Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suitable for most...
I can see the pespective of the other reviewer, but I don't think this publication is too bad.
Although it doesn`t always go into as much depth as i`d like, its a reasonably easy read, so it's understandable even if you're not that familiar with the topic.
It might not be totally up to the minute, but it's still worth a read since there aren't many other...
Published on 8 Oct. 2011 by Ben

versus
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no science like old science
1.) Articles written about old science endeavour as if it were new.
2.) ScienceNews would have you believe that any discoveries and research that is noteworthy only happens in America.
3.) Articles are written from such a simplistic point of view that the real 'meat' of the discovery is overlooked.

In short very poor, until more broadly scoped science...
Published on 18 Jan. 2011 by rik


Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no science like old science, 18 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
1.) Articles written about old science endeavour as if it were new.
2.) ScienceNews would have you believe that any discoveries and research that is noteworthy only happens in America.
3.) Articles are written from such a simplistic point of view that the real 'meat' of the discovery is overlooked.

In short very poor, until more broadly scoped science magazines are available on the Kindle I wouldn't bother subscribing to this number. Don't take my word for it though use the 14-day free trial, just don't forget to cancel it in time :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suitable for most..., 8 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
I can see the pespective of the other reviewer, but I don't think this publication is too bad.
Although it doesn`t always go into as much depth as i`d like, its a reasonably easy read, so it's understandable even if you're not that familiar with the topic.
It might not be totally up to the minute, but it's still worth a read since there aren't many other 'general' science publications on Kindle yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short articles fill you in quickly with what's going on in the world of science., 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
Short articles fill you in quickly with what's going on in the world of science.
Too many at times. Some articles could do with a little more explanation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable, fun publication, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Aaron (MELTON MOWBRAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this for the kindle app on my iPad (I have the old kindle with the keyboard and did not bother with it on there as you really need a colour screen to benefit from this magazine). I just wanted something interesting and informative to while away a dull afternoon. I can honestly say I got just that.

The magazine is very simple to navigate and easy to understand.

For anyone wishing to learn some interesting scientific topics, I would suggest this as the one to get. Very enjoyable with a wide range of topics to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars science up front, 10 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
A clear and informative view into the works of the worlds scientists and researchers. Written with the view that all can enjoy and learn about the engine that runs around them 24/7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
A bit disappointed with this product. I thought it would be bite sized, but good quality science. I am a career scientist and I didn't think this really comes up to scratch...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, well written magazine, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
I bought this on kindle, so no colour photos. I would probably buy the physical magazine next time. Learned why short sightedness is becoming a global epidemic- make your grandchildren play outdoors to encourage their eyeballs to grow correctly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
I just love this magazine! The articles are clear and well explained, there are some interesting pictures (in b&w) and almost everything inside is interesting. Great value if you like a bit of science vulgarisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 20 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Science News (Kindle Edition)
not possible to open current publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science News
Science News by Society for Science & the Public
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews