Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mysteries of the Bible Collection
Printed on the back cover of this nineteen and a half hour long, four disc DVD series is the following summary. I quote:-

"Upheld as the literal word of God by some and the ultimate testament of mankind's spirituality by others, the Bible has galvanized western history for over 2,000 years. For ages, it has provided a rich treasury of tradition, ritual, and...
Published on 8 April 2010 by C. W. Bradbury

versus
48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and fluffy
"Filmed on location throughout the Holy Land, and utilizing modern scientific techniques and newfound archaeological discoveries.." Okay, well a FEW of these episodes are, but the rest aren't. The rest of the episodes are from a series made in the early 90s, and it shows. One episode for instance is on the 'mystery' of the Turin Shroud, which was pretty much put to rest...
Published on 5 Nov 2010 by shpadoinkle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and fluffy, 5 Nov 2010
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysteries of the Bible (6 DVD Gift Pack) (DVD)
"Filmed on location throughout the Holy Land, and utilizing modern scientific techniques and newfound archaeological discoveries.." Okay, well a FEW of these episodes are, but the rest aren't. The rest of the episodes are from a series made in the early 90s, and it shows. One episode for instance is on the 'mystery' of the Turin Shroud, which was pretty much put to rest as a fake relic from the Middle Ages a couple of decades ago (although if you see this episode as more of a history of people's beliefs about the Shroud, it's watchable).

This series isn't really about the mysteries of the Bible, it is really just a retelling of Bible stories, using stock images of paintings, overlaid with an often poorly-written and opinionated narrative, and extremely cheesy music. There is a smattering of opinion from talking heads, but these vary between actual experts and academics, to ultra-religious nutters and campaigners, and authors of nutty books.

Being used to the BBC style of documentaries, where they at least attempt to be fair and openminded, I was quite surprised by the episode on Angels, which basically implies that the resurgence of belief in them is silly nonsense, and not Biblical enough. Not something you expect from a documentary. Basically the final word on the topic is from some 'expert' or another, saying this new popularity of angels 'scares' him because it is pure 'anti-rationalism'. To me, this seems to imply that the documentary makers believe in the popular anti-theist argument that faith is a 'slippery slope' to a complete loss of common sense, and to general idiocy. Or maybe they think it's just a belief in angels that will lead to this.

I did find the episodes about Jesus more watchable, as even though they were dated, they contained a few interesting nuggets of information. However they didn't exactly solve any 'mysteries', and I probably could have gleaned the same information after 10 minutes on the internet.

The few modernish episodes on the DVD (more recent History Channel programming) are better quality, and more interesting, but there's maybe only three or four of them. This DVD really isn't is interesting as it sounds. You might as well just read the Bible.

Are there any good documentaries on the Bible out there (on DVD)? As for books, i can recommend the very accessibleThe Bible Book: A user's guide ,and the fascinating BBC bookThe Miracles of Jesus. They were both well written and I enjoyed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mysteries of the Bible Collection, 8 April 2010
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Printed on the back cover of this nineteen and a half hour long, four disc DVD series is the following summary. I quote:-

"Upheld as the literal word of God by some and the ultimate testament of mankind's spirituality by others, the Bible has galvanized western history for over 2,000 years. For ages, it has provided a rich treasury of tradition, ritual, and mystery that has engaged scholars as much as it has guided the fathful.
After thousands of years of debate and question, MYSTERIES OF THE BIBLE explores many of the greatest tales of Scripture. Filmed on location throughout the Holy Land, and utilizing modern scientific techniques and newfound archaeological discoveries, MYSTERIES OF THE BIBLE reveals surprising facts and theories behind the legendary figures and fabled stories of the Bible.
This series provides a wealth of astonishing discoveries and unforgettable revelations."

This series is made in twenty two parts, which I have listed below:-
1. Abraham: One Man, One God.
2. Herod the Great.
3. The 10 Commandments.
4. Jacob's Ladder.
5. Joseph: Master of Dreams.
6. Cain and Able.
7. Queen Esther: Far Away and Long Ago.
8. King Solomon.
9. King David: Poet Warrior.
10.The Last Revolt.
11.Archenemy: The Philistines.
12.Jesus: Holy Child.
13.The Execution of Jesus.
14.The Lost Years of Jesus.
15.The Last Supper.
16.Paul the Apostle.
17.The Bible's Greatest Secrets.
18.Biblical Angels.
19.Heaven and Hell.
20.Apocalpse: The Puzzle of Revelations.
21.Majic and Miracles.
22.Prophets: Soul Catchers.

Bonus Features are:- Ancient Mysteries: The Lost Ark, and History's Mysteries: The Shroud of Turin.

The format is a clever one, by which the initial questions are raised, and then the bulk of the programme uses extensive location filming, archaeological evidence, scientific knowledge, and expert opinion to develop/explain these 'mysteries'. Both highly informative and deeply interesting, this series is an absolute classic; which can be enjoyed by Christian and non-Christian alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading and disappointing, 12 May 2010
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Filmed on location throughout the Holy Land, and utilizing modern scientific techniques and newfound archaeological discoveries.." Okay, well a FEW of these episodes are, but the rest aren't. The rest of the episodes are from a series made in the early 90s, and it shows. One episode for instance is on the 'mystery' of the Turin Shroud, which was pretty much put to rest as a fake relic from the Middle Ages a couple of decades ago (although if you see this episode as more of a history of people's beliefs about the Shroud, it's watchable).
This series isn't really about the mysteries of the Bible, it is really just a retelling of Bible stories, using stock images of paintings, overlaid with an often poorly-written and opinionated narrative, and extremely cheesy music. There is a smattering of opinion from talking heads, but these vary between actual experts and academics, to ultra-religious nutters and campaigners, and authors of nutty books.
Being used to the BBC style of documentaries, where they at least attempt to be fair and openminded, I was quite surprised by the episode on Angels, which basically implies that the resurgence of belief in them is silly nonsense, and not Biblical enough. Not something you expect from a documentary. Basically the final word on the topic is from some 'expert' or another, saying this new popularity of angels 'scares' him because it is pure 'anti-rationalism'. To me, this seems to imply that the documentary makers believe in the popular anti-theist argument that faith is a 'slippery slope' to a complete loss of common sense, and to general idiocy. Or maybe they think it's just a belief in angels that will lead to this.
I did find the episodes about Jesus more watchable, as even though they were dated, they contained a few interesting nuggets of information. However they didn't exactly solve any 'mysteries', and I probably could have gleaned the same information after 10 minutes on the internet.
The few modernish episodes on the DVD (more recent History Channel programming) are better quality, and more interesting, but there's maybe only three or four of them. This DVD really isn't is interesting as it sounds. You might as well just read the Bible.
Are there any good documentaries on the Bible out there (on DVD)? As for books, i can recommend The Bible Book: A user's guide and The Miracles of Jesus. They were both well written and I enjoyed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A diappointing marathon, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysteries of the Bible (6 DVD Gift Pack) (DVD)
I bought this dvd set to prepare for a holiday in the Holy Land. it is a series of non-interconnected television programmes which infer they are challenging the accepted stories from the bible. The questioning is shallow and there is no feeling that the (mainly) American "academics" have got strong arguments to disprove existing legends. At the end of the day, one is no wiser as to the authenticity or otherwise of any of the biblical stories. Compared with a series such as the History of Christianity, it is thin and poorly presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your time and your money!, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite the mixed reviews, I ordered this item because of the reduced price and was looking forward to watching it. I had hoped that it would be reliably informative and interesting enough to use extracts with a school class.

However, it turned out to be anything but reliably informative or interesting!

To be honest, I am the kind of person who likes to give the benefit of the doubt, to see something positive in all things where possible and to reach the end of something which I have begun. Due to this, I have wasted a lot of my time in the past! With this set of DVDs, I could not even endure a whole episode, let alone the whole set! I even passed the DVDs on to a friend (a well read pastor and knows the Bible very well)as I wanted to see whether I was being unreasonable and should continue to endure this material.

My friend's response, without knowing mine, was the same as mine! He, too, likes to reach the end but he could not endure the whole of the episodes that he had chosen to start.

In what we saw, sweeping statements were made which, despite how it is shown in this set of DVDs, actually hold no truth in reality if accurate research is considered.

Regardless of the lack of accuracy, the DVDs are boring! Aside from your view of Christianity, there are hundreds of thousands of more interesting ways to spend your time than watching this series of DVDs! Please save your time and your money! The reduced price, which should have alerted me to some problem and I wish that I had taken notice of the reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff and very interesting, 22 Nov 2009
By 
B. J. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Archeologists and scholars visit the holy land and document the various stories that are contained in the bible. Views are put forward from christian jewish and islamic scholars. I found it intersting to learn that islamic teachings are not the same as jewish and christian teachings this is explained in the first program of abraham and the sacrifice of isaac. This is interseting and could explain why there is so much religious conflict in the world.(well different doctrine or accounts are being taught shifting the covenent that the god of abraham isaac and jacob made with abraham's son isaac to abrahams half son ishmael.Quite clearly ishmael was blessed but was not the one to be sacrificed)This is an interesting documentary but i say documentary as some of the documented stuff is not that well explained as far as what the bible says. If god says something, then it is so. i.e he means it, its not a mystery because you may stumble upon a passage in the new testement that explains something in the old testement.Some of the cgi that is used to reconstruct ruined biblical palaces etc is very clever and even some of the shots in the holy land are very good.Even the extras like the ark of the covernment is very interesting.This box set is not that expensive and is most interesting and educating.Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of dvd set, 13 July 2010
By 
Mrs. L. Mccann (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content on all these dvds are really informative, and seriously, you look at really interesting things like how king herod the great was the greatest architect even though he was wicked. I would recommend to anyone and at the price I got it at, I might as well have bought a batch and gave them as gifts to friends. Thanks guys for delivering an awesome dvd set I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mysteries of the Bible., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysteries of the Bible (6 DVD Gift Pack) (DVD)
I was disappointed because I enjoy watching Biblical films, but this was done by someone commentating. But the stories are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unscientific but interesting, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't expecting this to take a scientific approach, as every episode doesn't even consider the possibility that the events of the Bible might be exaggerated, but I liked the varied scope the series had. From Cain and Abel to the Book of Revelation there is a lot of content her, its just a little dated now for a post-Christian society.

I was amused by one episode that explained who atheists were and that they were mostly found "in Russia and in China". I think they might be a little closer than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical and scientific views all in one..!!, 13 Jan 2014
By 
James Hodgson (Hornsea. East Yorks. UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mysteries of the Bible (6 DVD Gift Pack) (DVD)
This is subject matter that interests me..this product is well produced, reasonably priced, and a very well presented, hours of entertainment and learning..also very well packaged.....well done...James
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Mysteries of the Bible (6 DVD Gift Pack)
Used & New from: 13.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews