness that can rise to the surface and heal the most severe emotional and spiritual wounds. I have often marvelled at how relatively few mass atrocities are committed by individuals on others even when there must be millions of emotionally disturbed, angry, unstable people in our society with severe grievances, often with access to weapons or the means of mass injury. The USA alone with 300 million population, all with the right to carry a gun, a good proportion who are angry and bitter, many of these may be emotionally disturbed or on drugs, many of these may have a grudge against their community or families but thankfully mass murders are still a rarity. This only makes sense if we recognize we are all "made for goodness".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made for Goodness, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made For Goodness: And why this makes all the difference (Kindle Edition)
This book had a profound effect on me. Desmond Tutu sets and explains out the principles of Peace and Reconciliation in his unique way. A good book is always worth reading more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you are religious or not, worth the read.

What an inspirational human being. Very enjoyable book that is now making the rounds of the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD read, 5 April 2013
By 
P. Cox (Heathfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made For Goodness: And why this makes all the difference (Kindle Edition)
A positive message even for those people who find themselves amidst difficulties and suffering. An inspiring book at several levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I read this book slowly - didn't want it to end., 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made For Goodness: And why this makes all the difference (Kindle Edition)
Obviously Desmund Tutu is an awesome man. He's awesome because he's lived through terrible times often when there seemed like little hope of change and yet he's come out peaceful and wise. I often choose books to read whilst I'm commuting to work on the Red Jet ferry from Cowes - and this book was chosen for that person. I couldn't but help starting the day joyful. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made For Goodness: And why this makes all the difference (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book! Shows how to operate at our true potential as made in God's image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and Helpful, Though Not Entirely Biblical, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Irish Critic (Leopardstown, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
A 16th century theology is known by the acronym TULIP - in which "T" stands for "Total Depravity" and "I" for "Irresistible Grace". TULIP maintains that owing to Adam's fall it is the nature of every mortal to displease God in everything at all times. TULIP also asserts that God has arbitrarily determined which sinners will be saved and which lost. Its adherents believe that the elect cannot of their free will repel divine grace, nor can the damned of theirs embrace the gospel. But building a case for TULIP requires one to ignore the first few pages of the Bible! All doctrinal error is caused by an incomplete knowledge of the Scriptures (Mt 22:29) and needs to be corrected (Heb 5:12).

Tutu and his daughter begin their theology "In the Beginning" (Gen 1:1). Here, the Archbishop takes us right back to when God "created human beings in his own image" (Gen 1:27). That means that without exception every man or woman has woven into the very fabric of their being an inclination towards the wholesome. The seeds of creative goodwill are not merited, earned or chosen - they're hardwired into each of us by the Almighty (Ps 139:14). Granted the same Bible also attests that Adam bequeathed to the race mortality and an inclination to live rebellious, self-centred lives that offend God (Romans 5:12). But just as Adam chose permanent self-estrangement from God prior to fathering children, so the creation story also pre-dates the fall! Only ONE of our two natures was ever hardcoded into our DNA. The other is a pollutant. Our Eternal Father designed and created each of us for goodness - and he did it deliberately.

The Tutus show us the habits of wrongness and invite us to wholeness. Each chapter concludes with a helpful prayer meditation. They challenge us to see with God's eyes, tackling difficult theological questions such as "Where is God when we suffer?" And there's a very good chapter on the subject of personal prayer. But there's also a weak chapter called "Why does God let us sin?". The archbishop doesn't answer his own question, and then makes some astonishing theological assertions about hell without citing a single supporting verse of Scripture! This is improper for a man "of the cloth" (Titus 2:1) as Christians can only admit a bishop's teaching where it accords with divinely revealed truth (Acts 17:11).

But despite Chapter 8, Made for Goodness has much that's helpful and is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews