Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars18
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2010
This works straight out of the box.
Given that this will be used in a living room with several people talking at once the sound and picture are very very good (depending on your internet speed). It is extremely convenient in that people generally have the television on most of the time then you are guaranteed to make a connection with the person you are trying to contact.
The only downside is the price. At around £130. much too expensive.
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
This works pretty much as advertised, with two minor quibbles: firstly, the Skype app on the TV is a bit fiddly to use, and secondly, as mentioned in some of the reviews on the amazon.com site, it sends audio out the TV speakers only (i.e. not out through the optical link to your surround sound processor, for example), and there doesn't appear to be any way to change that. Not such a big deal, but annoying all the same - I have to remember to raise the TV volume to use skype, then drop it back down again when I'm done.

A quibble that should be obvious from looking at this page: it's severely overpriced for a single-use camera. It'd be nice if it was usable for other stuff, such as YouTube uploads, or could be plugged into a PC or Mac as an outboard camera.
77 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
This camera is essential if you wish to use the skype facility on a Panasonic TV no other webcam will work on the panasonic tv's.
The camera is easy to fit just plug ito usb socket on TV .VG quality sound and vision.Rather expensive item.
33 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
It is difficult to get excited about this product, although that is probably very unfair. As far as I can gather this is, in fact, a perfectly good camera.
I bought this camera for use with my Panasonic Viera TV. The problem is that the Skype implementation on Panasonic's Viera Cast leaves a lot to be desired. It has trouble connecting and constantly loses the video despite the TV being connected by cable to my fast, reliable cable broadband service.

If you want to use Skype with video, save your money and stick to a laptop.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
Works well with our Panasonic Viera TV, great for all of us to sit comfortably chatting on the sofa. Quality is not the best even though the price would suggest it was.
Sound does not come through a surround sound system, but through TV's own speakers. Our TV Seems to automatically change the sound output for us.
I think this technology is still to be improved.
Would only recommend if you have the money to spare.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
It's very pricey for a webcam but it does the job of Skype-enabling the TV and we have been using it a lot.

I agree with the comment already posted that the audio does not get passed to the audio-out leads, only to the TV's built-in speakers, which is very irritating and it initally took us a while to work out why we couldn't hear anything though Skype.

The zoom feature is very much hidden in the Skype app and it would be better if it could be more prominent, and ideally there would be more directional control as well given the price tag; the vertical adjustment gained by adjusting the clip is a bit of a clumsy way of adjusting the height of the webcam.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
excellent camera for television viewing instead of grouping round a small computer screen,you can now watch in comfort.excellent product for families who live in far distance shores
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
Having recently bought panasonic HD box required this camera to allow link to skype. Good picture and wide span of room. Would highly recommend this camera.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
Does exactly what it says it does. One problem I had not considered though - our son's PC (in NZ)is not powerful enough to allow him to see us on it.

According to the Skype website the remote PC needs to be a dual core processor.
Our picture on the Panasonic TV is excellent and the 4 microphones are also perfect for the job.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
Works well with Skype on my TV. Skype not as good as on a PC as it is still in Beta.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)