Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infinite Beauty.....
BAND OF HORSES - INFINITE ARMS
Band Of Horses have come a long way in the last seven years or so. Formed circa 2004 in Seattle by South Carolina native Ben Bridwell and his friend Mat Brooke , early promise saw them land a deal with that fine city's most famous label Sub Pop.
Two albums, "Everything All The Time" and "Cease To Begin" followed fairly quickly...
Published on 22 May 2011 by Stevie Dal

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great harmonies but album a bit of a mixture
Hi, this is a good album and has some great songs on it. I love the vocals and the harmonies in particular. It has traces of Supertramp and quite a 70s feel in parts. Band of Horses just have to be careful as at times they end up in MOR territory and a couple of the songs are a bit bland. Overall though this is a good listen and better than this year's follow up album.
Published 20 months ago by Murmur


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Band of Horses - Infinite Arms CD Review, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infinite Arms (Audio CD)
This alternative folk record, with its elements of country-esque enthusiasm and optimism, may not be as dark or brooding as their previous albums. But it still revels in its own beauty and passion. The authority for which the Band of Horses members control their journey seems incorruptible and thoroughly believable. Whether you prefer their penchant for fierceness and melodic gloominess, or their modern take on folk and country, I still believe every word they sing and every note they play. It is a rewarding experience, as it helps those that generally wouldn't listen to those styles of music appreciate something that bridges the gap between contemporary melodies and traditional hooks.

The lyrics, as always, are sang with the same murkiness and anguish, but with a little more sanguinity than usual. This combination of vastly different emotions makes for a very romantic carelessness. The words themselves are poetic by nature, thriving off charming stories, lightly questioning the possibility of god, the frustration of not knowing whether a love is truly gone or not, the air and grace of death, home, remembering past family and partners, drowning away sorrows with wine, rock and roll, the community, and law. Although the theme of overcoming an ended relationship isn't the most unique, it certainly is combined with the right pacing and the right music.

The guitar lines are slow and waltzing; the drums are simple, effectively making sure the groove is felt; and the bass lines bounce in a traditional manner from one hook to another. This purity allows for freedom of voice, balance in motion, and heartbreaking lyrics. Nothing seems in your face or pretentious--the passion is 100% convincing. So although some have criticized Band of Horses for their new direction, I personally celebrate how they've managed to maintain integrity as they try to harmonize the two eras of music and emotional connection. I genuinely think that this album is a solid step forward to helping those like myself learn to appreciate folk and country for what it really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seldom heard perfection, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Few albums still light a fire enough to go out and buy the cd, but this one does. Every track is perfect. Not in a rock-out-hit-you-over-the-head way, but really chilled and beautiful. If you blended Beach Boys with The Band and threw in some Neil Young via The Verve it would sound like this. Harmonies, a laid back cinematic sound and some soulful lyrics means i can finally listen to an entire album (repeatedly) without needing to skip a track or three. Considering where Band of Horses came from musically I can't wait to hear where they're going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong contender for album of the year., 4 Aug 2010
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Recorded over a 16-month period this album is inspired by and dedicated to different locales across America:
Muscle Shoals, Blue Ridge Mountains, Hollywood Hills and the Mojave desert, Northern Minnesota and the Carolinas, brining it a rich variety of gospely Americana. There's bombastic strings, shimmering guitars, beautiful piano/keys, perfect pop hooks, timeless melodies and wistful vocals about redemption and eternal youth. The production provides a much bigger, more spacious sound than the last LP which complements the elemental sense of wonder about their chosen locations. My Morning Jacket with added Beach Boys. Factory cascades over one like a giant waterfall; life affirming & refreshing. Compliments stomps along like a grungey railroad song. Laredo is a huge slab of uplifting power pop. By contrast the title track Infinite Arms is a gentle ballad about a dream. Different again is Older, a slow-mid tempo country sing along, which should be there national anthem. Strong contender for album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated talented band, 20 Mar 2012
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infinite Arms (MP3 Download)
Firstly, i have to thank Amazon for including a feature which recommends music upon your purchases. Otherwise, i wouldn't have discovered this band

Secondly, my thoughts on this album. The song that drew me to this was "Laredo". It's an upbeat, rock song that is quite catchy. Upon purchasing this album, it is quite a good listen. The group, "Band for Horses" have been around for a few years, but have only released 2 other albums, which are also great albums and I recommend them.

This album however is really good, they are quite an underrated band I think. I only heard of them via Amazon, and probably wouldn't have heard of them unless I tuned into an American radio station online. Worth a purchase I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric and beautiful !, 14 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to agree with all the 5 star reviewers. so I'll keep it short
This record is perfect all the songs are beautiful, and it has a lovely atmosphere. it sounds good at any time of the day. \it has a lovely organic feel to it!

to be fair I had never heard of this group before so I do not know their other recordings, But this struck a chord with me !
If you like atmospheric music .. this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can see..., 14 July 2010
By 
Andrew Fell (Barby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
America has a way of producing good harmonic bands. Band of Horses are very different, with a style that blends the Kings of Leon, Eagles and Beach Boys, but does not cloy. Their rock tracks are solid, the acoustic guitar tracks excellent, with just a touch of over-production on the vocals making them a little samey.

They seem to be "The next Big Thing" in America and should go on for a good length of time.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything I hoped for and more, 6 Jun 2010
By 
not many bands come out of the traps with such bluster and impact as Band Of Horses but with two nothing less than awesome albums under their belt, Ben Bridwell & co certainly had a lot to live up to. Did they ? answer : yes and then some Infinate Arms sees all the trademark big cinematic soundscape rockers as on their first two efforts but there is also a new found craft at play with the songwiting and arrangments especially during the quieter moments such as the title track & For Annabelle. This new record should please old school BOH fans with anthems like Factory and Compliments and probably the standout track NW Apartments but its overall accesability will grab new fans by the thousands, the future is BOH brothers & sisters. One of the albums of the year so far. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful after a few plays..., 29 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll be brief. Infinite arms has some great tracks on it and some not-so-great ones. The not-so-great ones are never bad, but they do pale in comparison with the great tracks. There's enough goodness in this album to make me still give it 4 stars. 'Laredo' will my 2010 summer anthem. It's worth buying for the great tracks alone. You get the ok ones as a bonus!

(Edit - 07/06/10) After more listens this is a GREAT ALBUM. I like all the tracks on it now, it just took a while to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather bland, 10 Sep 2010
By 
D. Moseley "david27852" (Solihull England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first two records by this band were vocally similar to My Morning Jacket, but without that group's ambition and musical reach. They were however decent records. Infinite Arms is far too bland and lightweight, and drifted over me without making much impression. It seems very clean and maybe they want radio hits. It probably didn't help though that I played Wowee Zowee by Pavement before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Band of horses, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Infinite Arms (Audio CD)
First time I've heard this group and some of the tracks remind me of a poorer version of the Eagles but generally I liked the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Infinite Arms
Infinite Arms by Band of Horses (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews