Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episodes of war
A six disc set which picks certain specific topics from the American Civil War. A few battles analyzed, one episode on undercover raids, one on development of ordnance and a history of Sherman's March. This set is not a history of the Civil War,as such and not recommended for someone expecting a start-to-finish overview history. Interesting, well presented topics for...
Published on 4 Sept. 2010 by Furry Ferret

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars that'll teach me to read more closely
Rather naiively I thought I'd ordered the landmark series on the American Civil War, What I'd bought was a number of programmes on the ACW from the History channel, with the lack of academic vigour and constant recapitulation that mars most of their output.
Published 1 month ago by Ceri


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The American Civil War. (6 DVD Box Set), 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
I did the Civil war an slavery when at school in the 1970's and always been interested by it. I got the box set to and renew my interest in the subject again. aI found it to be a good reminder for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History comes to life, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
I have read extensively on this period of American history but nothing brings it to life more than this dvd set - thankyou for making it available. Wonderful item and a favourite in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great colection, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
Great and interesting civil war collection for anyone interested in the civil war. it is also a good gift for a family member or a friend who is interested in the american civil war period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Historic Phenomenon, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
The American Civil War is an important info-tank concerning the nasty civil war. A must have for those who wish to acquaint themselves with this historic phenomenon. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable history, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
Rather long winded and repetative. It was cheap but I really wanted the documentary done by Burns. I have it on VHS which will have to do for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars From a typical historian's mind, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
A worthy series if a bit random in order of play. Also rather turgid with some dramatised events appearing to be carried out in real time???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good, balanced collection of the period., 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
A mixed selection here. A great assortment of documentaries covering the period. Some a lot more interesting to watch than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History at it's best, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
William Anderson "Will Anderson" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The series does differ from a couple of episode changes from that covered in the USA - check it out#, otherwise excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good documentary, well made, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
Very good documentary, well made, good detail I have learnt more about the American civil war in the first 4 episode's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Box set, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set) (DVD)
Another excellent DVD box set , great quality and an ideal present for anyone interested in the American Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The American Civil War (6 DVD Box Set)
Used & New from: £12.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews