Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what i got it for
make sure you align the spade end of the gauge with the direction of tread to get an accurate reading.
Published 23 months ago by blimeyoriley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as accurate as it should be.
When zeroed out, I can fit my debit card between the 'reading' lip of the device and the 0mm line. Measured it with my Mitutoyo digital caliper and the all important 1.6mm marking on the gauge actually read 2.63mm on the Mitutoyo. PCL state an accuracy of ± 0.25 mm, so a full 1mm off is pretty bad.

On a plus, if all their gauges are like this, people will be...
Published 5 months ago by Steven S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what i got it for, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
make sure you align the spade end of the gauge with the direction of tread to get an accurate reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tyre groove gauge, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
Good solid construction and easy to read markings, 1.0mm 1,6mm being the all important 2 and other 1mm markings ascending from there. Can also clip on to clothing using the attached pen clip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
I had a fight on my hands extracting the gauge from it's shrink-wrap packaging but once out in the fresh air it did it's job just fine.
I don't need to measure the tread depth on my tyres to the nearest thousandth of an inch so the accuracy of this device was perfectly ok, the critical 1.6mm measured on my digital vernier at 1.6mm.
The clip enables me to put it securely in my overalls pocket when servicing the car and it doesn't fall out and get damaged.
PCL (founded in Sheffield, UK) is a reputable manufacturer of air products such as the tyre inflater and this tyre gauge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
I bought this to have in my car and regularly check my tyre limit is above legal requirements, it does the job and is vosa approved, quick delivery and accurate reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the packet, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
Handy wee tool. Bought it becuase a garage told me I needed a new tyre. When I checked the depth myself I found the tread depth well within legal limit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's ok and worked!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
I believe this is accurate and should buy one to keep in your car for safety, you will use it for a long time to come. It is a bit difficult to read but there isn't one that's good enough or better as I had looked around already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just the job, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
just like the one i used when i worked in a garage. glad i got it as never sure what tread depth i have left
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simples, 14 Jun 2014
By 
C. Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
Simple to use and read. For the money you pay, you will not find anything better. I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little gadget, 6 Jun 2014
By 
KJP Clarke (Forest of Dean, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyre Tread Depth Gauge By PCL VOSA & MOT Approved
Having had problems with my tyres I can now keep an eye on them and stay safe! A good value buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews