Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure of a read
Geoffrey Staddon is a failing architect, a man who seems consumed by emotional ennui and lack of purpose. His present is dissolving around him - a failing career, a failed marriage, a frustrated and moribund life. He lives in the past - the past glory of the finest building he's ever built, the haunting memories of past failure in the only real love he has known...
Published on 4 Mar 2009 by Budge Burgess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not to sure!
I found this one a bit slow going. So much so that it was left alone for awhile. I was glad to read through to the end but a bit disappointed in the finish!
Published 11 months ago by S P COBURN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure of a read, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
Geoffrey Staddon is a failing architect, a man who seems consumed by emotional ennui and lack of purpose. His present is dissolving around him - a failing career, a failed marriage, a frustrated and moribund life. He lives in the past - the past glory of the finest building he's ever built, the haunting memories of past failure in the only real love he has known. The trial of the glamorous, exotic Consuela Caswell brings this all back to him and changes his life forever.

Robert Goddard is a fine story teller - one of the finest around. This is probably one of his best. It is un-put-down-able. Goddard weaves together a tale of murder and romance which is utterly compelling. He does not go in for heroic action heroes - they are more likely ageing, balding, corpulent, a bit uncertain and lacking in confidence. But Geoffrey Staddon grows into the role of romantic hero, exposing his sense of guilt and loss of honour (the book was released in the US under the title of "Debt of Dishonor").

Goddard writes historical drama - this one is set in the post-War world of the 1920's and the uncertainties of the 1930's, it hints at the loss of innocence England suffered on the Western Front and the bleak prospects before it in the years before the next war. The characterisation - of Staddon, of his first love, and of the house he built, is outstanding, the sense of time and times past is utterly convincing. The story is slow-paced but electric in its compulsion - a masterclass in narrative construction and writing skill. Goddard is an outstanding wordsmith. His writing style is intelligent, economical, and wonderfully seductive - he leads you into a story, into the world of the story, and makes you at home within it.

Published in 1991, this was Goddard's fifth novel (following "Into the Blue"). Yet again, he demonstrates his rare ability to weave a tale across time, to take a twelve year span and make it wholly relevant to the plot of the novel. Goddard handles time better than any other writer. He uses it to give depth and gravitas to the characters and narratives he constructs so convincingly. He is a very English writer - he possibly doesn't cross the Atlantic as well as some, the implicit 'cosiness' of his mysteries concealing the dark undercurrents and Goddard's incisive dissection of the English world and character; his plots are intelligent and beautifully sketched in sepia and charcoal rather than projected as visceral, Technicolor displays.

An absolutely first-class work and an absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Paul Eccles (Tamworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
I wasn't sure about 'Take no Farewell' when I first picked it up. The synopsis seemed somewhat vague and I wasn't sure I would get to grips with the story. But as with all Goddard books, once I was a few pages in all doubts subsided.

The book is set in the early twenties, with dips into the late Edwardian era, and sees Geoffrey Staddon, an architect, reunited with a decision he once made, a decision he will be now forced to reevaluate. As for the rest of the story, you'll just have to read it. And you won't be disappointed. From the first page till last, the writing is several cuts above, poetical, literary but with heaps of suspense and mystery. Staddon is a flawed character, bland perhaps, but the events that unfold in his life see him become an unwitting hero, fighting others and himself along the way.

Being one of Goddard's earlier works, the story is strung out, as was his wont back then. Nowadays, his stories have more of a race-against-time element, the action unfolding over over days and weeks rather than months and years. It never matters, though. Whatever this writer creates I enjoy. 'Take no Farewell' is now firmly ensconced on my favourites list. I haven't been so lost in book for some time now. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book which you will be unable to put down, 12 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
Robert Goddard is one of the most talented writers of the time. He pulls you into the story as though you were a part of it and keeps you guessing until the very end. His books somehow manage to contain everything, it has suspense, romance, history and always very believable characters. This book is amoung the best with a plot with so many twists, ... and a very enjoyable story. I have yet to meet a person who has not enjoyed his books and i would be amazed if i ever did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 26 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Kindle Edition)
I've read and enjoyed most of Robert Goddard's output and this was no exception. It was a "slow burn", taking a while to hook me in but, by the halfway mark, I was completely enmeshed in the lives of the characters. As usual, the story has more layers than an onion and is intrinsically a tale of greed, deception, lost love and a race against time. My only reservation and the reason I've only given it four stars is the ending. I don't want to spoil it for others so all I'll say is that, if they were my characters, I wouldn't have finished it that way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take No Farewell, 20 April 2003
By 
C Jones (Ely, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
An absorbing read,which begs you not to put the book for fear of missing the latest twist or turn, with no chance of guessing the ending. Being new to Robert Goddard it was a pleasure to read a well thought out storyline and a gripping tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Goddard gem, 15 Mar 2001
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
A brilliant read from a consummate storyteller. Typical Goddard: he gives you a taste of what to expect, then wrong foots you and goes off in another direction! You never know whats coming next but his great skill is keeping you truly hooked. All his books are hugely entertaining, this one being no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goddard at his best, 10 April 2014
By 
Ruju (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
Main character plodding along in life? Check. Events in the past coming back to haunt him? Check. Flashbacks to weave said events into narrative? Check. Everything not as it seems? Check. Scenes in italics when a journal is being read? Check. Exquisite use of language? Check. Yep, it's another Robert Goddard mystery/thriller/historical fiction novel.

Goddard's grasp and use of English is a joy to behold; broad enough so that the odd word makes you think, but without ever showing off to the extent that the reader needs a dictionary to hand (no problem anyway if you're lucky enough to own a Kindle!). Take No Farewell is a fairly long book, but Goddard's flowing style and excellent story telling ensures that it never drags.

I rarely give a 5 star rating, and nearly knocked it down to 4 due to an issue with the main character, Geoffrey Staddon. As an architect who has designed and built a number of impressive buildings, I would expect him to be a clever chap. However, at times he proved gullible beyond belief. This was obviously required to make the plot work and I suppose Goddard would say it's part of his character, but it seemed a bit convenient. However, in the end I rated the book on my overall experience of it which was first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Robert Goddard, but more atmospheric than usual!, 14 April 2013
By 
Dr. R. James "Headabove" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
Really enjoy RG's offerings. Eloquently written, interesting historical context, but above all a tense, page-turning thriller of a novel. Had to read this one rapidly owing to the tense subject matter; ex-lover about to hang, (about to be) ex-wife with on-going affair, a young girl that is likely to be his daughter pleading for help, and the "set ups" emanating from his (about to be) ex-father in law. And on top of that murder, forgery, poisoning... Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of surprises, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Paperback)
Robert Goddard's books are, always, gripping - varied subjects, widely varying characters, yet the writing is such that the reader is immediately drawn into another series of lives, whose circumstances, often tragic, are played out before our eyes.

This is no exception - set in 1923, with flashbacks to a period some years earlier, we read of Geoffrey Staddon and his first major architectural brief; a large and opulent house for a wealthy client and his Brazilian wife. Now, Consuela, the wife, has been charged with shocking crimes. Geoffrey finds himself revisiting his earlier life that he thought he had left behind in an effort to make sense of all that happened, and all that is now happening.

This is a great story which roars along at a rapid pace; revelations flow from the pages, and the reader is left constantly turning to new twists in the tale. The writing is wonderful, as always from Robert Goddard, and the characters are compellingly real. The story turns from unexpected revelation to the next surprise in the story, and the ending leaves the reader shocked with its final twist. A great story, and a great Goddard book; totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Robert Goddard's finest book., 22 Aug 2012
This review is from: Take No Farewell (Kindle Edition)
Published in 1991 'Take no Farewell' was Robert Goddard's fifth novel. As of now (August 2012) I have read all 23 of his books and I believe his first five are his best. That is not to say his career has gone downhill since despite a notable dip between 2006/09. 'Borrowed Time' 'Beyond Recall' 'Caught in the Light' and more recently 'Long time coming' are all excellent Goddard novels.

Goddard wrote 'Take no Farewell' as a homage to the mystery/detective fiction of the period it was set in,1910-1924.The story concerns one Geoffrey Staddon an up and coming architect who builds a new house for a client in the hills near Hereford and in doing so allows himself to become obsessed and embriolled in the machinations of the clients family and in particular his beautiful Brazilian wife.

'Take no Farewell' is one of Goddard's longest books and it does begin at a slow pace,but the author moves through the gears effortlessly and ensnares the reader in a wonderful tale of broken dreams, betrayal, murder and much more.The pace quickens.We have courtroom drama,legal arguments and clever interweeving narrative.

The locations are wonderfully brought to life, both real and imaginary,the Negresco hotel, Nice....Clouds Frome, Hereford.
The style,clothes people wore,their behaviour and language paint a vivid picture of a lost world.

The writing is of a high standard but the final pages are among the very best of Goddard's writing in any of his books.

'Take no Farewell' was compared to the work of Daphne Du Maurier, it captures time and place superbly and could quite possibly be the best of those first five excellent novels he wrote between 1986 and 1991.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take No Farewell
Take No Farewell by Robert Goddard
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews